Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Muscatine Herb Pals records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1946-1994
Creator: Muscatine Herb Pals
Extent: 9.75 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0654
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Study group organized to stimulate the advancement of herb gardening and herb use.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in box 2.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 382) were donated by Aldeen Davis in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Muscatine Herb Pals records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Muscatine Herb Pals was a study group organized in 1953 by Hazel Korneman to stimulate the advancement of herb gardening and the various uses pertaining to them. Meeting twice a month, the club gathered to learn about the medicinal, culinary, and cosmetic uses of herbs. The club organized an annual Herb Bazaar each fall. It also prepared and maintained a public herb garden at the Muscatine Art Museum and an herb specimen garden at the Muscatine General Hospital with a small culinary bed at the disposal of the hospital dietitian. Members of the club also contributed recipes and general herbal information to the column, the "Herb Wheel," in the Muscatine Journal.

The Muscatine Herb Pals records date from 1946 to1994 and measure 9.75 linear inches.  The records include an historical note; yearbooks dating from 1953-1994; Secretary/Treasurer's Reports from 1968-1990, which were removed from a three-ring binder; three scrapbooks and one folder containing recipes and newspaper clippings about the club and about herbs; a 1986 cookbook published by the club entitled Favorite Herbal Delites; a single club newsletter dated 1994; and several miscellaneous publications and catalogs which formed part of the club's library.  Of particular importance are three notebooks maintained by Aldeen Davis during her lengthy tenure as president of the club.  Davis, who joined the club in 1979, became one of the club's most active supporters and organizers.  Because of her talent and interest she was elected president in 1981 and, except for the years 1988-1989 and 1991, she served in that capacity until 1993. During her presidency the club established the Hazel Korneman Memorial Herb Garden in honor of its founder.
Aldeen Davis papers (IWA).
 
Muscatine Garden Club records (IWA).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HISTORICAL NOTE
Series 2: SECRETARY/TREASURER'S REPORT
Series 3: YEARBOOKS
Series 4: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 5: NOTEBOOKS KEPT BY ALDEEN DAVIS
Series 6: PUBLICATIONS
Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: HISTORICAL NOTE
  • Box 1:
  • Historical note, undated
  • Series 2: SECRETARY/TREASURER'S REPORT
  • Box 1:
  • Chronological - 1968-1990
  • Chronological - 1968-1971
  • Chronological - 1972-1975
  • Chronological - 1976-1979
  • Chronological (includes original constitution and bylaws) - 1980-1990
  • Series 3: YEARBOOKS
  • Box 1:
  • Yearbooks (lacking 1954, 1962, 1964, 1968) - 1953-1994
  • Series 4: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 1:
  • Scrapbooks - 1947-1987
  • Box 2:
  • Scrapbooks - 1953-1974
  • Box 3:
  • Scrapbooks - 1959-1969
  • Box 4:
  • Scrapbooks - 1946-1978
  • Series 5: NOTEBOOKS KEPT BY ALDEEN DAVIS
  • Box 5:
  • Chronological - 1981-1982, 1983-1989
  • Chronological - 1991-1994
  • Series 6: PUBLICATIONS
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 5: Muscatine Herb Pals
  • Favorite Herbal Delites - 1986
  • Newsletter: The Garden Pal [with constitution and bylaws] - 1994
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 5: Club library: Spice Islands
  • "Collectors items: superb recipes from Spice Islands," undated
  • New from Spice Islands: [recipe], undated
  • "The Spice Islands herb & spice primer," undated
  • "Spice Islands seasoning library" [catalog], undated
  • Sub-Series:
  • Box 5: Club library: Other
  • The Cottage Herb Farm Shop [catalog]
  • "A herb a week" [calendar], compiled by Helen M. Whitman - 1960
  • "Herbs (some recipes using)", by Emogene Y. Brown - 1970
  • "Old-time herbs," by Gertrude B. Foster, The Herb Grower Magazine - 1961
  • Series 7: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 5:
  • Photographs - 1990, 1995

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Davis, Aldeen
Korneman, Hazel

Corporate Names:
Muscatine Herb Pals

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Herb gardening
Herbs
Herb gardens

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Muscatine

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Administrative records
Yearbooks
Scrapbooks
Photographs

Browse:
Women's Clubs and Organizations