Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the League of Women Voters of Muscatine records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1943-2000
Creator: League of Women Voters of Muscatine
Extent: 5.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0636
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: During the 1980s and 1990s, the LWV of Muscatine conducted a number of studies on Muscatine county issues, including the ambulance 911 system, law enforcement, county courthouse space needs, alternative forms of county government, housing, education, land use, hazardous waste, local option tax, the U.S. Highway 61 Bypass, and the Muscatine fire station.

Alternate Extent Statement: 4 audiocassettes [AC979-982]
4 videocassettes [V312-315]
Photographs in Box 13

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 777) were donated by Linda Meloy in 2001.

Preferred Citation: League of Women Voters of Muscatine records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The League of Women Voters (LWV) of Muscatine was founded in 1965 as a local-level branch of the national League of Women Voters. A non-partisan organization, the League of Women Voters seeks to promote political responsibility through educating and informing the public on selected governmental issues and promoting action on those issues. The local and state Leagues promote the purpose of the National League and take action on local government matters.

After researching and studying a particular issue, League members establish a common position by voting and reaching consensus. After reaching consensus, League members organize action in support of their position. This action includes giving testimony, lobbying, contacting political groups and politicians, forming coalitions, public speaking and writing letters.

During the 1980s and 1990s, the LWV of Muscatine conducted a number of studies on Muscatine county issues, including the ambulance 911 system, law enforcement, county courthouse space needs, alternative forms of county government, housing, education, land use, hazardous waste, local option tax, the U.S. Highway 61 Bypass, and the Muscatine fire station. The group also participated in round table discussions with community leaders and hosted debates between candidates. In 1993 the LWV of Muscatine elected a male president, Rob Yant.

The group disbanded in 2000.

The League of Women Voters of Muscatine records date from 1943 to 2000 and measure 5.25 linear feet. The records are arranged in thirteen series: Administrative, Community Activities, Local Government, Natural Resources, Operations, Publications, Publicity, Resources, Scrapbooks, Voter Service, Miscellaneous, Photographs, and Artifacts.

The Administrative series consists of correspondence, board meeting minutes and agendas, annual reports, bylaws and various other administrative materials. Included in this series is a folder relating to the Muscatine Women's Coalition. The coalition was comprised of members from LWV, the American Association of University Women, the YWCA, and Business & Professional Women. The miscellaneous folder includes League recognitions, a skit for the League's 25th anniversary celebration, and materials on a garage sale.

The Community Activities series contains materials relating to round table discussions with community leaders, Women's Equality Day, and area daycare and preschools.

The Local Government series contains numerous studies carried out by the League, on topics such as housing, education, county courthouse space needs, law enforcement, land use, the Muscatine County 911 system, hazardous waste, and the U.S. Highway 61 bypass. The migrant school consensus materials include the "Language Development Summer Program for Migrant Children Handbook," which was put together by the Muscatine Community School District in 1972. Other materials include information on a riverboat gambling forum and juvenile justice.

The Natural Resources series consists of materials relating to air quality, drinking water, hazardous chemicals, and solid waste management.

The Operations series contains information on new member orientation and the League's observer program.

The Publications series contains brochures published by the League of Women Voters of Muscatine, as well as Voters dating from 1965 to 2000. The newsletter was originally title The Muscatine Voter, but changed its name in February 1982 to The Voter ( Muscatine, Iowa). Also included in this series are miscellaneous publications from other local leagues in Iowa.

The Publicity series consists of newspaper clippings and news releases, as well as speeches and public relations materials.

The Resources series consists of materials relating to health care, social policy, and the national government.

The Scrapbooks series contains scrapbooks which mostly consist of newspaper clippings and date from 1965 to 1990.

The Voter Service series contains a voter registration kit, caucus information, polling place maps and materials relating to candidates' night. It also includes materials relating to a panel discussion on "Involvement of the Media in Public Opinion Formation," which was held in 1989. Panelists included Molly Carroll of The Muscatine Journal, Steve Bridges of KWPC/KFMH, Don Rhyne of KWQC-TV, and Rick Dollieslager of Muscatine Community College. Included in the materials is a videocassette of the panel discussion.

The Photographs series contains photos dating from 1970 to 1993.

