Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Bernadine Solberg papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1855-1980
Creator: Solberg, Bernadine (1912-2007)
Extent: 5.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0579
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Engineering clerk, weaver, photographer, and traveler from Boone, Iowa.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1142) were donated by Jenean A. Arnold in 2008.

Preferred Citation: Bernadine Solberg papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Bernadine Fullerton Solberg, engineering clerk, weaver, photographer, and traveler, was born in 1912 in Boone, Iowa, to Lulu Grace Creveling Fullerton and William J. Fullerton. Lulu Grace Creveling (1879-1972), known as Grace, was a knitter and weaver and William Fullerton (?-1954) ran a grocery store and in the 1920s became an accountant for an auto dealership. Grace Fullerton painted porcelain and refinished antiques, earning some income from these skills. They were married in 1900 and had one child, Bernadine.

Bernadine Fullerton graduated from Boone High School in 1930. She attended Boyles College in Omaha, Nebraska, and later earned a BA in Home Economics from Iowa State College, now Iowa State University, in 1934. While in college, she joined the Delta Zeta Sorority. Bernadine Fullerton worked for the Ft. Dodge, Des Moines, and Southern Railway Company from 1949 to 1968 and the Chicago and North Western Transportation Company from 1968 to 1977. Fullerton held the position of assistant chief clerk of engineering. She retired in 1977. Throughout her adult life, Fullerton participated in a variety of leisureactivities including the National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Club, Delta Zeta, Masonic and Shrine organizations, weaving, sewing, photography, and traveling.

In 1955, Bernadine Fullerton married Edwin Solberg, the son of Anna (Vike) and Lawrence A. Solberg. Fullerton and Solberg were members of the Boone camera club and shared many interests, including a love of travel in their Airstream trailer.

Bernadine Solberg died in 2007.

The Bernadine Solberg papers date from 1855 to 2007 and measure 5.5 linear feet. The papers are arranged in seven series: Biographical, Grace Fullerton, Education, Edwin Solberg, Anna and Lawrence Solberg, Organizations and interests, and Cards and correspondence.

The Biographical series (1868-2007) includes information on the Fullerton family history and Solberg's childhood, including a book of messages and autographs from childhood friends. The financial materials include Solberg's employment records and paycheck stubs. Newspaper clippings are articles of local and family interest.

The Grace Fullerton series (1889-1972) largely consists of correspondence and letters written on or in greeting cards from friends and family. Fullerton's account books and membership cards are also included. An undated autograph book given to Grace by Maud Doak contains dried flowers and verses of poetry. Programs and newspaper clippings from the funeral services of Grace and William Fullerton complete the series.

The Education series (1918-2005) contains materials related to Bernadine Solberg's middle school, high school, and college education. Included is a notebook that contains dried flowers and bird watching notes. The Boone High School materials consist of yearbooks and reunion planning materials. The Iowa State College documents include photographs, alumni information, and Solberg's graduation program.

The Edwin Solberg series (1855-2005) consists primarily of letters and cards. Also included are Edwin Solberg's 1943 diary, membership cards, and a relative's birth certificate written in Swedish dated 1855. The childhood materials include Edwin Solberg's paintings and drawings as well as Valentine's Day cards. The Anna and Lawrence Solberg series (1920-1982) includes materials related to Edwin Solberg's parents, such as Lawrence Solberg's World War I United States Army discharge certificate and Anna Solberg's Circle No. 10 minutes, a Christian women's organization.

The Organizations and interests series (1920s-2007) consists of materials related to Bernadine Solberg's interests and leisure activities such as advertisements, brochures, and newsletters. Included are World War II Red Cross materials, weaving fiber and thread samples, and photographs from the Solbergs' travels.

