Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Theristrai Club (Marion, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1871-2004
Creator: Theristriai Club (Marion, Iowa)
Extent: 1.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0571
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Marion, Iowa, study club that was founded in 1867.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 4

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 1093) were donated by Pat Klopfenstein in 2007.

Preferred Citation: Theristrai Club (Marion, Iowa) records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Theristriai Club of Marion, Iowa was founded in April 1867. In its early days the club was dedicated to the study of classics, drama, architecture, and Shakespeare. After the turn of the 20th century, the study of psychology, public service, education, electrification, and home economics became the club's focus. Serious study gradually gave way to social affairs such as club tableaux, picnics, teas, and dinners. The Theristriai Club is a member of the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs.

The Theristriai Club records date from 1871 to 2003 and measure 1.75 linear feet. Minutes, handwritten in bound journals or ledgers, (most of which include additional loose papers in the front cover), date from 1871 to 1999, with a gap from 1872 to 1891. Two scrapbooks contain clippings, photographs and programs for each meeting; the 1930-1931 scrapbook received an Award of Excellence from the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs. Newspaper clippings include local coverage of club social activities and fundraising events. A comprehensive club history, written on the occasion of the club's 100th anniversary in 1967, is located in the anniversary folder. Programs booklets outline the study theme for the year, and provide lists active, inactive, deceased, and committee members. Programs are, for the most part, professionally produced with handmade finished details. The collection does not include programs for the years1908-10, 1949-50, 1951-53, and 1962-63. Two books on parliamentary procedure complete the collection. Several photographs and negatives feature women's gatherings and area homes.
OOP (Marion, Iowa) records (IWA): In 1891 Theristriai split into two organizations, one called the Theristriai, the other OOP.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CLUB RECORDS

  • Series 1: CLUB RECORDS
  • Box 1:
  • Constitution and by-laws - 1969
  • Minutes (8 folders) - 1871, 1891-1934
  • Box 2:
  • Minutes (6 folders) - 1934-1989
  • Box 3:
  • Minutes - 1990-1999
  • Scrapbooks (2 folders) - 1929-1931
  • Newspaper clippings - 1904-1991
  • Corrpesondence - 1958-1991
  • 100th anniversary - 1967