Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa Porkettes records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1964-1996
Creator: Iowa Porkettes
Extent: 19.20 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0626
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Women's auxiliary of the Iowa Pork Producer's Association, founded in 1964. Merged with the men's organization in 1992.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 700) were donated by the Iowa Pork Producers Association in 2000.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Porkettes records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

On the initiative of the newly formed National Porkettes, the Iowa Porkettes organized in January 1964 as an auxiliary to the Iowa Pork and Swine Producers Association (IPSPA). Starting with a group of forty members, the first president of the Iowa Porkettes Jan Jackson recruited over two hundred members by the end of the year. Within the first two years, the Porkettes adopted pork promotion as their primary goal. This included promoting pork at fairs and supermarkets and after 1965 organizing the rules for and conducting the annual Pork Queen contest on a more formal basis. The Porkettes also worked with schools to introduce pork information into the home economics curriculum. To finance these activities, the Iowa Porkettes sold pig-related items at fairs and conferences and in 1976 created the fully owned, for-profit company Iowa Pigskin Sales Company (IPSC).

Early Porkette officers organized groups at the county and district level, increasing the membership from 410 in 1972 to 5671 in 1979. With increased membership, Iowa Porkettes expanded their promotional activities. Concern about liability motivated them to incorporate as an independent organization in 1976, linked to the IPSPA by a memoradum of understanding. The IPSPA by this time had changed its name to the Iowa Pork Producers Association (IPPA). As the Iowa Porkettes grew in size, the organization acquired a more professional identity. Many members expressed a feeling that the name "Porkettes" did not reflect this new identity, but in 1984, the membership voted by a narrow margin to retain the name "Porkettes." Many members also felt the Pork Queen no longer reflected women's role in pork production, but most members recognized that the Pork Queen had evolved into a polished, professional, and highly effective, public-relations spokesperson.

In 1986, the National Pork Board allocated federally mandated pork promotion funds to the IPPA. With the new income, the IPPA hired additional staff, paid mileage to its officers and committee members, and distributed high quality promotional materials. With little discussion, the IPPA gradually included Porkette members on many of its committees. Over the next four years, the IPPA and Porkette committees merged completely. Without committees to oversee, there was no longer a compelling reason to maintain a distinct women's auxiliary board and the Iowa Porkettes dissolved in 1991.

Additional history is found in the "History and Organizational Structure" series; the first project book, compiled by Kathryn Louden in 1973; and in the IPPA organizational history Iowa Pork and People by Donald Muhm.

The Iowa Porkettes records date from 1964 to 1996 and measure 19.2 linear feet. The collection consists primarily of committee and board records from the late 1970s and 1980s, materials relating to promotional events, and a series of scrapbooks, called "project books"compiled by Porkettes to document their activities. One oral history interview was conducted by Doris Malkmus as part of the Rural Women's Project at the Iowa Women's Archives and has been added to the collection. It is filed in the History and structure series. This interview was conducted as a means of gathering information to supplement the official Porkette records. Documents of the interview includes transcribed notes of round-table discussions on March 21, 2001 and April 18,2001. At the first roundtable, officers Kathryn Louden, Karen McCreedy, Donna Keppy, Joan Nossaman, Esther VerMeer,Karen and Robin Gingerich, Joyce Oberman, and Margaret Ledger discussed founding and the later history of the Porkettes. Robin Gingerich and Doris Malkmus kept notes and Doris Malkmus moderated. At the April 18th roundtable, founding members Mary McNutt, Kathryn Louden, and Myrtle Keppy discussed the founding of the National Porkettes and the Iowa Porkettes. Neither roundtable was taped, but afterward, members unanimously selected Kathryn Louden as a spokesperson for a recorded interview of the founding years of the Porkettes and Judy Anton as spokesperson for the history of the Iowa Pigskin Sales Company. Esther Ver Meer, IPPA member and President of the National Pork Board, agreed to be interviewed about the growth and dissolution of the Porkettes. An interview with Kathryn Lauden was conducted, but interviews of the other women have not been done. These oral and written records contain detailed documentation of women's roles in commodity organizations and the subtleties of gender identities as women's auxiliaries integrated the previously all-male organizations.

