Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Dorothy Misbach papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1890-1999
Creator: Misbach, Dorothy (1910-1999)
Extent: 3.30 linear feet.
Collection Number: IWA0468
Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Summary: Educator whose lifelong career of working with partially seeing and blind students began in 1938 at the Perkins School for the Blind in Massachussetts.

Alternate Extent Statement: 2 CDs [d0031]
Photographs throughout the collection.

Access: The papers are open for research.

Use: Copyright held by the donors have been transferred in part to The University of Iowa.

Acquisition: The papers were donated by Ila Misbach Morse Smith and Mildred Posey (donor no. 693) in 2000; and Shirley Misbach Buswell (donor no. 707) in 2000; Alice Atkinson (donor no. 954) in 2006; and Shami Morse (donor no. 707) in 2006.

Preferred Citation: Dorothy Misbach papers, Iowa Women's Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City.

Repository: Iowa Women's Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5068
Curator: Kären Mason
Email: lib-women@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa

Educator, traveler, and philanthropist Dorothy Misbach was born in Sumner Township, Iowa in 1910 to Jesse Davis Misbach and Emelia Sophie Wiese Misbach. Dorothy Misbach attended East Sumner Township No. 5 from grades one through eight. In high school Misbach took courses toward a teaching credential and graduated from Williamsburg High School in 1929. Upon graduating in 1933 from the Iowa State Teachers College she received her bachelor degree in education from Boston University in 1943 and her masters in elementary education from the University of Wisconsin at Madison in 1947. She continued her graduate work at George Peabody College for Teachers in Nashville, Tennessee, the University of Maine, the University of Washington, and Harvard University in connection with Perkins School for the Blind, in Watertown, Massachusetts.

Misbach began her teaching career in the one-room schoolhouse she had once attended. After two years she began her work with partially seeing students at the Perkins School for the Blind. Misbach also taught at the Cleveland Public Schools, and the Iowa Braille and Sight Saving School in Vinton, Iowa and was both teacher and principle of the California School for the Blind. In addition to teaching Misbach was an educational counselor at the New Jersey Commission for the Blind and worked as a consultant at the California State Department of Education in Sacramento for twenty years. The California State Legislature presented Misbach with a certificate of commendation when she retired in 1975.

The Dorothy Misbach papers date from 1890 to 1999 and measure 3.3 linear feet. The papers are arranged in twelve series: Biographical information, Medical, Family history, Educational, Professional, Charitable activities, Travels, Publications, Perkins School for the Blind, Correspondence, Financial, and Artifacts.

The Biographical Information series (1910-1999) consists of papers, newspaper clippings and photographs that extend from Dorothy Misbach's birth to death with her baby book, obituary and funeral arrangements, her living will and estate planning. Misbach's stay in the assisted living program at Dominican Oaks completes this series.

The Medical series (1962-1998) is comprised of Misbach's insurance records regarding treatment for a brain tumor and glaucoma. Included are vaccination certificates and assessments through the Geriatrics Assessment Clinic.

An extensive Misbach genealogy is documented in the Family History series (1890-1997). Included are a diary by Grandmother Emelia Wiese Misbach and recollections of family reunions and anniversaries. Extensive Misbach and Wiese family histories are documented in published books and manuscripts. Photographs include portraits dating from an 1890 family portrait, cabinet and candid photographs and a collection of yearly school portraits through 1997. Audiovsiual recordings that contain conversations of the seven Misbach siblings sharing childhood memories complete the series.

The Educational series (1922-1979) consists of educational certificates, diplomas, transcripts and correspondence with institutions.

Misbach's extensive work as a teacher for children who were partially seeing and blind is recorded in the Professional series (1934-1996). The papers consist of a resume and job description, professional correspondence and work evaluations.

A collection of articles and books dealing with children who are seeing impaired make up the Publications series (1953-1970).

The Perkins School for the Blind series (1938-1970) consists of papers and photographs of the institution. The photographs depict students in the classroom and at play, as well as staff members and the school grounds.

