Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Jessie Hornsby papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1876-1993
Creator: Hornsby, Jessie (1917-1993)
Extent: 7.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0564
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: French professor at the University of Iowa who was born in Algiers, North Africa, and worked for the British Broadcasting Corporation in England as an intelligence assistant during World War II.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1027) were donated by Roger Hornsby in 2006.

Preferred Citation: Jessie Hornsby papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Jessie Gillespie Hornsby, French professor and department head at the University of Iowa, was born in Algiers, North Africa, to William and Jessie Gillespie in 1917. She was educated in Belgium and Paris and grew up speaking French. In 1939, Gillespie earned her BA from the University of Toronto. During World War II, she worked for the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) in London, England, as an Intelligence Assistant analyzing public opinion and reactions to BBC broadcasts in France and its colonies. Hornsby earned her MA in 1949 and her PhD in 1956, both from the University of Toronto. While there, Gillespie taught French language and literature but was told that she could not become a professor because she was a woman. In 1956, Gillespie accepted a teaching position at the University of Iowa, where she rose to the rank of assistant professor before returning to teach at the University of Toronto in 1959 for one year. She married Roger Hornsby, whom she met in Iowa City, and returned to the University of Iowa in 1960.

Jessie Hornsby's scholarly work includes two published books (one of which was translated into Spanish) and several articles on Georges Bernanos as well as work on the literature of Marcel Proust. She advanced to the position of professor at the University of Iowa in 1973, and was the chairman of the French and Italian Department from 1981 to 1984. In 1986, she became a professor emeritus. Hornsby died in Iowa City in 1993.

The Jessie Hornsby papers date from 1876 to 1993 and measure 7.5 linear inches. Much of the collection consists of French-language materials. The bulk of the collection is composed of materials pertaining to Hornsby's research on the works of Marcel Proust and Georges Bernanos. It includes published works, lectures and drafts of manuscripts, and her PhD dissertation, "Le Tragique dans l'oeuvre de Georges Bernanos." Hornsby's notes on Proust consist of both her own observations on his body of work and typed passages quoted from other sources. Reviews of Hornsby's first book, which was adapted from her PhD dissertation and published in 1960, may be found within the collection. The book itself, Le Tragique dans l'ouevre de Georges Bernanos, is held by the University of Iowa Libraries.

The collection includes a few personal items, two unidentified black and white photographs, and Hornsby's curriculum vitae. Materials regarding her parents, Jessie and William Gillespie (including their original marriage certificate, which was issued in Canada, and a copy of William's birth certificate), may be found in the collection.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical information - 1952-1993
  • Correspondence - 1941-1981
  • Grade report - 1932-1935
  • Parents - 1876-1956
  • Photographs, undated
  • Work on Georges Bernanos: "Le Tragique dans l'oeuvre de Georges Bernanos" - 1956
    PhD dissertation, University of Toronto
  • Work on Georges Bernanos: Reviews of "Le Tragique dans l'oeuvre de Georges Bernanos" - 1960-1962
  • Work on Georges Bernanos: "Georges Bernanos" (French draft of work to be published in Spanish) - 1965
  • Work on Georges Bernanos: "Monsieur Ouine: roman nouveau ou nouveau roman?" - 1971
    "Courrier Georges Bernanos," pp. 36-42
  • Miscellaneous
  • Marcel Proust notes, undated (folder 1)
  • Marcel Proust notes, undated (folder 2)
  • Box 2:
  • Marcel Proust notes, undated (folder 3)
  • Marcel Proust notes, undated (folder 4)
  • "Theatre and Temple Imagery and Theme in Proust's 'A la Recherche du Temps Perdu'" lecture May 5 - 1969
  • "Theatre and Temple Imagery and Theme in Proust's 'A la Recherche du Temps Perdu'" drafts of unpublished paper, undated (folder 1)
  • "Theatre and Temple Imagery and Theme in Proust's 'A la Recherche du Temps Perdu'" drafts of unpublished paper, undated (folder 2)