The collection is divided into ten series: History and structure, Board of directors, Meetings, Committees, County organizations, Promotionalevents, Activities, Iowa Pigskin Sales Company (ISPC), Other organizations,and Photographs.

The History and structure series includes organizational chronologies,taped interviews by Doris Malkmus, lists of leaders and award-winners, andby-laws. It also contains by-laws fromorganizations with formal and informal links to the Iowa Porkettes.

The Board of directors series includes a fairly complete record of the minutes and correspondence of the full board andthe executive committee of the board. Sporadic minutes from joint IPPA and Iowa Porkette executive boards arealso included. The Meetings series includes minutes and correspondence related to the quarterly meetings of the full membership.

The Committees series provided detailed information on most of the activities of the organization. It includes therecords of committees on finances, by-laws, promotions, Pork Queen contests,the State Fair, and educational activities. The project books, located in this series, form a complete and readily accessible account of all Porkette activities for any given year.

Although most counties in Iowa had Porkette organizations, county records are rarely included in this collection. Existing records have been preserved under the County organization series.

The Promotional events series includes records of a wide variety of annual, single-time,and on-going events. The files of several committees--State Fair, Metropolitan, and Queens--also contain information about promotional events.

The Activities series includes a full run of the Lady's Pork Journal, other intermittent publications, and a speaker corps manual. Before the Porkettes published their own journal, the Porkette president wrote a column for the IPPA newsletter. These columns are found in a scrapbook compiled by Kathryn Louden covering 1964 to 1972. Annual project books from 1973 to 1988 are included in this series. After 1977, state project books were assembled with standardized plastic covers provided by the IPPA. The 1977 project book is boxed in its original cover. The plastic covers oflater project books have been removed and any ornamentation on the cover storedwith the contents of its scrapbook.

The Iowa Pigskin Sales Company series includes financial records, sewing manuals, slides of pigskin fashions, and a scrapbook. More information about the IPSC can be found on the oral history tapes of Judy Anton.

The series Other organizations includes materials from affiliated groups--the Iowa and National Pork Producers Association and the National Women's Pork Council--as well as related industry groups.