The Charitable Activities series (1988-1998) sheds light on Misbach's charitable giving. The papers are comprised of pamphlets, correspondence with organizations, and deposited checks. Misbach sponsored Dunhill Latoy, a Philippino boy, through the Pearl S. Buck Foundation. Letters written by Dunhill to his sponsor add a personal touch to the progress reports written by caseworkers.

Misbach's extensive travels through Europe and the United States are documented in the Travels series (1955-1987). The series consists of travel logs, itineraries and photographs with notes written on the back of most images.

The Correspondence series (1911-1999) is comprised of letters and cards exchanged between Misbach and her family and friends. Included are letters detailing reunions and travel experiences, in depth year end summaries, and birth, wedding, and death announcements.

The Financial series (1942-1996) consists of income tax returns between 1987 and 1996, life insurance, social security and retirement records.

The Artifacts series contains three Braille instruments.
Wanda Misbach Edgerton papers (IWA):  Wanda Misbach Edgerton was Dorothy Misbach's sister.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Series 2: MEDICAL
Series 3: FAMILY HISTORY
Series 4: EDUCATIONAL
Series 5: PROFESSIONAL
Series 6: PUBLICATIONS
Series 7: PERKINS SCHOOL FOR THE BLIND (Watertown, Massachusetts)
Series 8: CHARITABLE ACTIVITIES
Series 9: TRAVEL
Series 10: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 11: FINANCIAL
Series 12: ARTIFACTS

