Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the T. F. Poduska papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1973-1993
Creator: Poduska, T.F.
Extent: .25 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0672
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Painter.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 178) were donated in 1993 by T.F. Poduska.

Preferred Citation: T. F. Poduska papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

T.F. Poduska, a native of Cedar Falls, Iowa, attended the Iowa State Teachers College (now the University of Northern Iowa), where she earned a bachelor's degree in art education. She taught for a year as an art supervisor but after marrying Robert Poduska, moved with him to Denver.

A painter, Poduska works primarily with water-media. Although generally abstract, her paintings often reflect images of nature. Poduska has exhibited work nationally and has received many awards, including the 1977 Colorado Governor's Award for the Arts and Humanities. An active advocate for the arts, she has served as a regional representative for the Artists' Equity Association and as a trustee for the Denver Art Museum, and is a founding member of the GreaterDenver Council for the Arts and Humanities.

The T.F. Poduska papers date from 1973 to 1993 and measure .25 linear inches. The papers consist primarily of clippings about Poduska's career. Several of the articles include pictures ofher work. Also included are a curriculum vita listing many of the shows in which Poduska's paintings have been featured and a program from the 1977 Colorado Governor's Awards.
Rosemary Tharp papers (IWA): Rosemary Tharp was T.F. Poduska's sister. Her papers include a photocopied family history which contains a few drawings by Poduskaas well as family photographs.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Poduska, T. F.

Dates:
1970-1979
1980-1989
1990-1999

Topics:
Women and the arts
Painting, American

Occupations:
Painters

Geographic Names:
United States -- ColoradoDenver

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers