Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Days Gone By: Reminiscences of Northwest Iowa

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1992
Creator: Days Gone By: Reminiscences Of Northwest Iowa
Extent: 138.00 pages.
Collection Number: IWA0601
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Typescript of an oral history project by Sibley-Ocheyedan High School students interviewing six residents of Osceola County.

Access: "Days Gone By" is open for research.

Use: Donor does not possess copyright.

Acquisition: "Days Gone By" was donated by Mildred Christens (donor no. 555) in 1998.

Preferred Citation: "Days Gone By: Reminiscences of Northwest Iowa," Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

In May 1992, students in the oral history class at Sibley-Ocheyedan High School interviewed a family member or neighbor for a class assignment. They asked questions about childhoods on farms, church affiliation, the arrival of telephones and automobiles, and experiences during the Depression and World War Two. Each of the eighteen students transcribed their interviews, which were then collected into the volume "Days Gone By.

This collection consists of the volume "Days Gone By: Reminiscences of Northwest Iowa, A Project by Sibley-Ocheyedan High School Oral History Class," May 1992. The volume is paginated, but does not have a table of contents or index. In some cases the names of the interviewer or interviewee were not given. Many of the interviews are cursory, others include rich details.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: SCVF Sibley-Ocheyedan High School Project, "Days Gone By"

  • Series 1: SCVF Sibley-Ocheyedan High School Project, "Days Gone By"
  • Box 1:
  • Martha Zwart (Farm life)
  • Ida Hartwig (Farm life)
  • Rose Hatting (Farm life)
  • Marge McCarty (Town life)
  • Ted Schoon (Farm life)
  • Oliver Windreth (Town life)
  • Gert Kruger (Farm life)
  • Elsie Condradi (Rural school teaching)
  • Charlie and Freda Gruis (Farm life)
  • Clifford Brunk (Farm life)
  • Martha Kruse (Depression)
  • Margaret Clark (Farm life)
  • Fanny Willemsen (Farm life)
  • Phillis Dunn (Farm life)
  • Theressia Mammenga (Farm life)
  • Mildred Christians (Oklahoma childhood)
  • Anna Van Westen (Farm life)
  • Kay Slotterback (Town life)

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Topics:
Farm life
Rural conditions
City and town life

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Osceola County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Artificial collections

Browse:
Autobiographical Resources: Diaries, Memoirs and Oral Histories