Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mildred Van Wyngarden papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1931-1940
Creator: Van Wyngarden, Mildred (1918-2005)
Extent: 6.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0568
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Rural school teacher who taught near Monroe, Iowa.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1012) were donated by Jim Laughlin in 2005.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mildred Van Wyngarden, teacher, was born in 1918, and grew up on a farm near Prairie City, Iowa. She attended school in Des Moines Township, and graduated from Prairie City High School in 1935. Van Wyngarden also attended Central College in Pella, Iowa, where she was a member of the Delphi Literary Society and the Young Women´s Christian Association, and trained to become a teacher. During her school years, Van Wyngarden participated in the International Society of Christian Endeavor, and was the president of the local chapter in 1936. She attended several Christian Endeavor conventions and the State Young People´s Conference, and was a convention delegate for the Iowa Youth Prohibition Convention in 1931. Following her college graduation in 1937, Van Wyngarden taught at Cottage Grove Rural School near Monroe, Iowa, and Killduff School. During this time, she continued to attend conventions and to participate in the Christian Endeavor society, and joined the Lucky Seven Club in Killduff, Iowa. Van Wyngarden passed away in 2005.

The Mildred Van Wyngarden papers date from 1931 to 1940 and measure 6 linear inches. The collection consists of three scrapbooks compiled by Van Wyngarden in the 1930s. The road trip scrapbook acts as a travelogue for a road trip through the western United States that Van Wyngarden took with five other teachers in the summer of 1940. It consists of photographs, brochures, and detailed descriptions of the daily activities of the group. The school scrapbook, which Van Wyngarden annotated, contains materials relating to her schooling from middle school through Central College.

The travel and convention scrapbook includes clippings, photographs, and artifacts. Also included is a newspaper clipping announcing the death of her brother Philip Ray Van Wyngarden, a US Navy seaman first class stationed in Manila Bay in the Philippines, several loose group photographs of the participants in the Southeast Iowa Disciples of Christ Young People's Conference, and materials pertaining to Van Wyngarden's teaching career. A felt cap from one of the Christian Endeavor conventions Van Wyngarden attended completes the collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Road trip scrapbook, June-July - 1940
  • School scrapbook - 1931-1937
  • Box 2:
  • Travel and convention scrapbook - 1936-1940
  • Felt cap, undated