Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Madge Girard papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1972-1991
Creator: Girard, Madge Clark (1904-2000)
Extent: .50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0617
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Reflections on Girard's early life homesteading in South Dakota.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no.757 ) were donated by Joe Girard in 2001.

Preferred Citation: Madge Girard papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Madge Lula Clark was born on July 25, 1904 in Granger, Iowa to Edward Clark and Dora Hotchkiss Clark. Clark had two brothers, Harry and Avery, and a sister, Clara. In 1909 the Clark family moved to Lemmon, South Dakota. Clark was educated in country schools, graduating from Lemmon High School in 1923. In 1925, Clark married Hamilton Eugene Girard in Aberdeen, South Dakota. The couple had two children, a son, Joe, and a daughter, Beverly. The Girards moved to Des Moines, Iowa in 1939. In 1943 the family moved to Rolfe, Iowa where the Girards operated a Super Valu grocery store for many years. Hamilton Girard died in 1951. Madge Girard continued to make her home in Rolfe until 1997, when she moved to Humboldt, Iowa. Girard died on September 28, 2000.

The Madge Clark Girard papers date from 1972 to 1991 and measure 0.5 linear inches. The papers consist of a copy of a memoir Girard wrote between 1972 and 1984, with an additional passage written in 1991.  The memoir tells of Girard's childhood and early life homesteading in South Dakota. Her memories include reminiscences of the country schools she attended, church services, social gatherings, and Christmas programs. The memoir also includes information on both the Clark and Girard family histories. In addition to Girard's memoir, there is a brief synopsis of the memoir written by Margaret Richardson, Iowa Women's Archives volunteer.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.