Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Helen Harrington papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1963-1992
Creator: Harrington, Helen
Extent: 2.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0476
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Poet and farm woman from Lamoni, Iowa.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright has not been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no. 755) were donated by Frances Frymoyer in 2001.

Preferred Citation: Helen Harrington papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Helen Harrington was a poet and farm woman born about 1909 who resided in Lamoni, Iowa. Her parents came to the United States from England,and her father worked as a coal miner. When she was a child, her father influenced her a great deal reciting the works of Byron and Tennyson. Harrington's education ceased after high school, but she still managed to have at least 1,700 of her poems published in various newspapers and magazines. She was married to Marion (Red) Harrington; they had a daughter, Dixie. Harrington was recognized throughout her community, from radio appearances and her daily errands around town, acquiring the nickname "Lady from Lamoni.

The Helen Harrington scrapbooks date from 1963 to 1992 and measure 2.5 linear inches. There are two scrapbooks included in the collection, primarily containing newspaperclippings of poems written by Harrington. Most of the poems address nature and philosophical insights about life. The scrapbooks also include articles written about Harrington, correspondence regarding her interview published in the Christian Science Monitor, and photographs.  Also included is a copy of the booklet Kennedy Poems by Helen Harrington published in 1964.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HELEN HARRINGTON

  • Series 1: HELEN HARRINGTON
  • Box 1:
  • Scrapbooks, undated - 1975-1989
  • Scrapbooks, undated - 1963, 1989-1993
  • Helen Harrington, Kennedy Poems - 1964

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Harrington, Helen

Dates:
20th century

Topics:
Rural women

Occupations:
Poets

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Lamoni

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Personal papers
Scrapbooks
Photographs

Browse:
Rural and Farm Women