Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Church Women United (Johnson County, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1963-1998
Creator: Church Women United, Johnson County
Extent: 9.25 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0597
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Johnson County, Iowa chapter of Church Women United.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 701) were donated by Jan Christensen and Marge Klem in 2001.

Preferred Citation: Church Women United (Johnson County, Iowa) records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Johnson County chapter of Church Women United (CWU) was founded in 1963. The national organization was originally named the National United Council of Church Women, but officially changed its name to Church Women United in 1967. The new name signaled a more inclusive organization that welcomed and encouraged Roman Catholic and other orthodox women to participate. The organization´s purpose statement reads: "Church Women United is a national ecumenical Christian women´s movement witnessing to unity and to faith in Jesus Christ through worship, study, action, and celebration."

Church Women United, Johnson County, has been involved in the CWU´s yearly national celebrations: May Fellowship Day, World Community Day, and World Day of Prayer. The group has also been concerned about health care and hosted a workshop in 1993 on reforming the health care system. The Johnson County chapter of CWU also took an interest in responding to victims of domestic violence.

The Church Women United, Johnson County, records date from 1963 to 1998 and measure 9.25 linear inches. The records consist of administrative materials such as correspondence with the national organization, treasurer's reports, and yearbooks, as well as two scrapbooks documenting the group's history. The scrapbooks are bound and contain photographs, newspaper clippings, handouts, brochures, bylaws, and posters. The collection contains a filmstrip and recording prepared by CWU for use among local groups to help them understand the work of CWU. The collection also contains three videocassettes. The videocassette "Gentle, Angry People" addresses women and poverty in the United States, while the other two video recordings tell the history of Church Women United and the story of a Christian Palestinian family of Beitzahour. Materials on the organization's response to the 500th anniversary of Christopher Columbus' arrival in the Americas and a health care workshop hosted by Church Women United, Johnson County, complete the collection.
Church Women United in Iowa records (IWA).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: SCRAPBOOKS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Assemblies and meetings - 1986-1998
  • Church Women United's Jubilee Historical Video [V320] - 1991
  • Columbus quincentennial packet - 1992
  • Correspondence - 1990-1998
  • "Ethical Choices: Reforming the Health Care System" workshop - 1993
  • "Gentle, Angry People" video [V319] - 1986
  • Responding to victims of domestic violence - 1991
  • Slides, unidentified and undated, "The Story of a Palestinian family of Beitzahour," undated [V321]
  • "Together, Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow" sound recording - 1972
    [shelved in record album collection]
  • Treasurer's reports - 1978-1999
  • "United Church Women at Work": Filmstrip with script, undated
  • "United Church Women at Work": Sound recording, undated
    [shelved in record album collection]
  • Yearbooks - 1981-1987
  • Miscellaneous - 1993-1999
  • Series 2: SCRAPBOOKS
  • Box 2:
  • Scrapbook - 1963-1982
  • Box 3:
  • Scrapbook - 1983-1989