Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Vera Shepard Cronkhite papers

Collection Overview
Date Span:1927-2001
Creator:Cronkhite, Vera Shepard (1906-2003)
Extent:.25 linear inches.
Collection Number:IWA0600
Repository:Iowa Women's Archives
Summary:Southwest Iowa rural schoolteacher during the 1920s and 1930s. Taught in town schools an additional 20 years.

The rural schoolteacher Vera Shepard Cronkhite was born in 1906 to Deborah and Rhea Shepard, farmers near Hastings, Iowa. She graduated from Hastings High School in 1924 and borrowed money to attend a summer institute to obtain a teacher's certificateBegin text here:Vera . She began teaching in a one-room schoolhouse the following year, quitting when she married Ralph Hall in 1928. When Ralph was unable to work the following year, she resumed work, as a telephone operator until 1932 when she again taught rural school. After the birth of a son, she stayed home for two years, returning to teach school in Hastings and Malvern, Iowa. Her husband died in 1951. She remarried in 1956, but continued working until she retired in 1971.

The papers date from 1927 to 2001 and measure less than 1 linear inch. The bulk of the collection consists of school contracts from 1927 to 1970 as well as a reminiscence of her teaching experiences. There are several related employment records and newspaper clippings.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 754) were donated by Vera Cronkhite in 2001.

Preferred Citation: Vera Shepard Cronkhite papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository:Iowa Women's Archives
Address:100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone:319-335-5068
Curator:Kären Mason
Email:lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website:http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Cronkhite, Vera Shepard, 1906-2003

Dates:
20th century
2000-2009
1920-1929
1930-1939

Topics:
Rural women
Country life

Occupations:
Teachers

Geographic Names:
Hastings (Iowa)
Malvern (Iowa)

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Memoirs

Browse:
Rural and Farm Women
Teachers and Teaching