The Photographs series consists primarily of photographs of Pork Queens contestants and a photo album of Pork Queens. Additional photographs of Porkette officers and members at various events are located in the annual project books.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HISTORY AND STRUCTURE
Series 2: BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Series 3: MEETINGS
Series 4: COMMITTEES
Series 5: COUNTY ORGANIZATIONS
Series 6: PROMOTIONAL EVENTS
Series 7: ACTIVITIES
Series 8: PIGSKIN SALES COMPANY
Series 9: OTHER ORGANIZATIONS
Series 10: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: HISTORY AND STRUCTURE
  • Box 1:
  • "Twenty Year History" - 1984
  • "Twenty-eight Year History" - 1992
  • Collected materials for "Twenty-eight Year History" - 1992
  • Reunion round-table, March 21 and April 18, 2001 transcriptions - 2001
  • Oral history interview with Kathryn Louden [AC551] - 2001
  • Charter member address book - 1964
  • List of officers - 1975, 1983-1988, 1990-1991
  • Election of officers - 1982
  • Executive committee of board of directors - 1985
  • By-laws: Porkettes - 1964-1991
  • By-laws: Porkettes County organizations - 1979, 1988
  • By-laws: Iowa Pork Producers Association - 1988
  • By-laws: National Porkettes - 1972
  • By-laws: National Pork Council Women - 1988
  • By-laws: National Pork Producers Council - 1986
  • Unification of Porkettes and Iowa Pork Producers Association - 1990
  • Committees - 1977-1980, 1983, 1985
  • Committees: Annual reports - 1979-1986
  • Committees: Iowa Pork Producers Association - 1986-1991
  • District and Committees - 1991
  • County organizations charters, undated
  • Iowa Pork Producers Association Leadership Directory - 1977
  • Iowa Pork Producers Association Leadership Directory - 1982
  • Box 2:
  • Iowa Pork Producers Association Leadership Directory - 1983
  • Iowa Pork Producers Association Leadership 2 year directory - 1986-1987
  • Iowa Pork Producers Association Membership meetings - 1964-1969
  • Iowa Pork Producers Association Membership meetings - 1970-1973
  • Box 23:
  • Queens: Photograph album
  • Box 3:
  • Account books (folder 5) - 1966-1984
  • Series 2: BOARD OF DIRECTORS
  • Box 2:
  • Minutes (folder 1) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 2) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 3) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 4) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 5) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 6) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 7) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 8) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 9) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 10) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 11) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 12) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 13) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 14) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 15) - 1976-1992
  • Minutes (folder 16) - 1976-1992
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 1) - 1974-1979
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 2) - 1974-1979
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 3) - 1974-1979
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 4) - 1974-1979
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 5) - 1974-1979
  • Box 3:
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 1) - 1980-1991
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 2) - 1980-1991
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 3) - 1980-1991
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 4) - 1980-1991
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 5) - 1980-1991
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 6) - 1980-1991
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 7) - 1980-1991
  • Executive committee minutes (folder 8) - 1980-1991
