Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Four Cs of Johnson County records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1974-2008
Creator: Four Cs of Johnson County
Extent: 1.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0546
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Records of the local Community Coordinated Child Care.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 954) were donated by Alice Atkinson in 2005.

Preferred Citation: 4-Cs of Johnson County records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The 4Cs (Community Coordinated Child Care) of Johnson County started in 1972 as a result of a meeting between the League of Women Voters and eleven other civic organizations to "consider the needs of children in the community and to organize and work toward meeting those needs." The 4Cs, a national organization, started in the late 1960s. In 1976, the 4Cs of Johnson County became a United Way organization, and in 1985 received a grant from the Gannett Foundation. The University of Iowa also funded the 4Cs and provided a free space for the group. The group focused on starting a referral service for parents in Iowa City who were seeking child care. The 4Cs also provided training and information for both child care workers and parents, opened a toy library and curriculum center, started a child care food program, and offered emergency child care for homeless families.

The 4Cs of Johnson County records date from 1974 to 2008 and measure 1.25  linear feet. The history folder contains the "Agency History" written sometime after 1990 and a timeline of the organization from the 4Cs website. The administrative records contain the organization's by-laws, policies, meeting minutes, and directories. The miscellaneous files contains proposals, goals, financial reports, grant applications, notes and other items. The correspondence folders contain letters and memos to and from the organization, including donation solicitations, informational letters to parents, communication with other local organizations and the University of Iowa, and thank you letters. The newspaper clippings folders include local newspaper articles about the organization and its special events. The printed materials comprise child care referral brochures, informational pamphlets (created by the 4Cs and by other national organizations), three newsletters, and other informational handouts for parents and child care providers as well as published articles by Alice Atkinson.
League of Women Voters of Johnson County records (IWA): This collection contains local child care surveys from 1964, 1970-1973 and undated, records from this organization's day care committee, and information on the founding of the 4Cs of Johnson County.
 
University of Iowa Council on the Status of Women records (IWA): The Parenting concerns/child care subsidy series includes studies conducted by this subcommittee, recommendations to university officials, meeting reports, and correspondence to and from the 4Cs of Johnson County. Alice Atkinson and Karen Stewart, two founders of the 4Cs, were members of the UICSW.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HISTORY
Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 4: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
Series 5: PRINTED MATERIALS

  • Series 1: HISTORY
  • Box 1:
  • General - 2006
  • Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 1:
  • Bylaws and policies - 1985-1990
  • Board meeting minutes and directory - 1976-1992
  • Board meeting minutes, reports, and materials - 1984-1986
  • Board meeting minutes and reports - 1997-1999
  • Board meeting minutes and reports - 2000
  • Board meeting minutes and reports - 2001-2002
  • Board meeting minutes and reports - 2002-2003
  • Board meeting minutes and reports - 2004
  • Box 2:
  • Board meeting minutes and reports - 2005
  • Board meeting minutes and reports - 2006
  • Board meeting minutes and reports - 2007
  • Board member materials - 1997-2008
  • Directors' retreat - 2000
  • Financial Material - 1998-2005
  • Operations Manual and Strategic Planning - 2005
  • Provider information - 1989-1993
  • Early Childhood Task Force Report - 2004
  • Early Childhood Conference, Spring - 2006
  • Box 3:
  • Toy Library Survey, undated
  • Miscellaneous - 1976-1993
  • Miscellaneous - 1994-2006
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 3:
  • General - 1975-1992
  • General - 1992-2006
  • Series 4: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
  • Box 3:
  • General - 1990-2004
  • General - 1984-2006
  • Series 5: PRINTED MATERIALS
  • Box 3:
  • General - 1974-1991
  • Directory of Child Care Centers, Johnson County - 1981-2004
  • Box 4:
  • Newsletters - 1985-2007
  • Pamphlets, undated
  • Other organizations, undated
  • Publications by Alice M. Atkinson - 1987-1991
  • Miscellaneous - 2005