Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Ruth Cromer Weir papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1926-1964
Creator: Weir, Ruth Cromer (1902-1998)
Extent: 1.00 linear foot.
Collection Number: IWA0490
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Journalist and children's author from Union, Iowa.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 3

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The records (donor no. 843) were donated by Keith C. Weir in 2002.

Preferred Citation: Ruth Cromer Weir papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Author of books for children.

The Ruth Cromer Weir papers date from 1805 to 1993 and measure 1 linear foot. The papers are arranged in four series: Personal, Professional, Photographs, and Artifacts.

Most of the materials in the Personal series (1805-1964) pertain to Weir's family history. The series includes genealogical information and family trees compiled by Lela Lundy Cromer, Cromer's mother, a diploma from the State University of Iowa earned by Weir's sister, Helen Cromer, and obituaries for Cromer's parents and grandparents. Two Bibles may also be found within the collection. One belonged to Mary Cromer, Weir's sister, and the other belonged to her mother's grandparents, Levi and Sarah Lundy. Information about family history is written in the back cover of the Lundy Bible, and several pages are marked with Quaker tracts.

The bulk of the Professional series (1920s-1960) is composed of Weir's published children's books. Other materials include a rough draft of a children's book and several feature articles written by Weir in the 1920s for the Des Moines Sunday Register on topics ranging from jazz to paternity battles. One article highlights the surprise election of a woman mayor and an all-female town council in the 1920s in Randalia, Iowa, where women had declined to vote; all but one of the women refused to take office.

The bulk of the items in the Photographs series (1880s-1993) date from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Several of the photographs have been identified as Weir's relatives. A baby bonnet and lace tatting which Weir wore as an infant, as well as a hinged case with two framed tintypes, make up the collection's Artifacts series. The tintypes are not specifically identified, but a note indicates that they are of her relatives.
Iowa Authors Collection in University of Iowa Special Collection: Includes drafts and manuscripts of Ruth Cromer Weir's children's books

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PERSONAL
Series 2: PROFESSIONAL
Series 3: PHOTOGRAPHS
Series 4: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: PERSONAL
  • Box 1:
  • Family history - 1805, 1926-1964
  • Lundy family Bible - 1830
  • Mary Cromer Bible, undated
  • Mary Cromer, sister of Ruth Cromer Weir - 1963-1969
  • Miscellaneous - 1932
  • Series 2: PROFESSIONAL
  • Box 2:
  • Des Moines Register articles - 1920-1929
    [shelved in map case]
  • "Grandma's Funny Hat" rough copy, undated
  • Books: A Treasury of Dog Stories compiled by Frances Cavanah and Ruth Cromer Weir - 1947
  • Books: Benjamin Franklin, Printer and Patriot by Ruth Cromer Weir, Makers of America Series - 1955
  • Books: Christopher Columbus by Ruth Cromer Weir, Real People Series - 1950
  • Books: Dell Book of Jokes compiled by Ruth Cromer Weir and Frances Cavanah - 1945
  • Books: John Paul Jones: Father of the U.S. Navy by Ruth Cromer Weir, Real People Series - 1950
  • Books: Leif Ericson: Explorer by Ruth Cromer Weir, Makers of America Series - 1951
    [2 copies]
  • Books: "Leif Ericson: Explorer" by Ruth Cromer Weir, draft - 1951
  • Books: Liberty Laughs: Best War Cartoons*Jokes*Anecdotes compiled by Frances Cavanah and Ruth Cromer Weir - 1943
  • Books: Marco Polo, by Ruth Cromer Weir, Real People Series - 1951
  • Books: Rags: An Orphan of the Storm by Ruth Cromer Weir - 1947
  • Books: Rufus Putnam: Father of Ohio by Josephine E. Phillips in collaboration with Ruth Cromer Weir, Real People Series - 1950
  • Books: Science, Science, Everywhere! by Ruth Cromer Weir - 1960
  • Books: The Wonderful Train Ride by R.C. Weir, Rand McNally Book-Elf Series - 1947
  • Books: The Wonderful Plane Ride by R.C. Weir, Rand McNally Book-Elf Series - 1949
  • Books: Thomas Alva Edison: Inventor by Ruth Cromer Weir, Makers of America Series - 1953
  • Books: 24 Horses: A Treasury of Stories compiled by Frances Cavanah and Ruth Cromer Weir - 1950
  • Box 3:
  • Books: Private Pepper of Dogs for Defense by Frances Cavanah and Ruth Cromer Weir - 1943
  • Books: Private Pepper Comes Home by Frances Cavanah and Ruth Cromer Weir - 1945
  • Books: The Great Big Noise by Ruth Cromer Weir - 1948
  • Books: The Great Big Noise by Ruth Cromer Weir, reprint - 1963
  • Series 3: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 3:
  • School photographs - 1880-1889
  • Identified family photographs - 1880-1956
  • Unidentified photographs, undated
  • Personal photographs and passport photos - 1976-1993
  • Series 4: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 4:
  • Baby bonnet and lace, undated
  • Framed tintypes, undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Weir, Ruth Cromer, 1902-1998

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Women in journalism
Children's literature

Occupations:
Journalists
Authors

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs
Cultural artifacts

Family Names:
Weir family