  • Correspondence (folder 1) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 2) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 3) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 4) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 5) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 6) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 7) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 8) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 9) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 10) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 11) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 12) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 13) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 14) - 1973-1990
  • Correspondence (folder 15) - 1973-1990
  • Box 4:
  • Presidential papers: Karen McCreedy - 1976-1978
  • Series 3: MEETINGS
  • Box 4:
  • Annual meetings (folder 1) - 1973-1980
  • Annual meetings (folder 2) - 1973-1980
  • Annual meetings (folder 3) - 1973-1980
  • Annual meetings (folder 4) - 1973-1980
  • Annual meetings (folder 5) - 1973-1980
  • Annual meetings (folder 6) - 1973-1980
  • Annual meetings (folder 7) - 1973-1980
  • Annual meetings (folder 8) - 1973-1980
  • Annual meetings (folder 9) - 1973-1980
  • Annual meetings (folder 10) - 1973-1980
  • Box 5:
  • Annual meetings (folder 1) - 1981-1991
  • Annual meetings (folder 2) - 1981-1991
  • Annual meetings (folder 3) - 1981-1991
  • Annual meetings (folder 4) - 1981-1991
  • Annual meetings (folder 5) - 1981-1991
  • Annual meetings (folder 6) - 1981-1991
  • Annual meetings (folder 7) - 1981-1991
  • Annual meetings (folder 8) - 1981-1991
  • Annual meetings (folder 9) - 1981-1991
  • Annual meetings (folder 10) - 1981-1991
  • Membership (folder 1) - 1974-1979
  • Membership (folder 2) - 1974-1979
  • Membership (folder 3) - 1974-1979
  • Membership (folder 4) - 1974-1979
  • Membership (folder 5) - 1974-1979
  • Membership (folder 6) - 1974-1979
  • Box 6:
  • Membership (folder 1) - 1980-1991
  • Membership (folder 2) - 1980-1991
  • Membership (folder 3) - 1980-1991
  • Membership (folder 4) - 1980-1991
  • Membership (folder 5) - 1980-1991
  • Membership (folder 6) - 1980-1991
  • Membership (folder 7) - 1980-1991
  • Membership (folder 8) - 1980-1991
  • Membership (folder 9) - 1980-1991
  • Membership (folder 10) - 1980-1991
  • Membership (folder 11) - 1980-1991
  • Membership (folder 12) - 1980-1991
  • Series 4: COMMITTEES
  • Box 6:
  • Plan of work - 1977-1978
  • Plan of work - 1979
  • Plan of work (folder 1) - 1983-1987
  • Plan of work (folder 2) - 1983-1987
  • Plan of work (folder 3) - 1983-1987
  • Plan of work (folder 4) - 1983-1987
  • Plan of work (folder 5) - 1983-1987
  • Administrative Study - 1984
  • Awards - 1978-1979
  • Awards - 1980-1983
  • Awards (folder 1) - 1984-1988
  • Awards (folder 2) - 1984-1988
  • Awards (folder 3) - 1984-1988
  • Awards (folder 4) - 1984-1988
  • Awards (folder 5) - 1984-1988
  • Budget and Finance - 1974-1977
  • Box 7:
  • Budget and Finance (folder 1) - 1978-1982
  • Budget and Finance (folder 2) - 1978-1982
  • Budget and Finance (folder 3) - 1978-1982
  • Budget and Finance (folder 4) - 1978-1982
  • Budget and Finance (folder 5) - 1978-1982
  • Finance and revenue development (folder 1) - 1983-1991
  • Finance and revenue development (folder 2) - 1983-1991
  • Finance and revenue development (folder 3) - 1983-1991
  • Finance and revenue development (folder 4) - 1983-1991
  • Finance and revenue development (folder 5) - 1983-1991
  • Finance and revenue development (folder 6) - 1983-1991
  • Finance and revenue development (folder 7) - 1983-1991
  • Finance and revenue development (folder 8) - 1983-1991
  • Finance and revenue development: Contributions - 1987-1988
  • Finance and revenue development: Insurance - 1984-1988
  • Finance and revenue development: Tax forms - 1984-1991
  • Finance and revenue development: Ledger - 1986-1987
  • Finance and revenue development: Ledger - 1987-1988
  • Finance and revenue development: Ledger - 1988-1989
  • Finance and revenue development: Ledger - 1990-1992
  • Box 8:
