Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Rose Stoops papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1916-2004
Creator: Stoops, Rose (1895-2001)
Extent: 10.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0542
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Teacher, farm woman and nurse who later participated in many community organizations in Grinnell, Iowa.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has not been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 948) were donated by Jo Wilch in 2004.

Preferred Citation: Rose Stoops papers, Iowa Women Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Rose Edie Rhinehart Stoops was born in 1895 near Tingley, in Ringgold County, Iowa. She graduated from the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa) with a degree in pharmacy in 1918. During the 1920s, Edie taught Latin and mathematics in Iowa and Illinois high schools. In 1933, she married Harry Rhinehart and they farmed near Deep River, Iowa. After Rhinehart died in 1936, Rose moved to Deep River, Iowa, where she began work as a nurse. She moved to Grinnell, Iowa during World War II, where she worked as a nurse until marrying Grinnell College philosophy professor John D. Stoops (1873-1973) in 1951. Rose became involved with the Grinnell Museum Project that year.

From 1951 until 1986, Stoops served in many local organizations, including the Grinnell Museum Society, Grinnell Museum Auxiliary, Historical and Literary Club, Tuesday Club, and the Women's Fellowship of the Congregational Church. She served as acting curator of the Grinnell Historical Museum from 1965-1986. In recognition of her contributions, September 12, 1981, was declared Rose Stoops Day in Grinnell.

The papers of Rose Stoops date from 1916 to 2004 and measure 10 linear inches. The collection is arranged in three series: Biographical, Career, and Correspondence.The papers document the life of Rose Stoops and emphasize her involvement with the founding of the Grinnell Historical Museum in Grinnell, Iowa.

The Biographical series (1918-2001) contains personal writings, family information, photographs, papers relating to John D. Stoops, awards and certificates, information on Rose Stoops Day, and artifacts including address and guest books, receipt books, and war ration books.

The Career series (1916-1995) contains correspondence and memorabilia from the University of Iowa, information about the Grinnell Historical Museum and Grinnell Tuesday Club, Trenton High School yearbooks from her teaching career, and newspaper clippings.

The Correspondence series (1951-1995) contains cards and letters addressed to Rose Stoops.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: CAREER
Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Writings - 1989-2001
  • Personal history - 1988-2001
  • Family - 1923-1945
  • Photographs - 1918-1984
  • Awards and certificates - 1981-2001
  • John D. Stoops - 1958-1974
  • Rose Stoops Day - 1981
  • Artifacts - 1922-1995
  • Series 2: CAREER
  • Box 2:
  • University of Iowa donor appreciation, memorabilia - 1916-1995
  • Teaching, Trenton High School yearbooks - 1920-1921
  • Grinnell Museum, Grinnell Tuesday Club, memberships - 1953-1992
  • Newspaper clippings - 1927-1988
  • Series 3: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 2:
  • Cards - 1951-1995
  • Letters - 1953-1995