Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Joan Liffring-Zug photographs

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1950-1985
Creator: Liffring-Zug, Joan
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0637
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Iowa photographer and publisher of many regional and national photographic books.

Access: The photographs are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been retained by the State Historical Society of Iowa.

Acquisition: The photographs were donated by Joan Liffring-Zug (donor no. 290) in 1995.

Preferred Citation: Joan Liffring-Zug photographs, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Joan Liffring-Zug has been an Iowa photographer since 1945. She studied photography, journalism and art at the University of Iowa. Liffring-Zug has published many regional and national photographic books. She was inducted into the Iowa Woman's Hall of Fame in 1996. After her marriage to Dwayne Bourret, 1996, she uses the name Joan Liffring-Zug Bourret.

The Joan Liffring-Zug photographs date from 1950 to 1985 and measure 2.5 linear inches.  The photographs are arranged in 3 series: Men, Women, and Miscellaneous.  Many of these photographs were published in Liffring-Zug's books, Men: 1950-1985 and Women: 1957-1975; these books are shelved with the printed works collection.
The State Historical Society of Iowa, Iowa City, holds the primary collection of Liffring-Zug's photographs.  The original prints held by the Iowa Women's Archives duplicate those held by the State Historical Society of Iowa.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MEN
Series 2: WOMEN
Series 3: WOMEN (COPY)
Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS

  • Series 1: MEN
  • Box 1:
  • Coe Graduation Procession - 1950
  • Horse Trader - 1952
  • My Son - 1953
  • Indian Performer - 1955
  • Dancer with Horn - 1955
  • Andrew, Iowa - 1958
  • Heated Winter Pool - 1959
  • Gambling in Yakima - 1960
  • Tea for W.H. Auden Montage - 1960-1969
  • John B. Turner and Poodle - 1961
  • Martin Luther King - 1962
  • Man and Teddy Bears - 1963
  • Man and Cat - 1964
  • Carnival - 1963
  • Truman Capote at reception - 1963
  • Amish Man - 1964
  • Auction Twins - 1964
  • Dedication, Cedar Rapids, Iowa - 1964
  • Driver, Street Parade - 1964
  • Street Parade - 1964
  • Teen Age Men at the Fair - 1964
  • Roach Fertilizer Works - 1965
  • Members at the Museum, NY - 1966
  • Max Stanleys - 1979
  • Bust of Shakespeare - 1980
  • Penthouse - 1982
  • Penthouse, Bill Knapp of Des Moines - 1982
  • Tourist (Man is John D. Zug, Liffring-Zug's husband) - 1985
  • Series 2: WOMEN
  • Box 1:
  • Woman's Christian Temperance
  • Union - 1957
  • TV Fan, Newburg, Iowa - 1957
  • Luncheon for Mamie Eisenhower. Speaker, Marian Drahos of Cedar Rapids, secretary to Ike in North Africa - 1958
  • Kindergarten - 1959
  • Junior League Thrift Sale - 1959
  • Colonial Dame - 1960
  • Series 3: WOMEN (COPY)
  • Box 1:
  • Navy Mothers - 1960-1969
  • U.N. Luncheon - 1960-1969
  • U.N. Luncheon - 1960-1969
  • NAACP Board Meeting - 1960-1969
  • Preserving Tulips, early - 1960-1969
  • Woman's Club Bowling - 1960-1969
  • Member, Garden Club, Mrs. - 1960-1969
  • Arthur Collins, early
  • Navy Mothers and Anchor - 1960-1969
  • Navy Buffet Luncheon - 1960-1969
  • Gallery Meeting - 1962
  • Junior League Christmas Party - 1962
  • Wedding Guest - 1962
  • Bridesmaids - 1963
  • Grandmothers and Wedding Guests - 1963
  • Old Order Amish Woman - 1964
  • Bridegroom's Grandmother - 1964
  • Luncheon Guest, Political Luncheon - 1964
  • Luncheon Guest, Political Luncheon - 1964
  • Goldwater Supporters - 1964
  • Bus Stop, L.A. - 1965
  • Museum of Modern Art. Right, Mrs. Harry Wright and her friend, Inez - 1966
  • Woman with Statues, Cedar Rapids. Mrs. Homer Carley of Cedar Rapids - 1966
  • General's Widow, Mason City, Iowa (Mrs. Hanford MacNider) - 1974
  • Liffring-Zug's Grandmother Eva Adora Penfield Lang - 1946
  • Series 4: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 1:
  • Emma Big Bear, Last of her tribe, Winnebago - 1957-1959
  • Truman Capote - 1960-1969
  • Truman Capote Montage - 1960-1969
  • Truman Capote Reading - 1960-1969
  • Shallowater, Texas - 1960
  • Wedding Guest and John B. Turner Montage - 1963
  • Dedication of the Battle Ship Iowa, Rep. Lonergran, undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Bourret, Joan Liffring-Zug, 1929-

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Photography of men
Men
Women
Photography of women

Occupations:
Photographers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Photographs