Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Willow Hill papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1960-2001
Creator: Hill, Willow (1954-)
Extent: 13.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0487
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Diaries describe growing up in rural Iowa in the 1960s and the period from1992 to 2001.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 828) were donated by Willow Hill in 2002.

Preferred Citation: Willow Hill papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Cindy Hill was born on January 28, 1954 to Mr. and Mrs. Myron Hill, Jr. Hill and her siblings, Kay, Julie and Larry, grew up in rural Iowa near Clarion. Hill belonged to the Camp Fire Girls and the Lincoln Lassies League 4-H Club. Hill was a member of the Clarion Drill Team while attending Clarion Community High School. She graduated from high school in 1972. As an adult Hill changed her first name to Willow.

The Willow Hill papers date from 1960 to 2001 and measure 13 linear inches. The papers consist primarily of Hill's journals. The journals of Hill's youth (1964-1972) are filled with the changing thoughts and activities of a maturing girl in rural Iowa. Hill describes her 4-H club and school activities, her experiences dating and her impressions of national events. The entries for June 5-9, 1968 cover the assassination of Robert Kennedy. The journals from 1992-2001 are filled with poetry, self-reflection and Hill's search to find meaning and purpose in her life.

The Willow Hill papers also include her kindergarten autograph book from 1960, her pocket calendar from 1970 filled with the activities of a sixteen year old girl, and a booklet of original poetry and thoughts Hill wrote in 1996 titled Poetry, Guidance and Herb Fest. The collection also contains Hill's 4-H Club scrapbook, covering her club activities from 1965 through 1969 in both prose and photographs. Hill's personal scrapbook is also part of the collection. This scrapbook covers Hill's youth from 1962 through her high school graduation in 1972.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Autograph book - 1960
  • Datebook - 1970
  • "Poetry, Guidance and Herb Fest" - 1996
  • 4-H Club scrapbook - 1965-1969
  • Diaries (folder 1) - 1964-1972, 1992-1997
  • Diaries (folder 2) - 1964-1972, 1992-1997
  • Diaries (folder 3) - 1964-1972, 1992-1997
  • Diaries (folder 4) - 1964-1972, 1992-1997
  • Box 2:
  • Diaries (folder 1) - 1997-2001
  • Diaries (folder 2) - 1997-2001
  • Diaries (folder 3) - 1997-2001
  • Diaries (folder 4) - 1997-2001
  • Diaries (folder 5) - 1997-2001
  • Box 3:
  • Scrapbook - 1962-1972