Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Emeline Fuhrmeister letters

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1908
Creator: Fuhrmeister, Emeline
Extent: 4.00 letters.
Collection Number: IWA0613
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Widowed farmwoman who lived at the homes of her various children.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The letters are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The letters (donor no. 784) were donated by Marlene Brown and Charlotte Lehmann, in 2001.

Preferred Citation: Emeline Fuhrmeister letters, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The birth date and maiden name of Emeline Fuhrmeister are unknown. She grew up on a farm near Ely, Iowa, in the late nineteenth century and married Peter Fuhrmeister. The Fuhrmeisters raised a family on a farm in or near Benton County. After the death of her husband, Fuhrmeister lived at the homes of her grown children in various parts of the state. While staying with them, she helped with sewing and other chores. She wrote the letters in this collection to her daughter Ella Fuhrmeister Bassett. The date of Fuhrmeister's death is unknown, but was shortly before 1912.

Biographical information was obtained from the donor, Charlotte Lehman, a granddaughter of Ella Fuhrmeister.

This collection consists of four, undated letters to Mrs. Ella Bassett signed "Mother". A date of 1908 is penciled on the verso of an envelope. The letters share family news and information about Fuhrmeister's travel plans. The collection also includes a recipe for making soap written on the back of an unidentified and undated letter fragment.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1908