Guide to the Sally Wiesenfeld papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1969-2001
Creator: Wiesenfeld, Sally (1924-)
Extent: 5.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0478
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Peace activist and member of Another Mother for Peace which was organized to protest the Vietnam War during the 1970s.

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 772) were donated by Sally Wiesenfeld in 2001 and subsequent years.

Preferred Citation: Sally Wiesenfeld papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Biographical Note

Sally Wiesenfeld joined Another Mother for Peace after hearing Peg Mullen, a La Porte City woman, speak out about her son's death in Vietnam. Wiesenfeld, whose husband was a math professor at the University of Northern Iowa, introduced herself to Mullen and volunteered to help her. Wiesenfeld provided support for Mullen in many ways--from helping with her housework to writing letters. Wiesenfeld also helped organize information tables in shopping malls and at the 1971 Waterloo Cattle Congress. Wiesenfeld's husband passed away in 1979, and she eventually moved to Iowa City.


Content Description

The Sally Wiesenfeld papers date from 1969 to 2001 and measure 5 linear inches. The papers are arranged in three series: Activism, Photographs, and Artifacts. Most of the papers relate to peace activities in the Cedar Falls-Waterloo area during the Vietnam war.

The Activism series (1969-2001) is largely comprised of the papers of the northeastern Iowa chapter of Another Mother for Peace, but also includes documents related to other peace organizations and peace activities in the Cedar Falls-Waterloo area. Presidential election items include literature on Peg Mullen's run for delegate to the 1972 national Democratic convention. Newspaper clippings on the peace movement range from the national to local level and include several articles on Another Mother for Peace's 1971 fight for a booth at the College Square Shopping Center in Waterloo, which it ultimately won. Peace literature includes articles, flyers, pamphlets, and bibliographies; it also includes documents related to the 1980s work of Citizens for Peace, which opposed the development of nuclear weapons, the participation of the Cedar Falls-Waterloo peace activists in booths at local fairs such as Sturgis Falls Festival and Waterloo Days, and responses received by Local Citizens Against the War to its ad in the The Waterloo Courier supporting the moratorium called by the anti-war movement in 1969.

The Photographs series (1971) contains a photo of Another Mother for Peace's booth at the Iowa Cattle Congress.

The Artifacts series (1972, 1995 and undated) includes an assortment of merchandise from Another Mother for Peace including bumper stickers, note cards, pins, and a 1995 peace calendar published by the War Resisters League.

Related Materials

In IWA: Peg Mullen papers.

Wiesenfeld assisted Mullen in her antiwar activism.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Browse by Series:


Subjects

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Wiesenfeld, Sally, 1924-
Mullen, Peg, 1917-2009

Corporate Names:
Another Mother for Peace (Association)
Anothor Mother for Peace (Association), Northeastern Iowa Chapter

Dates:
20th century
2000-2009

Topics:
Vietnam War, 1961-1975
Peace movements
Women in nonprofit organizations
Women and peace

Occupations:
Pacifists

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Cedar Falls
United States -- Iowa -- Waterloo

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Photographs
Cultural artifacts

Browse:
Peace and Pacifism