Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the OOP (Marion, Iowa) records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1867-2005
Creator: OOP (Marion, Iowa)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0528
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Women's study club founded in 1867 by young women who had attended the Marion Female Seminary.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs throughout collection.
Artifacts in Box 9.

Access: The records are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 922) were donated by the organization in 2004.

Preferred Citation: OOP (Marion) records, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

In 1867 five young women in Marion, Iowa, who had attended the Marion Female Seminary invited ten others to join them and organized a study club known first as the S S Society and then the Young Upstarts or YUS-Atheneum. While at the Seminary they had been part of the Theristriai Society (meaning "gleaners of knowledge") started by Beulah Small, the preceptress of the Marion Female Seminary. In 1880 the group adopted the initials OOP as its name. The initials stood for "Our Own Pioneer" society; ten years later the group adopted the Latin motto "Opus Optimum Praestat", meaning "best work excels". In 1891 ten members of the club withdrew and formed a separate club called Theristriai. OOP was federated with the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs from 1894 to 1900 and once again federated in 1909. The OOP was still in existence at the turn of the twenty-first century and was one of the oldest continuous women's clubs in Iowa.

The OOP records date from 1867 to 2005 and measure 3 linear feet. The bulk of the collection is made up of minutes spanning most of the club's existence (with a few gaps), annual yearbooks listing program topics, and albums containing histories, photographs, and memorabilia. (Contents of two of the history albums were removed from three-ring binders and placed in folders to better protect the items.)

History of the Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs , 1893-1968 was separated from the collection and placed with printed works.
In IWA: Theristriai (Marion, Iowa) records.

In 1891 ten members of OOP withdrew and formed Theristriai.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HISTORY
Series 2: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: HISTORY
  • Box 1:
  • Historical events - 1917-1967
  • History - 1867-1967
  • History album #1 - 1976-1999
  • History album #2: Album - 1867-2005
  • History album #2: Folder: items removed from album - 1867-2005
  • History album # 3 (volume 1) - 1870-1980
  • History album # 3 (volume 2) - 1870-1980
  • Box 2:
  • History album # 3 (volume 3) - 1870-1980
  • History album # 3 (volume 4) - 1870-1980
  • History album # 3 (volume 5) - 1870-1980
  • History album # 3 (volume 6) - 1870-1980
  • Minutes - 1875, 1881-1883
  • Minutes (folder 1) - 1883-1907
  • Minutes (folder 2) - 1883-1907
  • Minutes (folder 3) - 1883-1907
  • Box 3:
  • Minutes (folder 1) - 1907-1937
  • Minutes (folder 2) - 1907-1937
  • Minutes (folder 3) - 1907-1937
  • Minutes (folder 4) - 1907-1937
  • Minutes (folder 5) - 1907-1937
  • Minutes (folder 6) - 1907-1937
  • Box 4:
  • Minutes (folder 1) - 1933-1955
  • Minutes (folder 2) - 1933-1955
  • Box 5:
  • Minutes (folder 1) - 1954-2000
  • Minutes (folder 2) - 1954-2000
  • Minutes (folder 3) - 1954-2000
  • Minutes (folder 4) - 1954-2000
  • Minutes (folder 5) - 1954-2000
  • Minutes: highlights - 1974-1975
  • Box 6:
  • President's book, undated
  • Treasurer's book - 1885-1950
  • Treasurer's report - 1952-1965
  • Scrapbook - 1902-1920
  • Yearbooks - 1893-1940
  • Box 7:
  • Yearbooks - 1940-1990
  • Box 8:
  • Yearbooks - 1991-2000
  • Menus - 1976-2004
  • Community achievement project - 1957
  • Correspondence - 1976-1993
  • Iowa City booklet - 1915
  • Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs - 1915, 1967
  • Marion Carnegie library - 1980-1993
  • Marion Garden Club: yearbooks - 1972-1976
  • Marion Women's Club: yearbooks - 1972-1977
  • The Woman's Manual of Parliamentary Law by Harriette R. Shattuck - 1895
  • Series 2: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 9:
  • Wooden plate (broken) with writing - 1878
  • Decorated favor menu
  • Party favors: flowers and tin can
  • Party favors: clock, broom, wooden honey server
  • Party favor: soap petals in round box
  • Photo negatives on a wheel