Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Johnie Hammond papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1970-2006
Creator: Hammond, Johnie (1932-)
Extent: 5.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0563
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Democratic representative and senator in the Iowa legislature.

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts and photographs in Box 13

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1026) were donated by Johnie Hammond in 2006.

Preferred Citation: Johnie Hammond papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Johnie Wright Hammond, a Democratic state representative and senator in the Iowa legislature, was born in 1932 in Eupora, Mississippi, to John D. and Eunice Scogin Wright. John Wright, a mechanic, was killed in a train accident on the same day as Johnie Wright's birth. After her husband's death, Eunice Wright moved with her three daughters from Mississippi to Texas to live with her grandfather, with whom Johnie Wright became very close. Wright attended elementary school in Clarkwood, Texas, and high school in both Robstown and Pleasanton, Texas, graduating in 1949. She then attended the University of Texas for two years and considered majoring in home economics. During this time, she met her future husband, Earl Hammond, at the University where he was completing an MA in chemistry. After marrying in 1951, the couple moved to Minnesota where they both attended the University of Minnesota. In 1953, Earl Hammond completed a PhD in agricultural biochemistry and Johnie Hammond finished her BA in sociology. The couple then moved to Ames, Iowa, where Earl Hammond joined the faculty of Iowa Agricultural College (now Iowa State University). The Hammonds had four children, Bruce, Linda, Pamela and Christopher.

In Ames, Hammond became active in many different organizations. She began to volunteer at the Ames First Baptist Church in the 1950s. Throughout the 1950s and 1960s, Hammond worked on many different anti-poverty programs and served as an advocate for local women on welfare through the Aid to Dependent Children Council. She joined the League of Women Voters in 1969 and helped found the Committee for Criminal Justice (later called the Center for Creative Justice) in 1972. In 1974, Hammond was elected to the Story County Board of Supervisors, where she served one four-year term. Hammond returned to school and received a BBA in management from Iowa State University in 1981 and also graduated from the Mercy-Harvard Executive Program in Health Policy and Management in 1983. In 1982, Hammond was elected the first woman to represent her district in the Iowa House of Representatives. She served in the House for twelve years, and her positions included vice-chair of the State Government Committee, chair of Health and Human Rights Appropriations, and chair and ranking member of Human Services Appropriations. In 1994, Hammond was elected to the Iowa Senate and served two four-year terms, where she worked on the Appropriations, Education, Human Resources, Judiciary, and Labor Committees. Hammond advocated for health care, prison reform, women's and family issues, welfare and labor rights during her legislative career. Hammond retired from the Iowa Senate in 2003.

The Johnie Hammond papers date from 1970 to 2006 and measure 5 linear feet. The papers are arranged in nine series: Biographical Information, Board of Supervisors, Correspondence, Speeches, Bills, Legislative Press, Legislative Campaigns, Research Files, and Artifacts. The bulk of the collection consists of the correspondence and research files.

The Biographical Information series (2006) contains a biographical information form completed by Hammond, her resume, and a campaign biography. The Board of Supervisors series (1970-1978) contains materials pertaining to Hammond's campaigns and work on the Story County Board of Supervisors.

The rest of the collection relates to Hammond's career in the legislature. The Correspondence series (1982-2002) contains letters to Hammond from her constituents, voicing their opinions and concerns on a wide range of topics. Some of Hammond's responses to these letters are included, usually attached to the constituent letter.

The Speech Research series (1996-2002 and undated) includes topical research files for five of Hammond's speeches. They include notes, newspaper clippings and pamphlets. Some of them include a copy of the speech. The Speeches series (1984-2003 and undated) includes approximately fifty speeches Hammond delivered to the legislature and groups such as the League of Women Voters, labor unions, health organizations, prison reformers, churches, and students. Some of the topics include health care reform, prison reform, foster care, welfare reform and poverty. Hammond's farewell address from 2002 is also included. The speeches are arranged chronologically.

The Bills series (1983-2002) includes the official sponsor's copy of bills and resolutions written and introduced to the legislature by Hammond. Some of the topics addressed in these bills are tobacco, worker's rights, sex discrimination, juvenile crime, health, sex offenders and human services.

The Legislative Press series (1982-2002) includes local newspaper clippings concerning Hammond's bills and other legislative issues. Many contain quotes from Hammond.

The Legislative Campaign series (1982-2002) includes brochures, mass mailings to constituents, newspaper clippings, and fundraising materials from Hammond's campaigns for representative and senator.

The Research Files series (1981-2003) contains Hammond's research on approximately ninety topics related to legislative bills and controversial issues. They include newspaper and magazine articles, informational pamphlets from special interest groups and organizations, and some letters. The files are arranged alphabetically.

The Artifacts series (undated) contains a decorated box lid, created by Hammond's pages. This was a tradition in the Iowa legislature for packing files at the end of every session.
A Political Dialogue: Iowa's Women Legislators
Oral history with Johnie Hammond

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 4: SPEECH RESEARCH
Series 5: SPEECHES
Series 6: BILLS
Series 7: LEGISLATIVE PRESS
Series 8: LEGISLATIVE CAMPAIGNS
Series 9: RESEARCH FILES
Series 10: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • General - 2006
  • Series 2: BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
  • Box 1:
  • Newspaper clippings - 1970-1978
  • Miscellaneous - 1971-1978
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • General (folder 1) - 1983-1985
  • General (folder 2) - 1983-1985
  • General (folder 3) - 1983-1985
  • General (folder 4) - 1983-1985
  • General (folder 5) - 1983-1985
  • Box 2:
  • General (folder 1) - 1985-1991
  • General (folder 2) - 1985-1991
  • General (folder 3) - 1985-1991
  • General (folder 4) - 1985-1991
  • General (folder 5) - 1985-1991
  • Box 3:
  • General (folder 1) - 1990-1994
  • General (folder 2) - 1990-1994
  • General (folder 3) - 1990-1994
  • General (folder 4) - 1990-1994
  • General (folder 5) - 1990-1994
  • Box 4:
  • General (folder 1) - 1994-2000
  • General (folder 2) - 1994-2000
  • General (folder 3) - 1994-2000
  • General (folder 4) - 1994-2000
  • General (folder 5) - 1994-2000
  • General (folder 6) - 1994-2000
  • General (folder 7) - 1994-2000
  • General (folder 8) - 1994-2000
  • General (folder 9) - 1994-2000
  • Box 5:
  • General (folder 1) - 2000-2002
  • General (folder 2) - 2000-2002
  • Series 4: SPEECH RESEARCH
  • Box 5:
  • Foster care, undated
  • Mother's Day rally - 1996, 2002
  • Health/medicine, undated
  • Child abuse prevention - 2002
  • Elderly - 1997
  • Series 5: SPEECHES
  • Box 5:
  • General (folder 1) - 1984-2003
  • General (folder 2) - 1984-2003
  • General (folder 3) - 1984-2003
  • Series 6: BILLS
  • Box 5:
  • General (folder 1) - 1983-1993
  • General (folder 2) - 1983-1993
  • General (folder 3) - 1983-1993
  • Box 6:
  • General (folder 1) - 1994-2002
  • General (folder 2) - 1994-2002
  • General (folder 3) - 1994-2002
  • General (folder 3) - 1994-2002
  • General (folder 4) - 1994-2002
  • General (folder 5) - 1994-2002
  • General (folder 6) - 1994-2002
  • General (folder 7) - 1994-2002
  • Series 7: LEGISLATIVE PRESS
  • Box 6:
  • General (folder 1) - 1982-2002
  • General (folder 2) - 1982-2002
  • General (folder 3) - 1982-2002
  • Series 8: LEGISLATIVE CAMPAIGNS
  • Box 7:
  • General - 1982-2002
  • Series 9: RESEARCH FILES
  • Box 7:
  • Abortion (folder 1) - 1986-1998
  • Abortion (folder 2) - 1986-1998
  • Adoption - 1990s
  • Attorney general opinions - 1985-2000
  • Bottle bill - 1994
  • Budget shortfall - 2002
  • Bundled services - 1999
  • Campaign finances - 1991-1996
  • Caucus reports - 2002
  • Charitable choice - 2001
  • Chemical castration - 1997-1998
  • Church-state - 1988-2003
  • Box 8:
  • Childcare - 1995
  • Child custody, undated
  • Child support - 1996
  • Child welfare - 1999-2000
  • Comparable worth, undated
  • Constitutional amendments - 1995
  • Death penalty - 1997
  • Earned income credit - 1991
  • Elderly services - 1989
  • ERA - 1993
  • Ethics - 1992, 1999
  • Fetal rights, undated
  • Food bank - 1993
  • Foster care - 1992
  • Gay marriage - 1998
  • Gay rights - 2001
  • Gender balance, undated
  • Gun control - 1993-2001
  • Health: Canadian - 1991-1992
  • Box 9:
  • Health: Endorsements - 1991-1992
  • Health: Historical perspective, undated
  • Health: Letters - 1991
  • Health: Hammond transparencies and speeches - 1991-1994
  • Health: Medicaid speech, Albany - 1991
  • Health: Medical school, undated
  • Health: Primary care - 1992
  • Health: Womens - 1991
  • Higher education - 1994-1995
  • Hog lots - 1995-1998
  • Homeless - 1987-1989
  • Box 10:
  • Insurance, non-gender - 1983-2000
  • Iowa Public Eemployees Retirement System - 2002
  • ISU foundation - 1992-2001
  • Job training/women - 1987
  • Juvenile crime - 1996-1998
  • Labor - 1981-1989
  • Latchkey kids - 1982-1983
  • Legislative reports - 1981-1985
  • Marijuana - 1982
  • Mediation - 1996
  • Medicaid abortions - 1984-1990
  • Medical malpractice - 1985-1993
  • Mental illness (AMI) - 1984
  • Midwifery/nurses - 1990
  • Mitchellville women's prison, - 1994-2001
  • Mount Pleasant Mental Health Institute - 1990-1991
  • Nursing homes - 1988-1993
  • Poverty - 1980-2000
  • Public records - 1981
  • Population - 1984-1990
  • Box 11:
  • Racial profiling - 2000s
  • Rape - 1983-1985
  • Resource Enhancement and Protection - 1991
  • Restorative justice - 1997-1998
  • Right to work law - 1984-1989
  • Runaways - 1996
  • Sexual harassment, undated
  • Social service providers, undated
  • Surrogate parenting - 1987-1991
  • Taxes - 2000
  • Tax cuts - 2003
  • Taxpayers' Rights Amendment, - 1992-1993
  • Teen pregnancy - 1995
  • Teen tobacco - 1996-2000
  • Thanks - 2003
  • Tobacco task force - 2003
  • Tobacco tax - 2002
  • Box 12:
  • Tuition tax - 1987
  • Ultimate fighting - 2002
  • University hospitals - 1986-1989
  • Violence: Domestic - 2000
  • Welfare reform - 1993-1997
  • Welfare reform panel - 1998
  • Welfare, undated
  • Welfare reform speeches - 1997
  • Welfare reform overheads, undated
  • White commutation - 2002
  • Women's issues, undated
  • Women and jobs - 1983-1991
  • Women in corrections - 1984-1990
  • Series 10: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 13:
  • Decorated box lid