Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mary Patricia Donahue papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1872-2006
Creator: Donahue, M. Patricia ( )
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0512
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Nurse educator and scholar.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 887) were donated by Mary Patricia Donahue in 2003 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: Mary Patricia Donahue papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Mary Patricia "Pat" Donahue, nurse educator and scholar, was born in 1939 in Youngstown, Ohio. Donahue received her nursing degree from St. Luke’s Hospital School of Nursing in 1960. She then earned her BSN and MSN from the Ohio State University School of Nursing, where as a faculty member for fourteen years, she worked in both clinical and teaching positions. Donahue was a professor in the College of Nursing at the University of Iowa from 1976 to 2006. She received her doctorate from the University of Iowa College of Nursing in 1981 and was promoted from assistant professor to full professor in 1993. Between 1999 and 2006, Donahue served as the Executive Associate Dean of Academic Affairs for the College of Nursing.  During that time she initiated and oversaw the professional Masters in Nursing and Healthcare Practice (MNHP) program at the University of Iowa. Donahue retired in 2006.

Donahue achieved national prominence as a nurse historian and educator. She published over one hundred articles, reviews, and books on nursing history and education, terminal illness, and the ethics and philosophy of nursing. Donahue published her best-known work, Nursing, The Finest Art: An Illustrated History, in 1985. Donahue belonged to numerous professional organizations including Sigma Xi, the American Nurses Association, the Academy of Medical-Surgical Nurses, and the Philosophy of Education Society. She held leadership positions in Sigma Theta Tau, the Iowa Nurses Association, the Johnson County Unit of the American Cancer Society, and the American Association for the History of Nursing, of which she was president from 1988 to 1990. Donahue received numerous honors including the Teresa E. Christy Award in 1985, induction as a fellow into the American Academy of Nursing in 1989, the Agnes Dillon Randolph Award in 1996, and the University of Iowa Distinguished Achievement Award in 2006.

The Mary Patricia Donahue papers date from 1872 to 2006 and measure 3 linear feet. The papers are arranged in nine series: Biographical, Courses, Publications and projects, Research files, Professional, Teresa Christy, Iowa Association of Colleges of Nursing, Photographs, and Audiovisuals.

The Biographical series (1975-2006) includes information about Donahue's education and career, such as CVs, awards, and newspaper articles that feature Donahue, the University of Iowa College of Nursing, or the nursing profession. The series also documents Donahue's service trip to a Romanian orphanage in 2005. The Courses series (1982-1997) contains course outlines and teaching materials for classes Donahue taught at the University of Iowa College of Nursing.

The Publications and projects series (1971-1999) is comprised of Donahue's published work, conference papers, and materials related to specific programs or projects with which she was involved. The series includes materials related to Donahue's best known publication, Nursing, The Finest Art: An Illustrated History, as well as her unpublished research, drafts, manuscripts, grant proposals, and correspondence with editors and colleagues. The series also includes several issues of the American Association for the History of Nursing Bulletins; each bulletin contains a president's message written by Donahue. The University of Iowa Main Library holds Donahue's dissertation, Isabel Maitland Stewart's philosophy of education, written in 1981. The Research files series (1872-1983) consists of documents, correspondence, and publications used by Donahue for her research and teaching. Of particular note are a copy of a letter from Florence Nightingale and documents and letters pertaining to M. Adelaide Nutting.

The Professional series (1960-1999) includes materials such as job evaluations, committee records, university transcripts, brochures relating to Donahue's presentations, and letters of reference and thanks. The series also incorporates nursing newsletters that contain interviews with Donahue.

The Teresa Christy series (1950-1981) contains documents related to Donahue's colleague, Teresa Christy. Christy, also a member of the University of Iowa's College of Nursing faculty and a nursing historian, advocated patient rights and published numerous articles on the history of nursing and nursing education. When Christy died in 1982, Donahue acquired her teaching and research files. The series includes Christy's 'Portrait of a Leader' articles that recount the lives of prominent nurses such as Lillian D. Wald, Isabel Maitland Stewart, Isabel Hampton Robb, and M. Adelaide Nutting. Photographs of Christy are included in the photographs series.

The Iowa Association of Colleges of Nursing series (1980-2003) includes the administrative files of this organization, which promotes continuing education for nurses. Donahue served as president from 2000 to 2006. Included in this series are agendas, minutes, budget plans, membership lists, and correspondence.