The Cards and correspondence series (1922-2005) includes letters and cards from friends and family of Bernadine Solberg. Christmas cards make up a substantial part of the collection and often include photographs. Most of the correspondence between Ed Solberg and Bernadine Solberg consists of Valentine's Day, birthday, and anniversary cards. Also included are letters from Grace Fullerton and Maude Fulton, a friend. Much of the correspondence reflects the family's travel and leisure activities.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: GRACE FULLERTON - (Bernadine Solberg's mother)
Series 3: EDUCATION
Series 4: EDWIN SOLBERG
Series 5: ANNA AND LAWRENCE SOLBERG
Series 6: ORGANIZATIONS AND INTERESTS
Series 7: CARDS AND CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1865-2005
  • Family history - 1913
  • Christmas scrapbook - undated
  • Botany notebook - undated
  • "The Aldine Speller, Grades 5-8" - 1916
  • Autograph book - 1926
  • Employment - 1941-1981 and undated
  • Finances, general - 1957-1986
  • Finances, account books - 1939-1954
  • Finances, life insurance policies - 1944-1948
  • Finances, receipts - 1947-1962
  • Newspaper clippings - 1958-1998
  • Box 2:
  • Retirement - 1977
  • Auction of family home - 2007
  • Series 2: GRACE FULLERTON - (Bernadine Solberg's mother)
  • Box 2:
  • Biographical - 1915-1970 and undated
  • Correspondence from others - 1889-1971
  • Correspondence from others - 1889-1971
  • Correspondence from others - 1889-1971
  • Correspondence from others - 1889-1971
  • Correspondence from Bernadine, Edwin, and dogs - 1945-1967 and undated
  • Correspondence from Maude Fulton - 1946-1965 and undated
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence, 50th anniversary cards - 1950
  • Correspondence, sympathy cards - 1954
  • Correspondence, sympathy cards - 1954
  • Correspondence, flower cards - 1954, 1972
  • Correspondence, Christmas cards - 1955-1968
  • Correspondence, Christmas cards - 1955-1968
  • Correspondence, Christmas cards - 1955-1968
  • Box 4:
  • Invoices and receipts - 1925-1962 and undated
  • Wills - 1925-1952
  • Autograph book - undated
  • Recipe book - undated
  • Loose recipes - 1940-1944 and undated
  • "Beloved Memories" funeral books - 1954, 1972
  • Series 3: EDUCATION
  • Box 4:
  • Flower and bird book - 1925
  • Report cards - 1918-1934
  • Box 5:
  • Boone High School, reunion scrapbook - 1930-1995
  • Boone High School, 1930 yearbook - 1930-2005
  • Boone High School, yearbooks - 1940-1941
  • Boone High School, reunions - 1929-1985 and undated
  • Iowa State College, general - 1934-1973 and undated
  • Iowa State College, memory book - 1930-1934
  • Iowa State College, "Reminiscences of the Class of 1934" - 1984
  • Series 4: EDWIN SOLBERG
  • Box 6:
  • Biographical - 1855-2005
  • Childhood - 1940-1944
  • Wartime correspondence - 1942-1943
  • Miscellaneous cards - 1986-1995
  • Sympathy cards - 2005
  • Series 5: ANNA AND LAWRENCE SOLBERG
  • Box 6:
  • Biographical - 1920-1978 and undated
  • Marriage certificate - 1921 [shelved in map case]
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1922-1979
  • Financial records - 1924-1943
  • Circle No. 10 meeting minutes - 1952-1956
  • "Spirit of Thanksgiving," a memoir of Eagle Grove, Iowa - 1982
  • Series 6: ORGANIZATIONS AND INTERESTS
    The Organizations and interests series (1920s-2007) consists of materials related to Bernadine Solberg's interests and leisure activities such as advertisements, brochures, and newsletters. Included are World War II Red Cross materials, weaving fibe
  • Box 7:
  • General - 1972-2005 and undated
  • Consumer goods ephemera - 1920s-1970s
  • Consumer goods ephemera - 1920s-1970s
  • Boone history - 1931-2006
  • World War II ephemera - 1942-1945
  • Box 8:
  • Delta Zelta, general - 1943-2003
  • Delta Zelta, newspaper clippings - 1933 and undated
  • Delta Zelta, events - 1940-1971 and undated
  • Delta Zelta, alumni records - 1941-1956
  • Delta Zelta, newsletters - 1941-1971
  • Delta Zelta, financial records and receipts - 1943-1959
  • Travel, receipts - 1937-1997 and undated
  • Travel, souvenirs - 1937-1979 and undated
  • Travel, correspondence - 1959-1996
  • Travel, writings - undated
  • Travel, Wally Byam Caravan Club International - 1999-2007
  • Travel, railroads - 1953-2004
  • National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Club, Boone, Iowa - 1940-1951
  • Photography, general - 1952-1982
  • Photography, competitions/awards - 1953-1971
  • Box 9:
  • Photography, instruction manuals/receipts - 1958-1966
  • Photography, Boone "Y" Camera Club - 1958-1972 and undated
  • Photography, North Central Camera Club Council - 1964-2006 and undated
  • Weaving/knitting, general - 1945-1982 and undated
  • Weaving/knitting, samples - 1960-1980 and undated
  • Weaving/knitting, Iowa Federation of Handweavers and Spinners - 1965-1993
  • Weaving/knitting, Midwest Weavers Association - 1965-2004
  • Weaving/knitting, Prayer Shawl Ministry - 2004-2006
  • Dogs - 1967-2006
  • Box 10:
  • Masonic and Shrine organizations, general - 1968-2005 and undated
  • Masonic and Shrine organizations, membership - 1965-1974
  • Masonic and Shrine organizations, constitution/by-laws - 1967-1993 and undated
  • Masonic and Shrine organizations, event programs - 1968-2005
  • Masonic and Shrine organizations, meetings - 1968-1969 and undated
  • Masonic and Shrine organizations, newsletters - 1987-2005
  • Masonic and Shrine organizations, membership lists - 1998-2007 and undated
  • Series 7: CARDS AND CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 10:
  • General - 1922-1969
  • General - 1922-1969
  • General - 1922-1969
  • Box 11:
  • General - 1970-2005
  • General - 1970-2005
  • Christmas - 1948-1966
  • Christmas - 1948-1966
  • Christmas - 1948-1966
  • Christmas - 1948-1966
  • Christmas - 1948-1966
  • Box 12:
  • Christmas - 1967-2002
  • Christmas - 1967-2002
  • Christmas - 1967-2002
  • Christmas - 1967-2002
  • Christmas - 1967-2002
  • Christmas - 1967-2002
  • Birthday cards - 1947-1997 and undated
  • Anniversary cards - 1950-1997 and undated
  • Get well cards - 1959
  • Box 13:
  • Get well cards - 1969-1972
  • Sympathy cards - 1978, 1983
  • From Ed Solberg - 1953-1966 and undated
  • To Ed Solberg from Bernadine - 1954-1969 and undated
  • Fannie Maisch and Nancy Elsey - 1941-1981
  • Dorothy Walton - 1941-2005
  • Marianne Pruess - 1944-1978
  • Box 14:
  • Florence Sander - 1950-1970
  • Mary Hebden - 1950-1979
  • Bea Flanagan - 1955-1981
  • Grace Fullerton - 1958 and undated
  • Maude Fulton - 1972-1973