Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the March for Women's Lives, Iowa Delegation, records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 2004
Creator: March For Women's Lives, Iowa Delegation
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0578
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: On April 25, 2004, pro-choice activists went to Washington, D.C., to participate in the March for Women's Lives, a protest against the pro-life policies of President George W. Bush's administration.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in box 1

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 1140) were donated by Nickol Himschoot in 2004.

Preferred Citation: March for Women's Lives, Iowa Delegation, records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

On April 25, 2004, pro-choice activists went to Washington, D.C., to participate in the March for Women's Lives, a protest against the pro-life policies of President George W. Bush's administration. The march was sponsored by many women's rights and abortion rights organizations including the National Organization for Women, Feminist Majority, NARAL Pro-Choice America, and the Planned Parenthood Federation of America. Estimates of participation ranged from 800,000 to 1.15 million, making it the largest march in U.S. history.

As part of a women's studies practicum, University of Iowa student Nickol Himschoot worked as the marketing/fundraising intern for the Iowa City march coalition, sponsored by the NARAL Pro-Choice America Iowa division. Himschoot organized local concerts and art shows, and sold t-shirts to raise travel funds for students to attend the march. Approximately 500 people from eastern Iowa attended the March for Women's Lives, including about 150 from Iowa City .

The March for Women's Lives, Iowa Delegation Records date from 2004 and measure 2.5 linear inches. The collection includes Himschoot's essays for her women's studies practicum, which describe the fundraising work she performed for the internship. The fundraising records include brochures, meeting agendas, flyers, logo drafts, t-shirt ideas, and the Choice since 1973 t-shirt. The transportation folder contains schedules, guides for participants, bus activities, release forms, and evaluations of the trip by participants. Materials from the march include tickets, buttons, maps, and a list of pro-choice chants. The newspaper articles include coverage of the march from the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Iowa City Press-Citizen. The series concludes with Himschoot's personal color photographs of the march.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: General

  • Series 1: General
  • Box 1:
  • "Choice since 1973" t-shirt - 2004
  • NIckol Himschoot Women's Studies practicum - 2004
  • Fundraising - 2004
  • T-shirt design and sales - 2004
  • Transportation itinerary - 2004
  • At the march - 2004
  • Newspaper articles - 2004
  • Photographs - 2004