Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Neta Andrews papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1919-1922
Creator: Andrews, Neta
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0586
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary:

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 887) were donated by the University of Iowa College of Nursing in 2003.

Preferred Citation: Neta Andrews papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Neta Andrews was originally from Glidden, Iowa. As a young adult she enrolled in Army Nursing School at Camp McClellan, Alabama. Her training took her to Fort Sam Houston, Texas; Fort Sheridan, Illinois; and Jefferson Barracks, Missouri. Her studies focused on obstetrics, gynecology, and pediatrics in East St Louis, Illinois as well as psychiatry in Chicago. She graduated from the Army School of Nursing at the Walter Reed Hospital in Washington D.C., in 1921.

The Neta Andrews papers date from 1919 to 1922 and measure 2.5 linear inches. The papers primarily provide information regarding her nursing career. The correspondence consists of her acceptance into the Red Cross and a pin that was sent with the letter of congratulations. The medical literature consists of two instructional booklets about pregnancy and effective delivery practices, and an Army hospital newsletter, The Caduceus. A photograph album that apparently belonged to classmate Kay Myer depicts candid photographs of nursing students with patients at Fort Sam Houston in 1921. It also includes photographs of Neta Andrews at her Army School of Nursing Graduation in 1921 An Army Red Cross yearbook gives details on individual army nurses in 1921 as well as photographs and information on various Army hospital bases throughout the United States in that same year. The yearbook includes information about Army bases in Fort Dodge and Des Moines, Iowa and brief descriptions of Army nurses stationed there. An Army Red Cross nurse's uniform completes the collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Nursing Career
Series 2: Artifacts

  • Series 1: Nursing Career
  • Box 1:
  • Professional correspondence - 1921
  • Medical Literature - 1919
  • Photograph Album - 1921
  • Fort Sam Houston and Nursing School Graduation
  • Photograph Negatives
  • Army Red Cross Nurses Yearbook - 1921
  • Series 2: Artifacts
  • Box 2:
  • Army Red Cross Clothing
  • Dress Uniform
  • Nurses Cap and Apron