Guide to the Cedar Valley Community Club (Muscatine County, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1922-2009
Creator: Cedar Valley Community Club (Muscatine County, Iowa)
Extent: 1.20 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0594
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Club formed in 1920 by rural women living near West Liberty, Iowa.

Administrative Information

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 758) were donated by Cedar Valley Community Club, in 2001.

Preferred Citation: Cedar Valley Community Club (Muscatine County, Iowa) records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

The Cedar Valley Community Club began June 11, 1920. The club was formed by rural women living near West Liberty, Iowa. The club met once a month at the homes of various members. The women were very involved in community events, fundraising, and volunteering. Club meetings were a major social event where the women could work together and become involved in the community, socialize, cultivate friendships with similar women, and share common interests such as sewing, cooking, and gardening. The club disbanded in December 2009.


Content Description

The Cedar Valley Community Club (Muscatine County, Iowa) records measure 1.2 linear feet and date from 1922-2009. They primarily consist of record books that contain minutes of meetings (1922-2009). The collection also contains a constitution of the club, an official membership record book, guest lists and registration, correspondence, annual programs, and a miscellaneous folder containing the club song and poems. Three scrapbooks provide a thorough overview of club activities, programs, parties, and officers from 1939 to 1990.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Cedar Valley Community Club (Muscatine County, Iowa)

Dates:
20th century
2000-2009

Topics:
Clubs
Women in community organization
Women in charitable work
Rural women
Country life

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Muscatine County
United States -- Iowa -- West Liberty

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Administrative records
Scrapbooks

Browse:
Rural and Farm Women
Women's Clubs and Organizations