Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frances Barnes Ingram papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1898-1996
Creator: Ingram, Frances Barnes (1870-1950)
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0624
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Monroe County, Iowa native.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 106) were donated by Katherine Zastrow in 1996.

Preferred Citation: Frances Barnes Ingram papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Frances Barnes Ingram was born in 1879 to A.R. and Frances Sales Barnes of Albia, Iowa. Her father started the Monroe County newspaper before the Civil War. Frances Barnes married Foster Corydon Ingram in 1901. The couple lived in Albia, Iowa, and together they had two sons, Robert and Foster, and a daughter, Frances. Foster Ingram died in 1933. Frances Ingram was a member of the Methodist Church in Albia and the P.E.O. Sisterhood, as well as a charter member of the Albia Woman's Club. She died in 1950 after a long illness.

The Frances Barnes Ingram papers date from 1898 to 1996 and measure 2.5 linear inches. The papers consist of an obituary, a memorial service program, and a birthday book. The birthday book contains the birth dates and wedding anniversaries of Ingram's friends and family, as well as photographs and some inserts. Most of the photographs are undated. Before she died, Ingram gave the birthday book to her friend Katherine Mull Falvey, saying "I can't burn it and I won't let anybody else do it." Most of the entries in the book have been written by Ingram, though Falvey later updated her own birth date entry after she married Ralph Zastrow. She also added a picture of Ingram's grandsons, John and Paul Ingram.
Katherine Falvey Zastrow papers (IWA)

Friend of Frances Barnes Ingram

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Biographical

  • Series 1: Biographical
  • Box 1:
  • Obituary and memorial service program - 1950
  • Birthday book - 1898-1996
  • Account books (folder 2) - 1932-1948
  • Box 2:
  • Account books (folder 2) - 1949-1965
  • Box 3:
  • Account books (folder 3) - 1966-1984

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Ingram, Frances Barnes, 1870-1950

Dates:
1890-1899
20th century

Topics:
Family life
Birthdays
Wedding anniversaries
Friendship

Occupations:
Homemakers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Albia

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs