Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mrs. Dixon Alexander papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1871-1872
Creator: Alexander, Mrs. Dixon
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0584
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Correspondent for a weekly newspaper, The Fayette Leader.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been retained.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 36) were donated by Miriam Coleman in 2000.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mrs. Dixon Alexander was a correspondent for the Fayette, Iowa weekly newspaper, The Fayette Leader, in 1871-1872. The collection indicates no other information about her.

The Mrs. Dixon Alexander papers date from 1871 to 1872 and measure 1 linear inch 1 linear inch . The papers consist of Mrs. Alexander's columns from The Fayette Leader. Mrs. Alexander's weekly column in The Fayette Leader reported the comings and goings of baseball teams, babies, circuses, preachers, and hogs in the street. At times she moralized, but usually she reported business transactions, weddings, deaths, visits, and socials. Using colorful and flowery language, she expanded upon material normally found in personals columns.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Mrs. Dixon Alexander

  • Series 1: Mrs. Dixon Alexander
  • Newspaper columns - 1871-1872
    Shelved in SCVF

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Alexander, Mrs. Dixon

Dates:
1870-1879

Topics:
Women in journalism

Occupations:
Columnists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Fayette
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers