Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charlene "Mac" Eblen papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1965-2003
Creator: Eblen, Charlene "Mac" (1925- )
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0515
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Homemaker from Wichita, Kansas whose papers consist primarily of journals.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 894) were donated by Charlene "Mac" Eblen in 2003.

Preferred Citation: Charlene "Mac" Eblen papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Charlene "Mac" Eblen, homemaker and English professor, was born Charlene Wilma Osborn in 1925 in Wichita, Kansas, to Blanche Osborn. In 1929, Blanche Osborn married Fred T. McFadden. Afterwards, Charlene Osborn was known as Charlene Wilma McFadden, though she was not legally adopted by Fred McFadden until the age of sixteen. When she was adopted, Charlene McFadden dropped her middle name “Wilma.” Charlene McFadden graduated from East High School in Wichita, Kansas, in 1942 and went on to attend Wichita University, where she earned a BA in English in 1945. While at Wichita University, McFadden met Roy Eblen; they married in 1945 and had three children: Kathy, Rick, and David. In 1957, the family moved to a farm outside of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, so that Roy Eblen could begin work on a doctorate in speech pathology at the University of Iowa. After Roy Eblen received his PhD in 1960, he took a job at the University of Northern Iowa in the speech pathology department and the family moved to Cedar Falls, Iowa. Roy Eblen headed the clinic which now bears his name, the Roy Eblen Speech and Hearing Clinic. He died in 1998.

While Charlene "Mac" Eblen spent most of her children’s growing up years as a homemaker, she taught English briefly at both Wichita University and the University of Northern Iowa. After her children had grown, Eblen became a professor of English at the University of Northern Iowa. From 1967 to 1992, she taught Freshman Composition and Essay, as well as technical and report writing to seniors.

The Charlene "Mac" Eblen papers date from 1965 to 2003 and measure 5 linear inches. The papers are arranged alphabetically and consist of Eblen's journals, correspondence, gardening calendars, and writings.

The bulk of the collection consists of Eblen's journals. After assigning her freshman classes the task of keeping a journal as a way of becoming comfortable with writing, Eblen decided that she should keep a journal as well. The travel journal aboard the STS "Lord Nelson" consists of notes taken aboard a ship designed to accommodate the physically handicapped.

The correspondence includes a family history written by Eblen to her children in the form of letters, "Round Robin" letters with her husband's relatives, and letters concerning Eblen's trip to Russia in 2000.

The special occasion greetings are congratulatory flyers written by Eblen to family and friends for occasions such as birthdays and graduations. The miscellaneous writings contain materials related to Eblen's work at the University of Northern Iowa, as well as a gardening article she wrote.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1989-2003
  • Correspondence: "Family Matters" - 1995
  • Curriculum vita - 1990
  • Gardening calendars - 1995-1996
  • Journals (folder 1) - 1976-1995
  • Journals (folder 2) - 1976-1995
  • Journals (folder 3) - 1976-1995
  • Journals: Loose pages - 1979-1995
  • Journals: Travel aboard the STS "Lord Nelson" - 1989
  • Journals: Travel, Mexico - 1978-1979
  • Remarks honoring colleague Norman C. Stageberg - 1997
  • Writings: "Commitment to Writing: A Sourcebook for Faculty across the Disciplines" - 1990
  • Writings: Special occasion greetings - 1992-1996
  • Writings: "Two Men of Business" essay - 1965
  • Writings: Miscellaneous - 1983-1994

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Eblen, Charlene "Mac", 1925-

Corporate Names:
University of Northern Iowa

Dates:
20th century
2000-2009

Topics:
Family life
College teaching
Voyages and travels
Women in higher education

Occupations:
Homemakers
College teachers

Geographic Names:
Russia
United States -- Iowa -- Cedar Falls

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers

Family Names:
Eblen family