The Artifacts series consists of League buttons, a window placard, a canvas recycling bag and a Leagueopoly game.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 2: COMMUNITY ACTIVITIES
Series 3: LOCAL GOVERNMENT
Series 4: NATURAL RESOURCES
Series 5: OPERATIONS
Series 6: PUBLICATIONS
Series 7: PUBLICITY
Series 8: RESOURCES
Series 9: SCRAPBOOKS
Series 10: VOTER SERVICE
Series 11: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 12: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 1:
  • Annual meetings: Booklets (folder 1) - 1967-2000
  • Annual meetings: Booklets (folder 2) - 1967-2000
  • Annual meetings: Plans - 1987-1993
  • Annual reports (folder 1) - 1966-1981
  • Annual reports (folder 2) - 1966-1981
  • Audits - 1974-1988
  • Board: Orientation tools - 1972-1992
  • Board: Policies - 1987-1999
  • Board: Retreats - 1985-1993
  • Board: Streamlining - 1988-1989
  • Budget - 1973-1990
  • Bylaws - 1972-1999
  • Calendar planning - 1986-1997
  • Consensus - 1980-1988
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence: General - 1978-2000
  • Correspondence: Legislators - 1981-1997
  • Correspondence: Monsanto notifications - 1991-1998
  • Correspondence: Re: TheVoter - 1985-1989
  • Directories - 1976-1996
  • Finance drive - 1982-1991
  • Local program planning - 1972-1999
  • Membership lists - 1969-1999
  • Minutes and agendas (folder 1) - 1970-1983
  • Minutes and agendas (folder 2) - 1970-1983
  • Minutes and agendas (folder 3) - 1970-1983
  • Box 3:
  • Minutes and agendas (folder 1) - 1984-1999
  • Minutes and agendas (folder 2) - 1984-1999
  • Minutes and agendas (folder 3) - 1984-1999
  • Minutes and agendas (folder 4) - 1984-1999
  • Muscatine Women's Coalition - 1986-1989
  • Non-partisan policy - 1987-1999
  • Parliamentary procedure - 1963-1993
  • President's duties - 1982-1990
  • Quick information - 1985-1989
  • Secretary records - 1970-1976
  • Box 4:
  • Small group discussions - 1988-1989
  • State program planning - 1994-1998
  • Treasurer's reports - 1969-1983
  • Treasurer's reports - 1985-2000
  • Miscellaneous - 1975-2000
  • Series 2: COMMUNITY ACTIVITIES
  • Box 4:
  • Daycare and preschool - 1983-1999
  • Leadership Muscatine - 1989-1991
  • Round table discussions: General - 1989-1998
  • Round table discussions: Notes - 1996
  • Women's Equality Day - 1989
  • Series 3: LOCAL GOVERNMENT
  • Box 4:
  • Adult corrections - 1984
  • Census - 1988-1990
  • Cities conference follow-up - 1977
  • Box 5:
  • City-county ambulance study - 1983
  • City-county ambulance study - 1990-1998
  • City-county law enforcement study - 1977-1981
  • Comprehensive plan - 1977
  • County board of supervisors: Budget - 1986
  • County board of supervisors: "County Government Budget," Sandy Huston, Jan. 8 - 1986
    [shelved in audiocassette collection: AC982]
  • County board of supervisors: Questions and Answers - 1985
  • County courthouse space needs study
  • General - 1997-1998
  • "Muscatine County Facilities Master Plan" - 1997
  • County government study - 1992-1995
  • Education: General - 1966-1978
  • Education: Study - 1968
  • Four year staggered terms - 1975
  • Joint communications - 1991
  • Juvenile justice: General - 1974-1998
  • Juvenile justice: Resources - 1996-1997
  • Box 6:
  • Hazardous waste in Muscatine - 1980-1985
  • High school bond issue - 1968-1973
  • Housing: "Panel Discussion on Housing Issues," May 16 - 1989
    [shelved in videocassette collection: V314]
  • Housing: Study - 1974
  • Iowa open meetings law - 1982, 1986
  • "Know Your County" - 1995
  • "Know Your Local Government" - 1962-1983
  • Land use: General - 1972-1982
  • Land use: Update survey - 1981
  • Local option tax study - 1986
  • Meeting basic human needs - 1987
  • Migrant school materials - 1967-1972
  • Muscatine fire station study - 1966-1967
  • Municipal: Finance - 1979-1989
  • Municipal: Home rule law - 1972-1973
  • Public safety building - 1974
  • Recreation - 1966-1976
  • Riverboat gambling forum - 1996
  • U.S. Highway 61 bypass study - 1984-1988
