Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the West Lucas Women's Club (Johnson County, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1923-1976
Creator: West Lucas Women's Club (Johnson County, Iowa)
Extent: 7.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0572
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The club initially met on the second Tuesday of the month for conversation, a program, and refreshments. Later, meetings were held bimonthly and were dedicated to study, roll call, a program, and refreshments.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 1094) were donated by Mary Ann Thomas Park in 2006.

Preferred Citation: West Lucas Women's Club  records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The West Lucas Women's Club of Johnson County, Iowa, was founded in December 1920. The club met on the second Tuesday of the month for conversation, a program, and refreshments. Later, meetings were held bimonthly and were dedicated to study, roll call, a program, and refreshments. The club colors were lavender and yellow. The club flowers were wild aster and goldenrod.

The West Lucas Women's Club records date from 1923 to 1976 and measure 7.5 linear inches. The records document the social club's activities, and the lives and activities of women in this rural Johnson County township immediately west of Iowa City.

The minute books contain minutes of each meeting, roll call lists of members and a record of dues paid. Handmade programs, often in lavender and yellow, have construction paper covers and mimeographed or carbon copied pages.

Correspondence includes the membership certificate from the national club, the constitution of the club, thank you notes from GIs and others, orders for towels from the school for the blind, birthday lists, the bank statement showing the club's account closed, and correspondence removed from the 1961 minute book. Song lyrics contain the club song, Christmas carols, and other works used during the entertainment portion of the meetings. The scrapbook, a three-ring binder, contains newspaper clippings, annual club program books, meeting notes, a handwritten history regarding the club's formation, and other memorabilia.
Anna E. Thomas (not yet available)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ACTIVITIES

  • Series 1: ACTIVITIES
  • Box 1:
  • Minute books (4 folders) - 1929- 1973
  • Programs - 1923-1955
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence (2 folders) - 1926-1976
  • Song lyrics, undated
  • Scrapbook - 1938-1942

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Corporate Names:
West Lucas Women's Club (Johnson County, Iowa)

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Clubs

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Johnson County

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Administrative records
Scrapbooks
Correspondence

Browse:
Women's Clubs and Organizations