Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Irene Hoover papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1923-2001
Creator: Hoover, Irene
Extent: 10.00 linear inches.
Collection Number: IWA0472
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Farmwoman, 4-H leader, and volunteer who was active in the Farm Bureau and the Master Farm Homemakers Guild.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers (donor no.712) were donated in 2000 by Dale Hoover.

Preferred Citation: Irene Hoover papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Irene Winifred Else Hoover, farm woman, 4-H leader, and volunteer, was born in Mahaska County and graduated from Oskaloosa High School in 1924. She married Carl W. Hoover, a fellow farmer, the following year. She devoted considerable time and care to their first child Elvin, who was born with significant health and developmental problems. Their second son Dale enjoyed an abundance of health, eventually graduating from the University of Chicago with a Ph.D. in Economics. During their childhood, Irene Hoover led a girls' 4-H club. After they were older, she chaired the Mahaska County Farm Bureau Women's Committee and served on its state board. She attended the Associated Country Women of the World conference in Copenhagen, Denmark, in 1950 and represented the Iowa Farm Bureau Women at the annual meeting of the Rural Health Council of the American Medical Association in Portland, Oregon in 1956. That year, she was honored as a Master Farm Homemaker. She became involved in international exchanges in the 1960s, hosting many visiting international guests. She was a member of the Board of Social Welfare of Mahaska County for twenty years, beginning in 1962. She served on the Iowa Legislative Study Committee for Mental Health in 1956 and 1962. Nominated as Iowa Mother of the Year, she became a "Merit Mother" in 1963. She co-chaired the Mahaska County Republican Party for four years and belonged to various women's clubs. She joined and was active at the national level in the Friends Church. Her husband, Carl W. Hoover, died suddenly in 1973. Irene Hoover and her son Elvin Hoover moved to Raleigh, North Carolina in 1988 to be closer to Dale Hoover, then on the faculty of the University of North Carolina. Irene Hoover passed away September 2, 2001.

The Irene Hoover papers date from 1923 to 2001 and measure 10 linear inches. The collection includes folders concerning her family, Farm Bureau activities, activities with other organizations, her international visitors, and photographs. There are a few personal letters and a photocopy of a family photograph,but the collection consists primarily of publications, programs, and photographs of the various organizational events with which she wasinvolved. There are notes of undated speeches she delivered, as well as notes taken during the 1950 tour of Europe. The collection also contains good records of the visits of the international guests to Mahaska County duringthe 1960s. The bulk of the photographs depict groups of women at various organizational events.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: FAMILY
Series 2: MASTER FARM HOMEMAKERS GUILD - 1956-1989
Series 3: IOWA MOTHER OF THE YEAR SCRAPBOOK
Series 4: COMMITTEE ON LEADERS AND SPECIALISTS
Series 5: ORGANIZATIONAL ACTIVITIES
Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS

  • Series 1: FAMILY
  • Box 1:
  • Biographical - 1949-2001
  • Oskaloosa High School Yearbooks - 1923
  • Oskaloosa High School Yearbooks - 1924
  • Wedding trip - 1925
  • Trip to Europe (Associated Country Women of the World): Reports - 1950
  • Trip to Europe (Associated Country Women of the World): Notes - 1950
  • Correspondence - 1950-1970
  • Newspaper clippings - 1963
  • Christmas letters - 1988-1998
  • Farm Bureau activities: Speeches - 1950-1953
  • Farm Bureau activities: Summer Conference programs - 1948-1956
  • Farm Bureau activities: Meetings - 1951-1990
  • Box 2:
  • Farm Bureau activities: Eleventh Annual Conference on Rural Health (Portland OR) - 1956
  • Series 2: MASTER FARM HOMEMAKERS GUILD - 1956-1989
  • Box 2:
  • Master Farm Homemakers award ceremony programs - 1956-1972, 1974-1976, 1979-1981, 1990, 1993
  • Series 3: IOWA MOTHER OF THE YEAR SCRAPBOOK
  • Box 2:
  • Mother of the Year scrapbook - 1963
    [disassembled]
  • Series 4: COMMITTEE ON LEADERS AND SPECIALISTS
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1960-1965
  • Ong Kim Hoo (Korea) - 1961
  • Misbahul Bar Chowdhuri (Pakistan) - 1961-1962
  • Shyamlal Gupta (India) - 1962-1963
  • Mutsu Hayakawa (Japan) - 1963-1969
  • Birendra Nath Ganguli (India) - 1964
  • Ahmad Burtadaga (Malaysia) - 1967
  • Series 5: ORGANIZATIONAL ACTIVITIES
  • Box 2:
  • Of Associated Country Women of the World Delegate Dinner, New Jersey - 1956
  • Series 6: PHOTOGRAPHS
  • Box 2:
  • Photographs - 1960s
  • Photograph of Associated Country Women of the World Delegate Dinner, New Jersey - 1948
    [located in map case]