Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the League of Women Voters of Cedar Rapids-Marion records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1968-1975
Creator: League of Women Voters of Cedar Rapids-Marion
Extent: .25 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0635
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The Cedar Rapids-Marion League of Women Voters (LWV) played an active part in the civic life of the greater Cedar Rapids area.   During the period covered by this collection, the Cedar Rapids-Marion League of Women Voters focused on the problems of high school dropouts in the Cedar Rapids school system and the lack of affordable housing in the area.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 132) were donated by Joyce Nielsen in 1998.

Preferred Citation: League of Women Voters of Cedar Rapids-Marion records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The League of Women Voters (LWV) of Cedar Rapids - Marion was started and rendered inactive twice in the 1920s and 1930s before becoming the organization documented in this collection. The LWV of Cedar Rapids ? Marion that lasted was recognized as a local league of the League of Women Voters in December 1949. It was founded as a non-partisan political organization dedicated to influencing public policy through education and advocacy made by informed and active citizens. Through a two-pronged approach of voter education and non-partisan study of community problems, League members sought to educate citizens to improve the quality of life in Cedar Rapids. To achieve its goal the LWV of Cedar Rapids ? Marion focused on two fields of activity ? Voter Services and Study and Action.
During the period of this collection the League kept a close eye both on its own administrative details (e.g., membership, fundraising, and meeting minutes) and on programs at the local, state, national, and international levels. Issues with which the local League was particularly concerned were Education, Justice, Natural Resources, Taxes, Social Policy (in particular, housing, child care, health care, reproductive rights, employment, and civil rights), and government at all levels. The Voter Services of the LWV of Cedar Rapids ? Marion assisted in voter registration, offered information about minor party and independent candidates, organized candidate forums and debates, and provided information on how to vote.
The LWV of Cedar Rapids ? Marion produced many reports and publications, including several on getting to know the county and the community, and in 1949 began publishing a monthly newsletter "The Voter."
In May 2012 the League of Women Voters of Cedar Rapids ? Marion changed its name to the League of Women Voters of Linn County in an effort to be both more inclusive and more accurate in describing its membership.

The Cedar Rapids-Marion League of Women Voters records date from 1968 to 1975 and measure 0.25 linear inches. They contain local league records, mostly in the form of published materials such as The Cedar Rapids-Marion Voter. Mimeographed sheets produced during studies of high school dropouts and housing problems are also included.

The records were transferred from the Joyce Nielsen Papers at the Iowa Women's Archives. Official records for this LWV branch are held by the Cedar Rapids-Marion League of Women Voters.
Joyce Nielsen papers (IWA): Nielsen was an active member of the Cedar Rapids-Marion League of Women Voters in the 1960s and 1970s. More information about the organization can be found in her papers.

League of Women Voters of Iowa records (IWA): The state league records contain correspondence to and from members of the Cedar Rapids-Marion League, reports of local league activities, and other pertinent information. See especially Boxes 7, 18, 19 and 23.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ORGANIZATION INFORMATION

  • Series 1: ORGANIZATION INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • League of Women Voters of Cedar Rapids-Marion