Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the FlaGstone: A Publication of the FG Syndrome Family Alliance newsletters

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1998-
Creator: FlaGstone: A Publication of the FG Syndrome Family Alliance
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0610
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The newsletter of the FG Syndrome Family Alliance, edited by two Iowa City women whose sons have FG syndrome.

Access: The newsletters are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The newsletters (donor no. 674) were donated by Jackie Morford in 1999 and succeeding years.

Preferred Citation: FlaGstone: A Publication of the FG Syndrome Family Alliance newsletters, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The FG Syndrome Family Alliance was founded in 1998 and published the first edition of its newsletter, FlaGstone, in October 1999. FG syndrome, first identified in 1974, is a genetic disease that is passed through females. There are severe and mild forms of the disease, which is marked by a wide range of symptoms that vary greatly from person to person. It is usually identified with "developmental delay, reduced muscle tone, disproportionate body size, a subtle combination of minor anomalies, and gastrointestinal dysfunction, usually constipation."

The Alliance was founded by a group of parents who offer support, share information, and learn more about the disease. The organization is international, with a listserve and bi-monthly newsletter sent to over 200 members. The editors of FlaGstone are Jackie Morford and her daughter Jennifer Crowl, both of whom have sons with FG syndrome. Jackie Morford was born and grew up in Ottumwa, Iowa. She has lived in Europe and Illinois but returned to Iowa City in 1987. Morford moved to Idaho in 1999.

The FlaGstone newsletters date from 1998 to the present and measure 2.5 linear inches. They consist mainly of a nearly complete set of FlaGstone, the newsletter printed by the FG Syndrome Family Alliance; only three issues are missing: #9 (June 2000), #26 (November 2002), and #39 (March/April 2005). There is no #41 in the collection because it was never issued. The folder of general information includes brochures about the FG Syndrome Family Alliance and medical and personal histories of Jackie Morford's son, Travis, and her grandson, Brenton, both of whom have FG syndrome.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: FLAGSTONE

  • Series 1: FLAGSTONE
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1998-2000
  • FlaGstone (folder 1) - 1999-2006
  • FlaGstone (folder 2) - 1999-2006

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Morford, Jackie
Crowl, Jennifer

Corporate Names:
FG Syndrome Family Alliance

Dates:
1990-1999
2000-2009

Topics:
Genetic disorders
X-linked mental retardation
Women in public life

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Newsletters