Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ever Ready Club (Baxter, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1926-1987
Creator: Ever Ready Club (Baxter, Iowa)
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0573
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The Ever Ready Club served as a social and educational organization for women in the community

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 1106) were donated by Jean Robinson in 2007.

Preferred Citation: Ever Ready Club, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Ever Ready Club of Baxter, Iowa, was established in 1926 as the Women's Auxillary No. 40 of the Farmer's Union. In 1933, the club was renamed the Ever Ready Club. The Ever Ready Club served as a social and educational organization for women in the community. Members read inspirational readings and presented lessons on topics such as American history, hostessing, and home management.

The records of the Ever Ready Club of Baxter, Iowa, date from 1932 to 1987 and measure 2.5 linear inches. The collection does not have records from 1926-1932, which were lost prior to donation. Activity and lesson materials used in meetings, primarily from the mid 1950s to the early 1960s, include news and journal clippings on home economics, advice columns, anecdotes, quizzes, and American history.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Ever Ready Club

  • Series 1: Ever Ready Club
  • Box 1:
  • Club history - 1956-1987
  • Local events - 1953-1963
  • Lesson materials - 1945-1978
  • Home economics - 1949-1982
  • Activities - 1949-1982
  • Crafts

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
Ever Ready Club (Baxter, Iowa)

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Clubs
Rural women

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Baxter

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Administrative records

Browse:
Women's Clubs and Organizations