The Photographs series (1974-2003) includes snapshots and professional photographs of Donahue's professional activities. These include photographs of her presentations and trips, studio portraits, photographs with students, and photographs from the 2003 University of Iowa commencement. The series also contains a studio portrait of Teresa Christy and three slides of Christy with her students.

The Audiovisual series (1970-1987) includes two videocassettes, twenty-five audiocassettes, and five beta videotapes. The videocassettes include Donahue's lecture for the Distinguished Nursing Lecture Series and a brief slideshow on the history of male nurses created by two of Donahue's nursing students. Most of the audiocassettes are lectures by Teresa Christy on nursing. These tapes are approximately an hour in length and are of good quality. Also included is a brief recording--apparently taped from a record album--about Florence Nightingale and the development of the nursing profession; the speaker is unknown. The five beta videotapes include lectures by Teresa Christy. The IWA does not possess a device to play beta videotapes.

Donahue's papers include two books shelved in the IWA printed works collection:

Addams, Jane, Twenty Years at Hull-House, Chicago: The MacMillian Company, 1910. HV 4196.C4 H7 1910.

Wald, Lillian D., The House on Henry Street, New York: Henry Holt and Company, 1915. HV 4196 N6 W35 Cop.
University of Iowa College of Nursing records (IWA)
Administrative records are held by the University of Iowa Archives and the departmental history records are held by in the Iowa Women's Archives.

Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte papers (IWA)
Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte was professor of nursing (1957-1976), dean of the College of Nursing (1949-1957), and director of nursing for the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics (1969-1976).

Anderson, Lee
Complete in All Its Parts: Nursing Education at the University of Iowa, 1898-1998, Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1998. [MAIN Library RT 80 I82 1693]

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
Series 2: COURSES
Series 3: PUBLICATIONS AND PROJECTS
Series 4: RESEARCH FILES
Series 5: PROFESSIONAL
Series 6: CHRISTY, TERESA
Series 7: IOWA ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGES OF NURSING
Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 9: AUDIOVISUAL

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL
  • Box 1:
  • General - 1946-1962
  • Newspaper clippings
  • CVs - 1975-2003
  • Certificates and awards
  • Romanian orphanage - 2005
  • Series 2: COURSES
  • Box 1:
  • Introduction to Health and Health Care Services - 1982
  • Nurses' Role in Ethical Decision Making - 1984
  • Historical, Philosophical, and Social Foundations of Nursing - 1987-1995
  • Professional Seminar: Issues in Nursing - 1991, 1994
  • Classics in the Social Evolution of Modern American Nursing - 1994
  • Health Care, Economics, and Public Policy - 1996
  • The Evolution of Professional Nursing Practice - 1997
  • Nursing in the Social Order, undated
  • Ethics and Aging, undated
  • Oncology Nursing, undated
  • Series 3: PUBLICATIONS AND PROJECTS
  • Sub-Series: Terminal Illness and Death
  • Box 1:
  • "Acceptance- A Key Issue in the Care of the Dying" - 1971
  • "The Impact of Chronic Illness on the Family" - 1971
  • Guide to the Administration of IV Chemotherapeutic Agents - 1976
  • "Concepts of Grief and Loss," The Process of Human Development: A Holistic Approach - 1976-1992
  • Box 2:
  • "Euthanasia: An Ethical Uncertainty" - 1981, 1985
  • "Nursing Care for the Terminally Ill," Image: Journal of Nursing Scholarship - 1986
  • "Dignified Dying as a Nursing Outcome," Outcomes Management for Nursing Practice - 1997
  • Ambulatory Oncology Program, undated
  • Sub-Series: Nursing Education and History
  • Box 2:
  • Curriculum proposal - 1971
  • "Winds of Change," The American Nurses Association Convention - 1976
  • John Dewey and Education - 1977
  • "The Evolution of Nursing Education: From Hospitals to Universities" - 1978
  • "Isabel Maitland Stewart's Philosophy of Life and Education" - 1979, 1999
  • 'Reflections of the Past: Foundations of the Future,' Minnesota Nurses Association Convention - 1980
  • "Nursing History in the Undergraduate Curriculum," Perspectives in Nursing - 1983-1984
  • "A Response to Florence Nightingale in Nursing Theory," History of American Nursing Conference - 1984
  • "Caring: The Essence of Nursing, An Historical Perspective," 7th Annual Caring Conference - 1984
  • Nursing, the Finest Art: An Illustrated History, general - 1987-2008
  • Nursing, the Finest Art: An Illustrated History, correspondence - 1983
  • Nursing, the Finest Art: An Illustrated History, reviews - 1984-1987
  • Nursing, the Finest Art: An Illustrated History,awards - 1986-1992
  • "Nursing in the Arts: A Commentary," Second Annual Fall Conference on Nursing History - 1985
  • "Their Struggle to Serve" - 1986
  • "Qualitative Research: An Historical Perspective" - 1986
  • "History of the Army Nurse Corp" (folder 1) - 1988
  • Box 3:
  • "History of the Army Nurse Corp" (folder 2) - 1988
  • American Association for the History of Nursing Bulletin - 1989-1990
  • "Inquiry, Insights, and History," Journal of Professional Nursing - 1990-1992
  • "To Investigate the Evolution of the Staff Nurse Role in Hospitals" - 1857-2003, 1991
  • "Miss Curriculum- The Life of Isabel Maitland Stewart" - 1992
  • "The Diary as Historical Evidence: The Case of Sarah Gallop Gregg," Nursing History Review - 1996
  • Linda A. Gerdner and M. Patricia Donahue, "Faye M. Kubichek: A Common But Remarkable Life" - 1997
  • "Historical View and Economics of the Continuum of Care and the Nurse's Role" - 1997
  • "Looking Back-Moving Forward" - 1997
  • "The Evolution of Nursing Science and Practice," Issues and Trends in Nursing - 1998
  • Biographies, undated
  • Sub-Series: Ethics and Philosophy in Nursing
  • Box 3:
  • "The Nurse: A Patient Advocate?" Nursing Forum - 1978
  • "Tough Decisions," INTERCOM, Iowa Nurses Association - 1987
  • "What Are Ethics," The Iowa Nurses Reporter - 1989
  • "The Tyranny of Ethics," Current Issues in Nursing - 1990
  • "Developing a Sound Philosophy of Nursing" - 1991
  • "Staff Nurse Role Development: Impact on Health Care" - 1992
  • "CD-ROM on Ethics and Genetic Testing in Nursing Practice and Education" - 1999
  • Box 4:
  • Joseph P. Kennedy Jr. Foundation Post-Residency Fellowship in Medical Ethics
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 4:
  • Conference abstracts - 1986-1992
  • Herbert Hoover Presidential Fellowship and Grant Program Application for Research Support - 1989
  • "Effects of Estrogen and Progesterone on Urinary Tract Infections" (folder 1) - 1993
  • "Effects of Estrogen and Progesterone on Urinary Tract Infections" (folder 2) - 1993
  • "State Laws, Wheels, and Health Care" - 1993
  • Helene Fuld Health Trust Application - 1999
  • Publication survey, undated
  • Series 4: RESEARCH FILES
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence, Florence Nightingale letter to Dr. Gill Wylie - 1872
  • Nutting, M. Adelaide - 1894-1983
  • Wald, Lillian D.: Henry Street Settlement and East Harlem Nursing and Health Service - 1918-1970
  • "Syphilis," Guide for Public Health Nurses - 1938
  • "Load-Power-Margin Scale" - 1976
  • Dr. Christy's Methodology of Historical Research - 1983
  • Series 5: PROFESSIONAL
  • Box 4:
  • Donahue's student papers - 1960-1961
  • University of Iowa College of Nursing - 1971-1983
  • Evaluation of teaching performance - 1974-1991
  • Box 5:
  • Letters of thanks (folder 1) - 1974-2008
  • Letters of thanks (folder 2) - 1974-2008
  • Conferences and presentations (folder 1) - 1974-2004
  • Conferences and presentations (folder 2) - 1974-2004
  • Conferences and presentations (folder 3) - 1974-2004
  • Ohio State University tenure review - 1975-1976
  • Letters of reference - 1975-1993
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence - 1975-2003
  • Newsletters - 1976-2001
  • Doctoral study - 1977-1978
  • Advisory committees - 1979-2004
  • Speaker evaluations - 1980-2006
  • Dissertation committees - 1984-1992
  • Sigma Theta Tau - 1985-2005
  • Conference on nursing history - 1985
  • Donahue's academic transcript - 1987-2001
  • Journal reviewer and editor - 1988-2003
  • Internationalizing the Curriculum Initiative - 1998
  • School of public health and school of journalism collaboration - 1998
  • Associate dean of academic affairs - 1999-2006
  • OICT meeting minutes - 1999
  • Yamanashi College of Nursing - 1999
  • Ida Cordelia Beam nomination - 1999
  • London study abroad - 1999
  • Iceland Program: Universal Odyssey - 2001
  • Series 6: CHRISTY, TERESA
  • Sub-Series: Biographical Information
  • Box 6:
  • General
  • Course examinations - 1964-1981
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1975-1979
  • Sub-Series: Research files
  • Box 7:
  • Isabel Maitland Stewart correspondence - 1950-1962
  • Interview with Lucile Petry Leone - 1969
  • Interview with Dr. Gene Levine - 1970
  • "Biennial Survey of Education Nurse Training Schools" - 1916-1918
  • Sub-Series: Publications
  • Box 7:
  • A List of the Published Writings of Isabel Maitland Stewart - 1967
  • Publications, "A Critique of the Study by Dr. Dora Mae Blackmon, R.N., Ph.D. on the Care of the Mentally Ill in America, 1604-1812," American Nurses Association - 1968
  • Publications, "Portrait of a Leader" articles, Nursing Outlook - 1969-1975
  • "Equal Rights for Women: Voices of the Past," American Journal of Nursing - 1971
  • "History of Nursing" - 1974
  • "The Fateful Decade, 1890-1900" American Journal of Nursing - 1975
  • "The Methodology of Historical Research: A Brief Introduction," Nursing Research - 1975
  • "The First Fifty Years," undated
  • "A History of Nursing in the United States Public Health Service, 1932-1964"
  • Series 7: IOWA ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGES OF NURSING
  • Box 7:
  • Administrative files (folder 1) - 1980-2001
  • Administrative files (folder 2) - 1980-2001
  • Administrative files (folder 3) - 1980-2001
  • Administrative files (folder 4) - 1980-2001
  • Box 8:
  • Administrative files (folder 1) - 2002-2003
  • Administrative files (folder 2) - 2002-2003
  • Series 8: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 8:
  • Donahue, Pat - 1974-2003
  • Christy, Teresa
  • Series 9: AUDIOVISUAL
  • Sub-Series: Videocassettes [shelved in videocassette collection]
  • Box 8:
  • "The Illustrated Overview of the History of Male Nurses" (V378)
  • 'The Historical Implications for the Future of Nursing,' M. Patricia Donahue - 1987
    (V379)
  • Sub-Series: Audiocassettes [shelved in audiocassette collection]
  • Box 8:
  • "Re-tape of Farewell Party for Mr. Arnstein's Retirement," Division of Nursing - 1970
    (AC1257)
  • "History of Nursing," lecture series of four by Teresa Christy - 1970
    (AC1258-AC1261) [incomplete, missing two tapes]
  • "Discussion on Nursing Education," Teresa Christy
    (A1275-AC1277) [incomplete, missing first tape]
  • "Florence Nightingale"
    (A1278)
  • "History of Nursing," lectures series of eleven by Teresa Christy - 1975
    (AC1279-AC1289)
  • "Flexner's Criteria for a Profession" - 1975
    (AC1290)
  • "State of Your Health Interview with Teresa Christy" - 1978
    (AC1291)
  • Family Heath Lecture for Nursing II,' by Teresa Christy
    (A1292)
  • "Letter to Dr. Davis on Gerontological Nursing" dictated by Teresa Christy - 1980
    (AC1293)
  • "Family Nursing in Historical Perspective," lecture by Teresa Christy - 1977
    (AC1294)
  • Sub-Series: Beta videotapes [shelved with non-standard formats: IWA does not possess a device to play beta videotapes.]
  • Box 8:
  • "Teresa Christy- Raw Footage" - 1983
  • "Methodology of Historical Research, Part 1," Teresa Christy - 1981
  • "Methodology of Historical Research, Part 2," Teresa Christy - 1981
  • "Dr. Teresa Christy's Methodology of Historical Research, Part 1" - 1983
  • "Dr. Teresa Christy's Methodology of Historical Research, Part 2" - 1983