Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Muscatine Garden Club records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1930-1996
Creator: Muscatine Garden Club
Extent: 3.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0653
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Founded in 1929 to promote the knowledge and love of gardening.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 382) were donated by Aldeen Davis in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Muscatine Garden Club records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Muscatine Garden Club was founded in 1929 to stimulate the knowledge and love of gardening in all its phases, to aid in the protection of native trees, plants, wild flowers and birds, and to encourage civic beauty. The club became a member of the Iowa Federation of Garden Clubs in 1932.

The records date from 1930 to 1996 and measure 3 linear inches. The collection consists primarily of the club's yearbooks. Each yearbook lists the club's Executive Board members; the year's calendar of events and monthly programs; a membership roster; committees and their memberships; club projects; and the club's constitution and bylaws. The collection also includes two booklets. The first, entitled "Sharing Iowa's Beauty," describes a flower show presented by the Federated Garden Clubs of Iowa at the Memorial Union of Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa, September 15 through 16, 1971. The second is an undated booklet entitled "Plants, Trees, Shrubs and Vines in the Wild Flower Preserve at Weed Park" and refers to the foliage planted and maintained by the club.
Aldeen Davis papers (IWA):  Aldeen Davis was a member of the Muscatine Garden Club.
 
Muscatine Herb Pals records (IWA):  Aldeen Davis was also a member of the Muscatine Herb Pals, an organization that was interested in the horticulture of herbs and their uses.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL INFORMATION

  • Series 1: GENERAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Yearbooks (lacking 1931) - 1930-1959
  • Yearbooks - 1960-1979
  • Yearbooks (lacking 1985, 1995) - 1980-1996
  • Writings: "Sharing Iowas Beauty" - 1971
  • Writings: "Plants, Trees, Shrubs and Vines in the Wild Flower Preserve at Weed Park," undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Muscatine Garden Club
Iowa Federation of Garden Clubs

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Gardening
Clubs

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Muscatine

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Administrative records
Yearbooks

Browse:
Women's Clubs and Organizations