Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the National Organization for Women, Ames Chapter records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1973-1986
Creator: National Organization for Women, Ames Chapter
Extent: 7.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0658
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Includes ERA campaign material.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 311) were donated by Kathleen Hickok in 1995.

Preferred Citation: National Organization for Women, Ames Chapter records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

On May 13, 1973 application for a charter for the Ames National Organization for Women (NOW) was submitted to NOW headquarters in Washington, D.C. A news release dated May 19, 1980 announced a "reorganized" Ames chapter. On September 13, 1980 the state coordinator of NOW granted formal chartering of the Ames chapter. The charter states as its purpose "to take action to bring women into full participation in the mainstream of American society now, exercising all privileges and responsibilities thereof in truly equal partnership with men."

Although working for passage of the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) was its main activity, the chapter also promoted educational projects throughout Ames and worked closely with the state NOW organization.

The Ames NOW records date from 1973 to 1986 and measure 7 linear inches. The records are arranged in three series: Administrative, Political activities, and NOW chapters. These records focus on the campaign for the ERA which culminated in defeat at the polls on November 4, 1980.

The Administrative series  (1973-1986) contains chapter by-laws, chapter evaluation, minutes, membership and treasury records.

The Political activities series (1976-1986) contains chapter newsletters (through several title changes), materials from the ERA campaign, and educational projects. Projects included public meetings dealing with assertiveness training, equal employment opportunities, consciousness raising, women's health and reproductive rights, rape crisis and prevention, day care, pornography and censorship.

NOW chapters series (1977-1986) include records from Johnson County-Iowa City, Des Moines, and state of Iowa.
NOW Iowa records (IWA)
NOW Johnson County-Iowa City records (IWA)
NOW Des Moines records (IWA)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 2: POLITICAL ACTIVITIES
Series 3: NATIONAL ORGANIZATION FOR WOMEN CHAPTERS

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 1:
  • By-laws, chapter evaluation, and operating rules - 1970-1983
  • Agenda, minutes - 1979-1986
  • Membership lists and treasurer's report - 1983-1984
  • Series 2: POLITICAL ACTIVITIES
  • Box 1:
  • Newsletters - 1976-1986
  • "Ames Chapter Newsletter NOW" - 1977
  • "Ames NOW Report with the Story County Women's Political Caucus"Ames Chapter Newsletter NOW" - 1978-1979
  • "Ames NOW Chapter Newsletter" - 1980
  • "Ames NOW News" - 1982-1986
  • Equal Rights Amendment campaign" - 1978-1981
  • Projects - 1981-1983
  • Series 3: NATIONAL ORGANIZATION FOR WOMEN CHAPTERS
  • Box 1:
  • Des Moines NOW - 1982
  • Iowa NOW - 1978-1986
  • ERA campaign - 1977-1982
  • By-laws, reports, newsletters - 1978-1986
  • Johnson County-Iowa City NOW - 1978-1981