Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Margaret Conner papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1968-
Creator: Conner, Margaret Mary
Extent: 1.00 item.
Collection Number: IWA0598
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: University of Iowa Home Economics graduate who worked as a nutritionist for the New York City Department of Public Health from 1943 to1971.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1147) were donated by Margaret Mary Conner in 2000.

Preferred Citation: Margaret Conner papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Margaret Mary Conner earned a BA in home economics from the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa) in 1934. She then earned an MS in nutrition from the State University of Iowa in 1939 and pursued additional graduate study at Columbia University. When the nutrition division of the New York City Department of Health was established in 1943, she became one of the division's first nutritionists. She was responsible for making radio broadcasts on WNYC titled "Listen to Nutrition,"" a popular mass-education program. She also taught nutrition to medical workers and served on a wartime medical board that awarded more ration points to the ill and the elderly. Conner and her staff prepared courses for school children, worked in mobile demonstration kitchens, and wrote a monthly bulletin for the city (see Department of Home Economics Newsletters, University of Iowa Department of Home Economics Records, for more information).

In 1957, Conner was honorerd by the Public Health Association of New York City for providing outstanding service in the field of nutrition. In 1962, she became the principal nutritionist for the public health nutrition program of the city of New York's Department of Health under a provisional appointment, which became permanent in 1964. During her tenure, she helped to expand prenatal nutrition programs, institute emergency pediatric services in underserved areas, and tailor nutrition programs for children with physical disabilities. She presided over the rapid expansion of the department and harnessed the energies of her staff to provide services for the new Head Start program. Conner retired in 1971.

Conner authored many departmental publications, including its history, ""Retrospect, Introspect, Prospect."" In 1963, she won the prestigious Lydia J. Roberts Essay Award offered by the American Dietetic Association for her essay, ""A History of Dietary Standards."" (Journal of the American Dietetic Association, 1963, p. 564.

The Margaret M. Conner Papers consist of a fifteen-page history titled "Retrospect, Introspect, Prospect: The Public Health Nutrition Program, Department of Health, City of New York." This work was written by Conner in 1968 to mark the twenty-fifth anniversary of the nutrition program's formal existence.

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Conner, Margaret Mary

Corporate Names:
Public Health Association of New-York
State University of Iowa

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Women
Public health

Occupations:
Nutritionists

Geographic Names:
United States -- New York -- New York City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers