Guide to the Mary Berg papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1911-2004
Creator: Berg, Mary (1950-2004)
Extent: 4.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0541
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Pharmacist and professor at The University of Iowa College of Pharmacy.

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in boxes 10-11
2 videocassettes [V383-V384]

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa. Preferred Citation: Box #, Mary Berg Papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 974) were donated by Maureen Donovan in 2004.

Preferred Citation: Mary Berg papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Mary J. Berg, pharmacist and scholar, was born in 1950 in Fargo, North Dakota, to Ordean and Anna Margaret (Skramstad) Berg. Berg earned a BS in pharmacy from North Dakota State University in 1974 and a doctorate in pharmacy from the University of Kentucky in 1978. In 1980, Berg became an assistant professor at the University of Iowa and in 1995, she was the first woman promoted to full professor in the College of Pharmacy at the University of Iowa. Berg retired in 2004.

Berg achieved international prominence for her work on gender-related differences in medication response and her efforts to foster the role of women in pharmacy. Berg co-edited four books, published over fifty articles, and gave numerous presentations around the world on women in pharmacy and gender-related health issues. She was an active member of numerous professional organizations including Kappa Epsilon, the Advisory Committee to the Office of Research on Women's Health for the National Institutes of Health, and the Society for the Advancement of Women's Health Research, which she served as a member of its board of directors from 1998 to 2002. In 1999, Berg was inducted into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame. Berg passed away in 2004.


Content Description

The Mary Berg papers date from 1911 to 2004 and measure 4.75 linear feet. The papers are arranged in eight series: Biographical, Anna Berg, Publications, Presentations, Professional Development, Research Files, Photographs, and Artifacts.

The Biographical series (1950-2004) includes information on Berg's childhood, hobbies, and friends, including National Philharmonic Director Stan Engebretson. Also included is Berg's personal correspondence and materials related to Berg's induction into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame. Berg's CVs, professional biographies, and newspaper clippings that feature Berg's work are also part of this series.

The Anna Berg series (1911-2001) consists of materials related to Mary Berg's mother Anna Margaret Skramstad Berg, a native of North Dakota. A significant portion of the series contains information on the Skramstad family including several brief memoirs on the family's history. Two scrapbooks contain memorabilia from Anna Skramstad Berg's school years and newspaper clippings about North Dakota and the Skramstad family. Other materials include photocopied photographs and Anna Berg's mother's nursing diploma, dated 1911. The series also includes several books, some of which are written in Norwegian, and Anna Berg's travel journals from the family's trips to Europe. Correspondence in the series mostly consists of weekly letters from Anna Berg to her daughter, Mary Berg. In addition, the series includes substantial information about Anna Berg's illness and death.

The Publications series (1982-2001) is comprised of Berg's published work and conference papers on gender-related health issues. The four books Berg co-edited complete the series.

The Presentations series (1987-2001) includes materials used in, or related to, Berg's presentations at pharmaceutical and women's health conferences around the world. These materials are organized chronologically and include abstracts, lecture notes, presentation slides, as well as brochures and booklets from the conferences.

The Professional Development series (1985-2004) includes materials on conferences Berg helped organize as well as several committees on which she served. It also includes scholarly papers written by Neil Cummings, a colleague of Berg's, which Mary Berg edited. This series contains information on Berg's activities at the University of Iowa including her efforts to become the first women full professor in the College of Pharmacy.

The series (1987-2002) includes publications and newspaper articles related to Berg's research. It also includes newspaper articles related to gender inequity in academia and the field of pharmacy.

The Photographs series (1911-2002) is comprised of family and professional photographs. Included are Anna Skramstad Berg's photograph albums from her childhood and teenage years. The Artifacts series (1974-1978) includes two mortar and pestles given to Berg upon receipt of her MA and PhD, and a small fabric banner from Berg's lecture series at China Pharmaceutical University.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Berg, Mary J. (Mary Jaylene), 1950-
Berg, Anna Margaret Skramstad

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa. College of Pharmacy

Dates:
20th century
2000-2009

Topics:
Women in pharmacy
Women's health services

Occupations:
College teachers
Scholars
Pharmacists

Geographic Names:
United States -- North Dakota

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs
Cultural artifacts
Scrapbooks

Family Names:
Skramstad family