  • By-laws - 1977-1979
  • By-laws (folder 1) - 1981-1989
  • By-laws (folder 2) - 1981-1989
  • By-laws (folder 3) - 1981-1989
  • By-laws (folder 4) - 1981-1989
  • By-laws (folder 5) - 1981-1989
  • By-laws (folder 6) - 1981-1989
  • By-laws (folder 7) - 1981-1989
  • By-laws (folder 8) - 1981-1989
  • By-laws (folder 9) - 1981-1989
  • Communications - 1983
  • Craft, undated
  • Credentials - 1982-1987
  • Delegate (folder 1) - 1987-1989
  • Delegate (folder 2) - 1987-1989
  • Delegate (folder 3) - 1987-1989
  • Delegate (folder 4) - 1987-1989
  • Delegate (folder 5) - 1987-1989
  • Delegate (folder 6) - 1987-1989
  • By-laws
  • Display - 1984
  • Fellowship - 1988
  • Fine meats - 1977-1980
  • Ground pork - 1977-1980
  • Box 9:
  • Iowa chop - 1976-1980
  • Long range planning - 1977-1986
  • Manuscript - 1986
  • Membership (folder 1) - 1974-1987
  • Membership (folder 2) - 1974-1987
  • Membership (folder 3) - 1974-1987
  • Membership (folder 4) - 1974-1987
  • Membership (folder 5) - 1974-1987
  • Membership (folder 6) - 1974-1987
  • Membership (folder 7) - 1974-1987
  • Membership (folder 8) - 1974-1987
  • Membership (folder 9) - 1974-1987
  • Membership (folder 10) - 1974-1987
  • Membership (folder 11) - 1974-1987
  • Box 10:
  • Membership - 1988
  • Membership - 1989
  • Certificates and awards, undated
  • Metropolitan (folder 1) - 1978-1985
  • Metropolitan (folder 2) - 1978-1985
  • Metropolitan (folder 3) - 1978-1985
  • Metropolitan (folder 4) - 1978-1985
  • Metropolitan (folder 5) - 1978-1985
  • Metropolitan - 1988
  • Newsletter - 1978
  • Newsletter (folder 1) - 1938-1988
  • Newsletter (folder 2) - 1983-1988
  • Newsletter (folder 3) - 1983-1988
  • Newsletter (folder 4) - 1983-1988
  • Newsletter (folder 5) - 1983-1988
  • Newsletter (folder 6) - 1983-1988
  • Nominating - 1977-1978
  • Nominating - 1982-1984
  • Pork in Education - 1976-1979
  • Pork in Education - 1980
  • Pork in Education Conference exhibits - 1978
  • Education and nutrition (folder 1) - 1981-1986
  • Education and nutrition (folder 2) - 1981-1986
  • Education and nutrition (folder 3) - 1981-1986
  • Education and nutrition (folder 4) - 1981-1986
  • Education and nutrition (folder 5) - 1981-1986
  • Education and nutrition (folder 6) - 1981-1986
  • Box 11:
  • Education and nutrition - 1987-1991
  • Education and nutrition, undated
  • Education and nutrition Packet - 1985
  • Project books (folder 1) - 1975-1988
  • Project books (folder 2) - 1975-1988
  • Project books (folder 3) - 1975-1988
  • Project books (folder 4) - 1975-1988
  • Project books (folder 5) - 1975-1988
  • Project books (folder 6) - 1975-1988
  • Project books (folder 7) - 1975-1988
  • Project books (folder 8) - 1975-1988
  • Project books (folder 9) - 1975-1988
  • Project books (folder 10) - 1975-1988
  • Project books (folder 11) - 1975-1988
  • Box 12:
  • Contest results (folder 1) - 1981-1988
  • Contest results (folder 2) - 1981-1988
  • Contest results (folder 3) - 1981-1988
  • Contest results (folder 4) - 1981-1988
  • Contest results (folder 5) - 1981-1988
  • Contest results (folder 6) - 1981-1988
  • Contest results (folder 7) - 1981-1988
  • Contest results (folder 8) - 1981-1988
  • Awards - 1991
  • Promotion - 1976-1981
  • Promotion - 1982-1983
  • Promotion - 1987
  • Meat locker information, undated
  • Public relations - 1985-1987
  • Queens (folder 1) - 1975-1978
  • Queens (folder 2) - 1975-1978
  • Queens (folder 3) - 1975-1978
  • Queens (folder 4) - 1975-1978
  • Box 13:
  • Queens: Contest (folder 1) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 2) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 3) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 4) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 5) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 6) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 7) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 8) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 9) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 10) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 11) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 12) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 13) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 14) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contest (folder 15) - 1979-1996