  • U.S. Highway 61 bypass study - 1997
  • Series 4: NATURAL RESOURCES
  • Box 7:
  • General, undated
  • Air quality - 1971-1990
  • Correspondence - 1989-1990
  • Drinking water - 1986-1993
  • Environmental call-in on sustainable development, Sept. 17 - 1989
    [shelved in audiocassette collection: AC981]
  • Hazardous chemicals - 1984-1989
  • Hazardous chemicals: Newspaper clippings - 1985, 1989
  • Box 8:
  • Solid waste: General - 1988-1993
  • Solid waste: Management study - 1989
  • Solid waste: Newspaper clippings - 1989-1990
  • Solid waste: Power of One: Toxic Waste and You, Dr. David Suzubi, - 1989
  • Series 5: OPERATIONS
  • Box 8:
  • Info at a glance - 1983-1991
  • New member orientation - 1961-1990
  • Observer program - 1970-1985
  • October LWV month - 1979-1980
  • Series 6: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 8:
  • Brochures - 1985
  • The Muscatine Voter (folder 1) - 1965-1972
  • The Muscatine Voter (folder 2) - 1965-1972
  • The Muscatine Voter (folder 3) - 1965-1972
  • Box 9:
  • The Muscatine Voter (folder 1) - 1973-1989
    [In Feb. 1982 the name changed to The Voter ( Muscatine, Iowa)]
  • The Muscatine Voter (folder 2) - 1973-1989
    [In Feb. 1982 the name changed to The Voter ( Muscatine, Iowa)]
  • The Muscatine Voter (folder 3) - 1973-1989
    [In Feb. 1982 the name changed to The Voter ( Muscatine, Iowa)]
  • The Muscatine Voter (folder 4) - 1973-1989
    [In Feb. 1982 the name changed to The Voter ( Muscatine, Iowa)]
  • The Muscatine Voter (folder 5) - 1973-1989
    [In Feb. 1982 the name changed to The Voter ( Muscatine, Iowa)]
  • The Muscatine Voter (folder 6) - 1973-1989
    [In Feb. 1982 the name changed to The Voter ( Muscatine, Iowa)]
  • Box 10:
  • The Voter (folder 1) - 1990-2000
  • The Voter (folder 2) - 1990-2000
  • Other local league publications - 1986-1998
  • Series 7: PUBLICITY
  • Box 10:
  • "KWPC Dial 86 radio call-in," Oct. 23 - 1986
    [shelved in audiocassette collection: AC979]
  • Newspaper clippings - 1965-2000
  • Press releases - 1976-1996
  • Public relations - 1981-1989
  • Speeches - 1977-1992
  • Series 8: RESOURCES
  • Box 10:
  • Healthcare - 1990-2000
  • International Education - 1988
  • Box 11:
  • International Relations - 1983-1989
  • Lobbying - 1973-1979
  • National government - 1977-1987
  • National government: "The Deficit: Financing the Federal Government: Stage 2"
  • National government: Leader's guide - 1985
  • Social policy: General - 1984-1991
  • Social policy: Reproductive choice - 1993
  • Scrapbooks - 1965-1976
  • Scrapbooks - 1977-1978
  • Scrapbooks - 1978-1981
  • Series 9: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 12:
  • Scrapbooks - 1980-1988
  • Scrapbooks - 1989-1990
  • Series 10: VOTER SERVICE
  • Box 12:
  • General - 1981-1990
  • Campaign finance disclosure, undated
  • Candidate's night - 1990-1992
  • Candidate's night: "Candidate Forum Election 1988" - 1988
    [shelved in videocassette collection: V312]
  • Candidate's night: Hospital board - 1988
  • Candidate's night: School board - 1987-1989
  • Candidate's night: Special candidates - 1988
  • Caucus information - 1984-1988
  • Box 13:
  • Election services materials - 1973-1986
  • General election night - 1980-1989
  • Impact Muscatine - 1987
  • "Making Democracy Work" - 1996
  • Panel discussion, "Involvement of the Media in Public Opinion Formation": Materials - 1989
  • Panel discussion, "Involvement of the Media in Public Opinion Formation": Forum, Feb. 28 - 1989
    [shelved in videocassette collection: V315]
  • Polling place maps - 1943-1983
  • Promoting Voting: A Citizen's Guide to the Media, undated
  • Promotional campaign - 1980
  • Voter registration kit - 1983
  • Series 11: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 13:
  • Photographs - 1970-1993
  • Series 12: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 14:
  • Buttons (two)
  • Canvas recycling bag: "Learning the New '3 R's' Reduce, Reuse, Recycle"
  • Leagueopolgy game
  • LWV of Muscatine stamp
  • Name tag
  • Window placard