Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1988-1991
Creator: Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0539
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: The Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City (RRCIC) formed in January 1989 in response to Operation Rescue's attempt to shut down a local abortion clinic.

Alternate Extent Statement: Artifacts in map case
Photographs in Box 1

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 945) were donated by Regenia Bailey in 2004.

Preferred Citation: Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

The Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City (RRCIC) formed in January 1989 in response to Operation Rescue's attempt to shut down a local abortion clinic. The group's purpose was to bring together the local people and organizations focused on abortion rights, such as Students for Reproductive Rights, the Emma Goldman Clinic, the Iowa International Socialist Organization, New Wave, the Organization of Women Law Students, and the Women's Caucus. The RRCIC held many events throughout 1989 and 1990 including protests, rallies, conferences, and fundraisers. The organization disbanded in 1991.

The Reproductive Rights Coalition of Iowa City records date from 1988 to 1991 and measure 5 linear inches. The advisory board file contains notes, proposals, mass mailings, correspondence, calendars, press kit information and song lyrics. The meeting minutes folder contains three legal pads of handwritten meeting minutes (dated with the month and day but not the year) and two typed sheets of meeting minutes. The collection includes four issues of Choice Words, the RRCIC's newsletter. Event materials include flyers and advertisements for RRCIC's rallies, dinners, conferences and fundraisers. The newspaper and magazine clippings consist of national and local articles on abortion and reproductive rights, cartoons, advertisements, and bibliographies on reproductive rights issues. The outside organizations file contains mailings and flyers from other groups connected to the reproductive rights movement, including the Emma Goldman Clinic, Feminist Majority, NARAL of Iowa, Planned Parenthood of Mid-Iowa, Marylanders for the Right to Choose, the Alan Guttmacher Institute and the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women. Printed materials include pamphlets, booklets, newsletters and other publications from organizations such as Planned Parenthood, the American Association of University Women, Catholics for a Free Choice, Americans for Religious Liberty, NARAL, and New Directions for Women. The legislative campaign materials consist of mailings from local candidates for the 1990 election and information compiled by NARAL on local politicians. The photographs depict rallies in Iowa City and Cedar Rapids. The last item in the collection is a print of a greeting card designed by Carol deProsse, depicting Supreme Court Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist.
Emma Goldman Clinic records (IWA)
NARAL of Iowa records (IWA)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Advisory board - 1989-1990
  • Meeting minutes - 1989-1990
  • Choice Words newsletter - 1989
  • Events - 1989-1990
  • Newspaper and magazine clippings - 1989-1991
  • Outside organizations - 1988-1990
  • Printed materials - 1989-1990
  • Legislative campaign - 1990
  • Photographs - 1990
  • Print of greeting card - 1989
    [shelved in map case]