  • Queens: Contestants - 1978
  • Queens: Contestants - 1979
  • Box 14:
  • Queens: Contestants (folder 1) - 1992-1995
  • Queens: Contestants (folder 2) - 1992-1995
  • Queens: Contestants (folder 3) - 1992-1995
  • Queens: Contestants (folder 4) - 1992-1995
  • Queens: Contestants (folder 5) - 1992-1995
  • Pork queen appearances (folder 1) - 1992-1996
  • Pork queen appearances (folder 2) - 1992-1996
  • Pork queen appearances (folder 3) - 1992-1996
  • Pork queen appearances (folder 4) - 1992-1996
  • Pork queen appearances (folder 5) - 1992-1996
  • Finishing seminar (folder 1) - 1992-1995
  • Finishing seminar (folder 2) - 1992-1995
  • Finishing seminar (folder 3) - 1992-1995
  • Box 15:
  • Referendum - 1988
  • Restaurant and food service - 1987
  • Special projects - 1982-1983
  • Special projects - 1987
  • State Fair (folder 1) - 1973-1985
  • State Fair (folder 2) - 1973-1985
  • State Fair (folder 3) - 1973-1985
  • State Fair (folder 4) - 1973-1985
  • State Fair (folder 5) - 1973-1985
  • State Fair (folder 6) - 1973-1985
  • State Fair (folder 7) - 1973-1985
  • State Fair (folder 8) - 1973-1985
  • State Fair (folder 9) - 1973-1985
  • State Fair (folder 10) - 1973-1985
  • State Fair (folder 11) - 1973-1985
  • State Fair (folder 12) - 1973-1985
  • State Fair (folder 13) - 1973-1985
  • Box 16:
  • State Fair (folder 1) - 1986-1989
  • State Fair (folder 2) - 1986-1989
  • State Fair (folder 3) - 1986-1989
  • State Fair (folder 4) - 1986-1989
  • Series 5: COUNTY ORGANIZATIONS
  • Box 16:
  • Unorganized counties - 1977
  • Start-up - 1978
  • Start-up - 1988
  • Start-up, undated - 1978
  • Promotional packet - 1978
  • Activities (folder 1) - 1973-1979
  • Activities (folder 2) - 1973-1979
  • Activities (folder 3) - 1973-1979
  • Questionnaires - 1979
  • Questionnaires - 1980
  • Questionnaires - 1987
  • District meetings - 1975
  • District meetings - 1976, 1977, 1979, 1982
  • Series 6: PROMOTIONAL EVENTS
  • Box 17:
  • Ag-Day - 1977, 1983
  • Cook-Off (folder 1) - 1982-1989
  • Cook-Off (folder 2) - 1982-1989
  • Cook-Off (folder 3) - 1982-1989
  • Cook-Off (folder 4) - 1982-1989
  • Cook-Off (folder 5) - 1982-1989
  • Cook-Off (folder 6) - 1982-1989
  • Cook-Off (folder 7) - 1982-1989
  • Cook-Off (folder 8) - 1982-1989
  • Cookbooks - 1983-1989
  • Demonstration manual, undated
  • Great American Pork Fest - 1980
  • Box 18:
  • Homemakers School - 1979
  • Pork Congress - 1978-1979
  • Pork Congress (folder 1) [missing 1989, 1990] - 1983-1991
  • Pork Congress (folder 2) [missing 1989, 1990] - 1983-1991
  • Pork Congress (folder 3) [missing 1989, 1990] - 1983-1991
  • Pork Congress (folder 4) [missing 1989, 1990] - 1983-1991
  • Pork Congress (folder 5) [missing 1989, 1990] - 1983-1991
  • Pork Congress (folder 6) [missing 1989, 1990] - 1983-1991
  • Womens hospitality room guest book - 1981
  • Womens program - 1983-1986
  • Iowa Pork Hall of Fame - 1984
  • American Pork Congress - 1977
  • Moorman Feed - 1980
  • Pit kit - 1977
  • Pork Appreciation Days (folder 1) - 1973-1975
  • Pork Appreciation Days (folder 2) - 1973-1975
  • Pork Appreciation Days (folder 3) - 1973-1975
  • Pork Appreciation Days - 1977-1979
  • Pork for Pop - 1975-1977
  • Box 19:
  • Porkfest - 1974-1980
  • Spring Thing - 1977
  • Taste of Elegance - 1988
  • Teamin Up - 1980
  • Series 7: ACTIVITIES
  • Box 24:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette scrapbook - 1964-1972
  • Box 25:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book - 1973
  • Box 26:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book - 1974
  • Box 27:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book - 1975
  • Box 28:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book - 1976
