Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the National Association of Women in Construction, Des Moines Chapter scrapbook

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1961-1964
Creator: National Association of Women in Construction, Des Moines Chapter
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0644
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Organization to provide a forum for women in the construction industry to meet and exchange ideas.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1.

Arrangement: One scrapbook, shelved in Box 1, oversize.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 155) were donated by Maryjo F. Welch and William P. Angrick II in 1993.

Preferred Citation: National Association of Women in Construction, Des Moines Chapter scrapbook, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The National Association of Women in Construction provides a forum in which women who are employed or own businesses in the construction industry can "exchange ideas and enjoy stimulating programs." The Des Moines Chapter was chartered in July of 1963, with the stated objectives of bringing together women in construction to encourage cooperation and better understanding among them, and "to promote fellowship and goodwill among members of the organization." Mrs. Maryjo Welch, secretary in the Paul A. Walters engineering firm, was elected the chapter's first president. Most ofthe original dues-paying members worked in the support staffs of various architectural, engineering and contracting firms. They attended club meetings once a month, in which guest speakers who were industry professionals spoke or screened short films educating the women about the latest developments in the industry. The club also organized dinners, luncheons, cocktail parties, and other social activities. Officers of the club attended out-of-state conventions sponsored by the National Association of Women in Construction. The club also organized short workshops on technical topics, with the idea that "the more we know about it, the more valuable we are to our bosses.

The collection consists of one scrapbook, which measures 1 linear inch and dates from 1961 to 1964.  The scrapbook is chronologically arranged, and contains correspondence, newspaper clippings, brochures, photographs, and other documents relating to the history and goals of the Des Moines Chapter of the National Association of Women in Construction.  The correspondence among various women in construction-related firms details the initial stages of forming the Chapter.  The newspaper clippings and photographs document important moments in the Chapter's history, including the many social events sponsored by the club.  Also included are photocopies of official documents such as the standard bylaws of the organization.  An architectural plan decorates the cover, and is reproduced throughout the scrapbook.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Scrapbook

  • Series 1: Scrapbook
  • Box 1:
  • Des Moines Chapter scrapbook - 1961-1964