  • Series 1: BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
  • Box 1:
  • Birth Certificate and Baby Book - 1910
  • Passports - 1962, 1976
  • Who's Who of American Women
  • Durable Power of Attorney - 1986
  • Eulogy - 1999
  • Obituary - 1999
  • Tombstone and Disposition of Remains
  • Funeral and Postmortem Information
  • Certificates - 1932, 1945
  • Rossmoor Manor - 1976-1987
  • Estate Planning
  • Loma Prieta Earthquake, October 17 - 1989
  • Earthquake Newspaper Clippings - 1989
  • Telephone Call Notes - 1992-1993
  • Dominican Oaks: Assisted Living Program - 1994-1997
  • Dominican Oaks: Lecture Series
  • Dominican Oaks: Resident Life
  • Poetry book
  • Presbyterian Church Membership
  • Religious Reflections
  • Trinity Presbyterian
  • Series 2: MEDICAL
  • Box 1:
  • Vaccination Certificate - 1962, 1974-1978
  • Box 2:
  • Medicare and Blue Shield (folder 1) - 1991-1992
  • Medicare and Blue Shield (folder 2) - 1991-1992
  • Neurosurgery and Radiation Therapy - 1993-1994
  • Medications - 1997
  • Geriatrics Assessment Clinic - 1998
  • Glaucoma
  • Series 3: FAMILY HISTORY
  • Box 2:
  • Genealogical Information
  • d0031: Misbach family conversations - 1973, 1985
  • Edgerton, Wendy Misbach
  • Langlas Family
  • Misbach, Jesse and Emelia
  • Misbach, Myron
  • Plugh, Bessie Adele
  • Smith, Ila Morse
  • Golden Wedding - 1952
  • Misbach Family Reunion - 1968
  • The Misbach Story - 1968
  • Misbach Family Reunion - 1989
  • Emelia Wiese Misbach Diary - 1929-1959
  • Emelia Wiese Misbach Diary - 1929-1958
  • This Old House - 1976
    [Photocopies of book cover and foreword]
  • Box 3:
  • In Search of Family Wiese - 1983
    [Photocopies of book cover, table of contents, chapter 1, 28, 31-34, 49-50 and loose papers. A copy of this book is held by the State Historical Society *CS71. W682 I 5 1983]
  • Letters to Uncle Julius - 1963
  • Henry and Julius (John) Weise - undated
  • Newspaper Clippings
  • Photographs - 1890-1920, 1945, 1952
  • Photographs - 1964-1980
  • Photographs - 1981-1997
  • Photographs
  • Photographs, Undated
  • Photographs, Baby Gavin Edward Jack
  • Series 4: EDUCATIONAL
  • Box 3:
  • East Sumner School No. 5, Iowa - 1922-1925
  • Williamsburg ( Iowa) High School - 1927-1929, 1979
  • Iowa State Teachers College - 1932-1947
  • Box 4:
  • Summer and Extension Course Transcripts - 1937-1944
  • George Peabody College for Teachers (Nashville, Tennessee) - 1942-1955
  • Boston University - 1942-1948
  • University of Wisconsin - 1944-1955
  • Series 5: PROFESSIONAL
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence - 1955-1966
  • Correspondence - 1970-1976, 1995-1996
  • Resume and Job Descriptions
  • Victor (Iowa) Public Schools - 1934
  • Cleveland Board of Education - 1946-1947
  • State of New Jersey Commission for the Blind - 1948-1955
  • California State Department of Education - 1958-1975
  • California State Department of Education Performance Rating - 1956-1973
  • California School for the Blind - 1955-1956
  • Retirement Commendation - 1976-1977
  • Council on Exceptional Children - 1989-1995
  • Address List of Organizations for the Blind
  • Series 6: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 4:
  • "Happy, Gracious Living for the Mentally Retarded Blind Child," A New Outlook for the Blind (March) - 1953
  • "A Reading Program for Little Blind Children," New Outlook for the Blind (September) - 1954
  • The Pine Brook Report: National Work Session on the Education of the Blind and the Sighted, American Foundation for the Blind - 1954
  • "An Itinerant Teaching Program in the Elementary Grades," New Outlook for the Blind (December) - 1955
  • Concerning the Education of Blind Children, American Foundation for the Blind - 1959
  • No Place to Go - 1963
    [Photocopies of book cover, foreword, acknowledgments, contents, and introduction]
  • "Educating Visually Impaired Children," California Education (April) - 1964
  • Series 7: PERKINS SCHOOL FOR THE BLIND (Watertown, Massachusetts)
  • Box 5:
  • Perkins School for the Blind - 1938-1970
  • Photographs (folder 1) - 1938-1950
  • Photographs (folder 2) - 1938-1950
  • Photographs, Undated
  • Series 8: CHARITABLE ACTIVITIES
  • Box 5:
  • Giving Opportunities (folder 1) - 1988-1998
  • Giving Opportunities (folder 2) - 1988-1998
  • Checks - 1992-1993
  • Georgie Lee Abel Scholarship Fund - 1992
  • Pearl S. Buck Foundation
  • Visually Impaired Program at San Francisco State University - 1992
  • Series 9: TRAVEL
  • Box 6:
  • Travel Diary - 1955-1956
  • Europe Trip Diary - 1962
  • Europe Tour - 1962
  • Miesbach, Germany - 1976
  • Wrth am Main, Germany - 1977
  • Europe Tour - 1987
  • Royal Caribbean Cruise
  • Itineraries
  • Series 10: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence - 1911, 1930-1947
  • Correspondence (folder 1) - 1950-1992
  • Correspondence (folder 2) - 1950-1992
  • Correspondence (folder 3) - 1950-1992
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence (folder 1) - 1993-1999
  • Correspondence (folder 2) - 1993-1999
  • Correspondence (folder 3) - 1993-1999
  • Series 11: FINANCIAL
  • Box 7:
  • Savings Bond and Life Insurance Records - 1942-1983
  • Public Employees Retirement System of California - 1956-1976
  • Santa Cruz Sentinel - 1993
  • Social Security
  • Income tax returns (folder 1) - 1987-1993
  • Income tax returns (folder 2) - 1987-1993
  • Income tax returns (folder 3) - 1987-1993
  • Income tax returns (folder 4) - 1987-1993
  • Income tax returns (folder 5) - 1987-1993
  • Income tax returns (folder 6) - 1987-1993
  • Income tax returns (folder 7) - 1987-1993
  • Income tax returns (folder 8) - 1987-1993
  • Box 8:
  • Income tax returns (folder 1) - 1994-1996
  • Income tax returns (folder 2) - 1994-1996
  • Income tax returns (folder 3) - 1994-1996
  • Family expense records (folder 1) - 1983-1991
  • Family expense records (folder 2) - 1983-1991
  • Series 12: ARTIFACTS
  • Box 8:
  • Braille instruments