Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the New World Collective scrapbook

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1980
Creator: New World Collective (Des Moines, Iowa)
Extent: .25 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0664
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: A Des Moines collective which existed between 1972 and 1980. Members lived communally and participated in a variety of progressive actions.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The scrapbook is open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The scrapbook (donor no. 35 ) was donated by Louise Noun in 2002.

Preferred Citation: New World Collective scrapbook, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The New World Collective began in June 1971 when three friends (Karen, Bob and Grant) began living together in Cedar Rapids, Iowa and pursued an effort to study progressive and revolutionary writings. Following a weekend course at the Ecumenical Institute of Chicago in November 1971, the three decided to begin living more intentionally and in February 1972 they formed what they called the New World Collective. The three friends relocated to Des Moines in the fall of 1972. In 1974, the three purchased a permanent home. Throughout the life of the New World Collective, the three original members remained while others came and went. In the fall of 1980, Karen, Bob and Grant discovered that their lives were taking them into new directions and they decided to end their experiment incollective living.

The New World Collective scrapbook dates from 1980 and measures 0.25 linear inches. The collection consists of a scrapbook marking the end of the New World Collective in 1980. The scrapbook contains photographs of the original members and their personal thoughts and plans for the future. The scrapbook also contains a chronological listing of events pertaining to the New World Collective.
Louise Noun papers (IWA): More Strong-Minded Women

Karen Johnson papers (IWA) and Irene Talbott papers (IWA): Karen Johnson and Irene Talbott were members of the collective.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
New World Collective (Des Moines, Iowa)

Dates:
1980-1989

Topics:
Communal living
Social participation

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Des Moines

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Administrative records
Photographs
Scrapbooks

Browse:
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender