Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Midwest Federation of Chaparral Poets (Iowa Chapter) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1977-2001
Creator: Midwest Federation of Chaparral Poets, Iowa Chapter
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0562
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The Iowa Chapter of Chaparral Poets met twice yearly (fall and spring); they studied poetry, conducted a poetry contest and wrote poetry for submission to Midwest Chaparral magazine. The organization was formed in 1942 and disbanded in 2001.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no.1025) were donated by M. L. Folkedahl-Meehleder in 2006.

Preferred Citation: Midwest Federation of Chaparral Poets, Iowa Chapter, records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Midwest Federation of Chaparral Poets (Chaparral Poets) was formed in 1942 under the leadership of Margarette Ball Dickinson of Minnesota, and consisted of three autonomous co-equal chapters: Minnesota, Iowa, and Nebraska; Kansas was added later. The Iowa Chapter of Chaparral Poets met twice yearly (fall and spring); they studied poetry, conducted a poetry contest and wrote poetry for submission to Midwest Chaparral magazine. The biannual meeting locations changed but the Iowa Chapter often met in Cedar Rapids. In the mid 1980s the Iowa Chapter merged with the Iowa Poetry Day Association. The Iowa Chapter of the Midwest Federation of Chaparral Poets disbanded in the fall of 2001 due to a dwindling membership and a lack of volunteers for leadership roles.

The Midwest Federation of Chaparral Poets, Iowa Chapter, records date from 1977 to 2001 and measure 2.5 linear inches. The administrative records were removed from a three-ring binder and plastic covers, and remain in their original order. The administrative records begin with a list of judges and speakers for the Iowa chapter's bi-annual meetings from 1984 to 2001. The remainder of the administrative records consists of meeting minutes, financial data, mailers to announce meetings (which contain tidbits on poetry and miscellaneous topics), and contest winners for the Chaparral Poets biannual meeting in chronological order.

The Midwest Chaparral folder consists of three editions of the poetry magazine published by the Chaparral Poets as well as administrative records relating to the magazine. The biographical information includes the obituaries of Margaret Garland, Edna Orr, and Cecilia Doyle and information on the accomplishments of Sister Luz Maria Orozco. The miscellaneous correspondence contains letters asking for information about the history of Chaparral Poets, providing information about the Chaparral Poets and the history of the Chaparral Poets.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ORGANIZATIONAL INFORMATION

  • Series 1: ORGANIZATIONAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Administrative (folder 1) - 1984-2001
  • Administrative (folder 2) - 1984-2001
  • Midwest Chaparral - 1988-1997
  • Minnesota chapter - 1996-1997
  • Biographical information about members - 1978-2001
  • Miscellaneous correspondence - 1991-1997
  • Standing rules - 1988-1999
  • By-laws - 1977-2000