  • Box 29:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book - 1977
  • Box 30:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book - 1978
  • Box 31:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book [disassembled] - 1979
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book [disassembled] - 1980
  • Box 32:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book [disassembled] - 1981
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book [disassembled] - 1982
  • Box 33:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book - 1983
  • Box 34:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book - 1984
  • Box 35:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book - 1985
  • Box 36:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book - 1986
  • Box 37:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book - 1987
  • Box 38:
  • Project books: Iowa Porkette project book - 1988
  • Box 19:
  • Project books: President Donna Keppy scrapbooks (folder 1) - 1974, 1975
  • Project books: President Donna Keppy scrapbooks (folder 2) - 1974, 1975
  • Publications: Ladies Pork Journal - 1983-1990
  • Publications: Porkette Handbook - 1975
  • Speaker corps: Pork Industry Speaker Corps Manual, undated
  • Speaker corps: Producers Educating People (PEP) Club, undated
  • Series 8: PIGSKIN SALES COMPANY
  • Box 20:
  • Articles of Incorporation and by-laws - 1980, 1988
  • Directors - 1981, 1984
  • Legal - 1979-1986
  • Business and meetings - 1977-1978
  • Business and meetings - 1980-1983
  • Business and meetings - 1985-1986
  • Business and meetings (folder 1) - 1987
  • Business and meetings (folder 2) - 1987
  • Business and meetings - 1988
  • Business and meetings - 1989-1990
  • Finances - 1981-1983
  • Finances - 1985-1986
  • Finances - 1987
  • Finances - 1988
  • Finances - 1990
  • Pigskin News - 1983
  • Creating With Pigskin contest - 1983-1988
  • Technical - 1983-1985
  • Technical - 1987-1989
  • Box 21:
  • Promotional materials - 1983, 1985
  • Crafts: Winning Ways With Pigskin - 1976
  • Crafts: Projects, undated
  • Crafts: Creating With Pigskin - 1979, 1981, 1984
  • Newsclipping
  • Box 39:
  • Scrapbook - 1983-1990
  • Series 9: OTHER ORGANIZATIONS
  • Box 21:
  • National Porkettes (folder 1) - 1974-1986
  • National Porkettes (folder 2) - 1974-1986
  • National Porkettes (folder 3) - 1974-1986
  • National Porkettes (folder 4) - 1974-1986
  • National Porkettes (folder 5) - 1974-1986
  • National Porkettes (folder 6) - 1974-1986
  • National Porkettes (folder 7) - 1974-1986
  • National Porkettes (folder 8) - 1974-1986
  • National Porkettes (folder 9) - 1974-1986
  • National Porkettes (folder 10) - 1974-1986
  • National Porkettes (folder 11) - 1974-1986
  • National Porkettes: Annual reports - 1974
  • Box 22:
  • National Porkettes: Annual reports - 1976, 1977
  • National Porkettes: Annual reports - 1978-1981, 1983, 1986
  • National Porkette: National pork queen images - 1966-1969
  • National Pork Council Women (folder 1) - 1987-1989
  • National Pork Council Women (folder 2) - 1987-1989
  • National Pork Council Women (folder 3) - 1987-1989
  • National Pork Council Women: Plan of Work - 1986, 1987, 1989
  • National Pork Council Women: State Activities [2 publications] - 1985, 1986
  • National Pork Producers Council: Annual reports and policy manual - 1984, 1987, 1988
  • National Pork Producers Council: State Executive Letter - 1984-1988
  • National Pork Producers Council: Promotional literature, undated
  • U.S. Meat Export Federation: Action - 1984, 1987
  • Iowa Pork Producers Association: Legislative Handbook [3 publications] - 1985-1988
  • Iowa Pork Producers Council: Report on Activities - 1988
  • Iowa Organization of Women in Agriculture - 1986
  • American Women in Television and Radio - 1977
  • Farm Wife News - 1977
  • Series 10: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 22:
  • Pork queens - 1968, 1969, 1972-1977
  • Ineligible pork queen contestants - 1993
  • Members and officers - 1988-1992
  • Unidentified, undated