Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Minnie Ducommun papers

Collection Overview
Date Span:1936-1939, 1998
Creator:Ducommun, Minnie (1906-1988)
Extent:2.00 items.
Collection Number:IWA0553
Repository:Iowa Women's Archives
Summary:Diary and obituary of a rural Iowa housewife.

Margaret (Minnie) Fuhrman was born on November 21, 1906 in Sheridan Township, Iowa to Cacilia Brandt Fuhrman and Frank Fuhrman. She graduated from Cleghorn High School in Iowa. She studied at the MacPhail School of Music in Minneapolis, Minnesota from 1925 to 1927. Fuhrman married Fred Ducommun on June 8, 1931. The couple had two sons, Don and Gilbert. Minnie Ducommun was active in many church organizations, also serving as pianist and Sunday school teacher. She served as the Cleghorn, Iowa representative to Goodwill Industries for thirty-five years. An avid gardener, Ducommun was a member of the Cherokee Garden Club, the Iowa Rose Society and the American Rose Society. The Northwest District Rose Show of the Iowa Rose Society was dedicated to Minnie and Fred Ducommun in 1987.

Minnie Ducommun died October 21, 1988.

The Minnie Ducommun papers date from 1936 to 1939 and consist of a diary and an obituary. The 1936 to 1939 diary records Minnie Ducommun's life as a rural Iowa housewife and mother during the Depression. Daily activities included housekeeping chores, entertaining family and friends, and caring for her two sons.

Arrangement: One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 978) were donated by the Cherokee Area Archives, Inc. in 2005.

Preferred Citation: Minnie Ducommun papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository:Iowa Women's Archives
Address:100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone:319-335-5068
Curator:Kären Mason
Email:lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website:http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Browse by Series:
There is no information currently for this Collection Guide.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Ducommun, Minnie, 1906-1988

Dates:
1930-1939

Topics:
Rural women

Occupations:
Homemakers

Geographic Names:
Cleghorn (Iowa)

Browse:
Autobiographical Resources: Diaries, Memoirs and Oral Histories
Rural and Farm Women