Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Naomi Novick papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1922-2009
Creator: Novick, Naomi (1932-)
Extent: 2.10 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0667
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Iowa City city councilor from 1990 to 1997. Chosen twice to serve as mayor.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs and Artifacts in Box 5.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 640) were donated by Naomi Novick in 2001 and 2009.

Preferred Citation: Naomi Novick papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Naomi Spark Novick, mayor of Iowa City from 1996 to 1997, was born in Chicago in 1932 to Kay and Samuel Spark. Her mother was a homemaker and her father worked in commercial printing as a machinery operator. Naomi Spark earned a BS from the University of Illinois in 1955 and married Melvin Novick in 1957. From 1955 to 1959, Novick worked for Formfit Company, helping with their bra and girdle size standardization efforts. The Novicks and their children lived in North Carolina, New Jersey and Wales before moving to Iowa City in 1970. She was involved in local and state organizations such as the League of Women Voters of Johnson County and the University of Iowa Art Museum, where she worked as a docent for several years. Following Melvin NovickĀ“s death in 1986, she helped establish the Melvin R. Novick Award in Education Measurement and Statistics and the University of Iowa. Novick served on the Iowa City City Council from 1990 to 1997. She was chosen twice by her fellow council members to serve as mayor.

The Naomi Novick papers date from 1922 to 2009 and measure 2.1 linear feet.

The Biographical series (1957-2009) includes Novick's wedding invitation and a handbook for home economics students at the University of Illinois in the 1950s. Art history papers Novick wrote at the University of Iowa in the 1970s are also in the Biographical series. The Resource files folder contains a publication from Iowa's Centennial entitled "100 Years of Progress", dated 1946.

The Personal Correspondence series (1983-2009) is mostly compromised of greeting cards from family and friends.

The Professional Correspondence series (1989-1997) relates to topical issues in Iowa City government. The series also includes letters regarding the shooting of Eric Shaw by an Iowa City police officer and the subsequent formation of a Police Citizens Review Board. The Iowa City Mayor and City council series includes donor lists and financial receipts from Novick's 1989 and 1993 campaigns for city council.

The Community Involvement series (1978-2006) consists of correspondence and brochures detailing Novick's involvement with groups such as Hancher Auditorium, the University of Iowa Foundation and the League of Women Voters of Johnson County, including the League's 50th Anniversary celebration in 1969. The Community Involvement series provides insight into issues impacting the greater Iowa City community, including the Stepping Up Project to regulate liquor price specials and the fountain dedication for the twentieth anniversary of the pedestrian mall.

The Photographs (1994-2006) in Box 5 are mostly professional shots of Novick serving in city government. Photographs of her at various community events were kept with their corresponding letters in the Professional Correspondence series.

The Artifacts series (1990-1996) consists of campaign buttons, name badges from various events. The "Betty" paper doll cutouts have a 1932 copyright.
League of Women Voters, Johnson County records (IWA): Novick was a member this organization.
Raphael Club, Iowa City, Iowa records (IWA): Novick was a member this organization.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL - 1957-2009
Series 2: PERSONAL CORRESPONDENCE - 1983-2009
Series 3: PROFESSIONAL CORRESPONDENCE - 1989-1997
Series 4: IOWA CITY MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL - 1989, 1993
Series 5: COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT - 1978-2006
Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS - 1994-2006
Series 7: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL - 1957-2009
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1957-1986
  • Education, University of Illinois - 1950-1957
  • Education, University of Iowa, art history papers - 1973-1977
  • Formfit company, bra and girdle sizing standards - 1954-1957
  • Novick, Melvin R. - 1986
  • Melvin R. Novick education award - 1987-2004
  • Resource files - 1946-1950
  • Series 2: PERSONAL CORRESPONDENCE - 1983-2009
  • Box 1:
  • Horowitz, Susan M. - 1996-2003
  • International - 1987-2004
  • - 1990-1999
  • - 2000-2009
  • Series 3: PROFESSIONAL CORRESPONDENCE - 1989-1997
  • Box 2:
  • - 1989-1995
  • - 1996-1997
    [includes correspondence re: Eric Shaw shooting and formation of Police Citizens Review Board]
  • September-December - 1996
  • January-October - 1997
  • November-December - 1997
  • Series 4: IOWA CITY MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL - 1989, 1993
  • Box 3:
  • General - 1989
  • General - 1993
  • Financial - 1989
  • Financial - 1993
  • Box 4:
  • Newspaper clippings - 1989-2005
  • Series 5: COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT - 1978-2006
  • Box 4:
  • Hancher Auditorium, University of Iowa Museum of Art - 1978-2006
  • Iowa City downtown fountain - 1999
  • Iowa League of Cities - 1993-1994, 1998
  • League of Women Voters: correspondence - 1981-2005
  • League of Women Voters: 50th anniversary/history - 1968-1969, 1991-1992
  • League of Women Voters: publications - 1922-1957
  • League of Women Voters: publications - 1958-1992
  • Box 5:
  • Other organizations - 1984-2009
  • Raphael Club - 1984-2003
  • The Stepping Up Project and Committee for Healthy Choices - 2000-2007
  • The University Foundation, the University Club - 1987-2005
  • Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS - 1994-2006
  • Box 5:
  • - 1994-2006
  • Series 7: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 5:
  • "Betty" paper doll cutouts, undated
  • Buttons: campaign, League of Women Voters - 1991
  • Iowa sesquicentennial ribbon - 1996
  • League of Women Voters stamp, undated
  • Name badges - 1990-1996