Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mary Brubaker papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1999
Creator: Brubaker, Mary
Extent: .50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0590
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Des Moines television reporter and producer. The papers include materials about Brubaker's grandmother who worked for the Des Moines Police Department in the 1920s and 1930s.

Alternate Extent Statement: 1 audiocassette [AC307]

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been retained by the donor.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no.716) were donated by Mary Brubaker in 2000.

Preferred Citation: Mary Brubaker papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mary Brubaker was born in Des Moines and attended Kirkwood, Callanan and Roosevelt schools. She received a B.F.A. from Drake University in 1957, where she later did post-graduate work and earned a teaching certificate. In the early sixties her first opportunity in television was and 'exercise girl' on The Mary Jane Chinn Show. In 1967 she became the host and producer of The Mary Brubaker Show. For fourteen years she produced a live half-hour talk show in which she interviewed local and national celebrities and featured medical, political, home improvement and fashion news. As the first female reporter on Channel 8 Television in Des Moines, she hosted telethons, fundraisers and live broadcasts of the Drake University Relays Parades and produced weekly public affairs shows. She has been a host of WOI-Radio's 'Iowa Week' programs and a frequent speaker for non-profit agencies. She wrote one chapter in a book entitled Behind the Badge: Stories and Pictures from the DMPD (Des Moines Police Department). Her chapter, 'The Women Who Helped Keep the Peace,' tells the history of the many police women in the Des Moines force. Among these is Brubaker's grandmother, Carrie Cutler Goff, appointed police matron in 1925 and policewoman in 1932. She died in 1939. Brubaker is married to Ted Brubaker and has a son by the same name.

The Mary Brubaker papers date from1999 and measure 0.5 linear inches. They consist of a profile and postcard photograph of Mary Brubaker, original and edited copies of Brubaker's chapter, "The Women Who Helped to Keep the Peace," from the book Behind the Badge: Stories and Pictures from the DMPD, and a newspaper clipping which discusses that book. A copy of the book is shelved with printed works at the Iowa Women's Archives.
Roxanne Conlin Papers (Iowa Women's Archives)
This collection contains an audiocassette of Mary Brubaker doing a People's press conference with Roxanne Conlin in 1979. Shelved in the audiocassette collection at the Iowa Women's Archives, AC 307.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Des Moines Police Women

  • Series 1: Des Moines Police Women
  • Mary Brubaker, "The Women Who Helped to Keep the Peace" - 1999
    [shelved in SCVF and printed materials collection]

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Brubaker, Mary
Goff, Carrie Cutler

Dates:
1990-1999

Topics:
Women

Occupations:
Radio broadcasters
Television producers and directors
Policewomen

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Des Moines

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Sound recordings
Photographs