Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Book Review Club (Manchester, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1938-2007
Creator: Book Review Club (Manchester, IA)
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0575
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The club was a social group gathered in homes to review books.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 1135) were donated by Pat Swanson in 2007.

Preferred Citation: Book Review Club (Manchester, Iowa) records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Book Review Club of Manchester, Iowa was founded circa 1938. In October 1938, the Book Review Club joined the City Federation, an organization which promoted civic projects throughout Manchester. Membership in the Book Review Club was limited to eighteen. Club members reviewed both fiction and non-fiction works and many of the books reviewed were written by women, or were about women. The Book Club was also a social group, with members hosting meetings at their homes, and organizing "Secret Pals" during the holiday season. The group disbanded on August 27, 2007, after unsuccessful efforts to recruit new members.

The Book Review Club (Manchester, IA) records date from 1938 to 2007 and measure 5 linear inches. The bulk of the collection is made up minutes and program books spanning the entirety of the club's existence (with one gap for program books). Book lists can be found in club minutes from 1956-1957, 1989-1994 and 1994-1995. Minutes occasionally include the book reviews given at club meetings.
Tuesday Nighters (Manchester, IA) records.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Club records

  • Series 1: Club records
  • Box 1:
  • History, undated
  • Constitution and bylaws - 1938
  • Minutes - 1938-2007
  • Minutes - 1938-2007
  • Minutes - 1938-2007
  • Minutes - 1938-2007
  • Program books - 1979-2007

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Book Review Club (Manchester, Iowa)

Dates:
20th century
2000-2009

Topics:
Book clubs
Books and reading

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Manchester

Genre/Form of Materials:
Administrative records
Archives

Browse:
Women's Clubs and Organizations