Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Aaron Silander papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1973-2004
Creator: Silander, Aaron
Extent: 2.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0525
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Iowa City feminist and activist.

Alternate Extent Statement: 1 audiocassette [AC904]

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 912) were donated by Aaron Silander in 2003.

Preferred Citation: Aaron Silander papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Anne "Aaron" Silander attended Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa, for a time before moving to Iowa City in 1970. She was involved with a number of progressive grassroots social movements in Iowa City, beginning in the 1970s and participated in the publication of a local radical feminist newspaper, Ain't I a Woman? When all of the print shops in eastern Iowa refused to print the first issue of Ain't I a Woman?, Silander and other local feminists established the Iowa City Women's Press in 1972. Silander was active in a number of feminist collectives and organizations, including the Childcare Collective, the Women's Liberation Front, and later, the Women's Resource and Action Council (WRAC). Her activism was tied to her interest in issues of class, sexual identity, and race. Silander served as a research assistant for the Center for Excellence for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgendered People. In 2005, Silander received an MA in social work at the University of Iowa.

The Aaron Silander papers date from to 2005 and measure 2 linear inches. The papers include Silander's honors essay, "Emerging Women's Voices: The Story of the Iowa City Women's Press, 1972-1985," which was submitted to the University of Iowa Department of American Studies in 1996. Publications from the Iowa City Women's Press folder include The Common Woman, Academic Feminists and the Women's Movement and Fat Politics, a collection of writings on women, weight, and self-esteem. This collection also includes handwritten notes from the first meetings of the Iowa City Women's Press.
Iowa City Women's Press Records (IWA): Iowa City publisher and printer of lesbian and feminist books that existed from 1973 to 1985.

Women's Resource and Action Center (WRAC) Records (IWA): Silander was interviewed as part of the WRAC Oral History project in 2002. This collection contains a transcript and an audiocassette of the interview [AC904].

Browse by Series:
Series 1: Aaron Silander

  • Series 1: Aaron Silander
  • Box 1:
  • "Emerging Women´s Voices: The Story of the Iowa City Women´s Press, 1972-1985" - 1996
  • Iowa City Women´s Press information and publications - 1973
  • Professional information - 2001, 2004