Guide to the Ortha P. Neff papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1944-2006
Creator: Neff, Ortha P. (1915-)
Extent: 1.00 linear inch.
Collection Number: IWA0561
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Red Cross staff member who was stationed in Okinawa and Hawaii during World War II.

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: One videocassette [V372]
Photographs in Box 1

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 1020) were donated by Ortha Neff in 2006.

Preferred Citation: Ortha P. Neff papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Ortha P. Neff, Red Cross staff member and Girl Scout Council Executive Director, was born on a farm near Nichols, Iowa, in 1915. She was named after Ortha Lane, a Christian missionary to China and a friend of Neff's mother. Neff attended a small country school across the road from her home, and graduated from Nichols High School in 1932. After one year at Ottumwa Heights College, a Catholic convent school, she began teaching at the country school in Nichols in order to save enough money to attend the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa). After earning her BA from the State University of Iowa in 1940, she taught at Charter Oak High School in Charter Oak, Iowa, and in Knoxville, Iowa. Neff joined the Red Cross in 1944 and worked in military tent hospitals in Hawaii and Okinawa until the end of World War II. After returning to the United States, Neff trained to become a member of the Girl Scout professional staff in two Indiana councils. She earned her master's degree from the University of Indiana and became a staff member for the Chicago Girl Scouts. Later, as a member of the national staff, Neff worked in Kansas City, San Francisco, and Heidelberg, Germany (as part of the Girl Scout Troops on Foreign Soil). In 1976, Neff retired to her brother's farm in Nichols. In 1984, she moved to a retirement community in Iowa City, where she completed her memoirs.


Content Description

The Ortha P. Neff papers date from 1944 to 2006 and measure 1 linear inch. The collection contains clippings and photographs from Neff's years as a Red Cross staff member in Hawaii and Okinawa during World War II and her career as a member of the Girls Scout professional staff. Also included are two letters, one from Ortha Lane, and the other detailing Neff's arrival in Okinawa in 1945. Neff's memoirs consist of essays and poems about farm life, World War II, the Girl Scouts, race, and religion. A videotaped oral history interview with Neff, conducted by Mary Evans of the Herbert Hoover Presidential Library as part of the Library of Congress Veterans Oral History Project, completes the collection.

Related Materials

Ortha Lane papers

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Neff, Ortha P., 1915-
Evans, Mary

Corporate Names:
Girl Scouts of the United States of America
American National Red Cross

Dates:
20th century
2000-2009

Topics:
World War, 1939-1945
Women and war
Girl Scouts
Red Cross and Red Crescent
Farm life
Women in nonprofit organizations
Women in charitable work
Race relations
Religion

Occupations:
Social workers
Scout leaders
Teachers

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Nichols
Japan -- Okinawa
United States -- Hawaii
United States -- Illinois -- Chicago
Germany -- Heidelberg

Genre/Form of Materials:
Memoirs
Oral histories (Document genres)
Archives
Photographs
Personal papers
Video recordings

Browse:
Women and War
Autobiographical Resources: Diaries, Memoirs and Oral Histories