Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Geraldine Greenlee papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1945-2004
Creator: Greenlee, Geraldine
Extent: 7.50 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0474
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Received her master's degree from the Department of Physical Education for Women at the State University of Iowa in 1952.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no.732 ) were donated by Geraldine Greenlee in 2000.

Preferred Citation: Geraldine Greenlee papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

After graduating from high school in Des Moines, Iowa, physical educator, Geraldine "Jeri" Greenlee worked as a bookkeeper at an auto dealer for four years and played with the "all girl orchestra," the Morrow Melodians until the fall of 1948 when she began her studies at the State University of Iowa (now the University of Iowa). Greenlee received a bachelor of science degree from the Department of Physical Education for Women in 1952 and her master's degree in 1958. She continued her graduate work with a year of residence at Indiana University in 1968 and a PhD in Physical Education from the University of Oregon in 1971.

Greenlee began her professional career in Lyons, Iowa where she taught girls physical education and general science at Lyons Junior/Senior High School from 1952 to 1957. She then taught at Carthage College in Carthage, Illinois from 1958 to 1963, until relocating to the State University of New York College at Cortland, New York, where she specialized in kinesiology and applied anatomy until 1968. From 1970 until her retirement in 1988, Professor Greenlee specialized in science related and injury prevention courses for physical education majors at the Illinois State University in Normal, Illinois. In April 1999, Greenlee was awarded for her years of service and the development of the Women's Athletics program at the Carthage Illinois campus with a plaque located in the softball dugout. She was also recognized by the Illinois American Association for Health, Physical Education, and Recreation (AAHPER) with a Service Award and a Quarter Century Award.

The Geraldine Greenlee papers date from 1945 to 2004 and measure 7.5 linear inches. The papers consist of teaching folders compiled by physical education majors during their senior year, departmental and professional conference brochures, a song sung during Dr. Elizabeth Halsey's retirement luncheon, the Physical Education Major Alumnae Association Newsletter, official Iowa High School Basketball Championship programs, an alumni roster of the classes of 1921 through 1966, and an address list of the class of 1952. Also included are the performance programs of the Morrow Melodians and a biographical information sheet submitted by Greenlee to the University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women's 100 year anniversary reunion: 100 Years On the Move.

Photographs depict the physical education student teacher uniform blazer and skirt; group photos of the sophomore, junior and senior classes taken in 1949; field hockey games; the Physical Education Major Banquet; the performing Morrow Melodians, and Women's Recreation Association (WRA) breakfast.

Newspaper clippings pertaining to women in sports and the Department of Physical Education for Women complete the collection. The color printed newspaper clippings of 1954 are located in the mapcase.

Four books regarding girls and women's sports are shelved with the printed works collection in the Iowa Women's Archives: The History of the Central District Association for Health, Physical Education and Recreation (1967) by Mabel Lee; Memories Beyond Bloomers (1978) by Mabel Lee; The Wonder of Motion (1983) by Ellis Price; and Girl's Basketball (1980) by Mildred Barnes.
University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women (IWA).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: PHYSICAL EDUCATION
Series 3: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical Information - 2004
  • Morrow Melodians - 1946-1948
  • National Intercollegiate Basketball Championship - 1945-1947, 1972
  • Series 2: PHYSICAL EDUCATION
  • Box 1:
  • Physical Education Major Alumnae Association (folder 1) - 1952-1985
  • Physical Education Major Alumnae Association (folder 2) - 1952-1985
  • Professional Organizations - 1967, 1987
  • University of Iowa Teaching Folders: ArcheryCreative Dance - 1951
  • University of Iowa Teaching Folders: Stunts and Tumbling Notebook
  • University of Iowa Teaching Folders: Teaching of Folk and Square Dance
  • University of Iowa Teaching Folders: Teaching of Gymnastics
  • University of Iowa Teaching Folders: Teaching of Hockey - 1950
  • University of Iowa Teaching Folders: Teaching of Swimming
  • University of Iowa Teaching Folders: Trends in Recreation - 1957
  • Series 3: NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS
  • Box 2:
  • University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women - 1949
  • University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women - 1954
    [Photocopies of the color originals located in the mapcase]
  • Women's Sports - 1996, 1999
  • Series 4: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 2:
  • Morrow Melodians
  • University of Iowa Department of Physical Education for Women - 1949